RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


anybody got tubulars for sale or advice?(10 posts)

anybody got tubulars for sale or advice?richpierce
Sep 2, 2003 8:36 AM
I just built a set of tubular wheels for my cross rig. i have never used tubulars before. So it's all new. I have 2 tires I picked up at a swap meet. One is perfect (Vittoria El Tigre) and the other looks good but has a slow leak. Neither ever mounted.

If anyone has an extra cross tubular for sale let me know.

Now for the questions:
1) what glue to use?
2) what pressure to run?
3) wider more aggressive tire up front?
4) will Tufo sealant take care of my slow leak?

thanks
re: anybody got tubulars for sale or advice?MShaw
Sep 2, 2003 9:39 AM
In order:
1. I've used Conti glue, Vittoria, etc. and am presently using Fastack. I liked the Conti when I was using it. The Fastack you can get from a Napa store for $6/tube, and use it for a loooong time.
2. It depends. Since there's not as much chance of a pinch flat, you can run lower pressures in your tubies, BUT you're going to have to experiment with the right pressure v. traction for your riding style, terrain, and weight.
3. Pass. I'm running a pair of 34c Tufo tubies, and haven't tried any others, so I don't know.
4.Probably. Worst case is to try and see. If it works, great, if not, well, you're no worse off than before.

www.cyclingnews.com did an excellent article about mounting/gluing tubies recently. Surf on over and check it out. Once you figure out what you're doing, there's a few steps you can skip. Its better to learn the right way first.

That help?

Mike
thanks, good help nmrichpierce
Sep 2, 2003 10:22 AM
nm
There isatpjunkie
Sep 2, 2003 5:36 PM
a Japanese glue that my wrench swears by, I'll get the info. I'm going to try that glue with the Belgian Tubie tape you can get at cx world.
There isflyweight
Sep 3, 2003 3:06 PM
It's called Soyo. You can order it from American Cyclery. (http://www.americancyclery.com - click on their track shop)
Soyo thx butatpjunkie
Sep 3, 2003 5:51 PM
you are a wrench and one whose opinion I trust. You seem to like Conti glue the best. I haven't glued up a wheel set in about 10 years. here's my quandry.
I'm a Clydesdale
I'm going to set up 34 Tufos to 90's era Rigida Crit rims (slight vee)
I'm debating using the tape and glue combo suggested on cx world
I've not seen good luck with the Tufo tape but they have a new cx tape as well.
what would you suggest, I'll defer well to your opinion but remember I'm 230.

thx
atp
Soyo thx butflyweight
Sep 4, 2003 8:23 AM
I defer to what I was taught at the USCF mechanic's clinic. They use several thin layers of Conti glue applied over the course of a few days. The technique they use for mounting is pretty much the same as the article on cyclingnews.com. The trick to getting them on cleanly is to really push down on the tire while working it on. I haven't heard any feedback on the Tufo tape.

Should also point out that the USCF doesn't use Conti glue simply because of sponsorship agreements. They actually use Tufo tires on the track but stick with the Conti glue.
re: anybody got tubulars for sale or advice?flyweight
Sep 3, 2003 3:04 PM
Do not use Fastack. The problem with Fastack is that it never really permanently dries. Actually it's a bit more complicated than that but that's the basic concept. The USCF did a study on various tubular glues and Fastack didn't do so well and you'll never see a Federation mechanic using the stuff.
re: anybody got tubulars for sale or advice?flyweight
Sep 3, 2003 3:09 PM
1) Continental is the best. The USCF did a study on rim glue and Conti came out on tops. It's what they use on the sprint bikes which is about the most demanding application of tubular cement.

2) I've gone down to 45psi without problems. Your mileage may vary. Depends a lot on weight, terrain and riding stye.

3) Some like a wider tire, some don't. Again, depends on terrain and riding style.

4) Most likely assuming the hole is on the outer side of the tire AND the tire has a removable valve core. I don't think Vittoria's do but it's been a while since I looked at one.
re: anybody got tubulars for sale or advice?pin96
Sep 12, 2003 2:23 PM
Do yourself a favor and use Tufo's. I have a used set of Pretige's if you want. I have used Tufo's for the past 2 seasons and have run them as low at 29psi. They are fabulous! This year I have switched to the tubular-clinher version and they are also excellent. Good Luck!