RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Michelin Mud vs. Michelin Sprint/Jet..anyone experiences?(16 posts)

Michelin Mud vs. Michelin Sprint/Jet..anyone experiences?TNSquared
Aug 4, 2003 11:28 AM
I'm planning to enter my first cx series this fall, and just found some new Michelin Mud tires on sale for $75 per pair (almost two for one price.)

I want a tire with as little rolling resistance as is reasonable, which would suggest the Sprint or Jet, but I definitely want something versatile enough to handle a variety of conditions without having to switch tires. The race courses could be muddy to hard pack to gravel (same courses as J's previous post.)

Anybody used these tires and have opinions?

thanks
re: Michelin Mud vs. Michelin Sprint/Jet..anyone experiences?Jakob
Aug 4, 2003 11:36 AM
First, Excel sells Michelin's for $36 each. $75 is not really a good price for a pair.

Second, I ran a Mud in the front and the Sprint in the rear with excellent results last year. If I had to use the same tire front and back, I'd go with the Mud. The extra rolling resistance is not that big of a deal to me. The Muds rock. It's far and away my favorite CX tire.
duh...price is $40 per pair. .......TNSquared
Aug 4, 2003 11:39 AM
I had the normal price of $75 a pair in my head. :)
Check icycles...happycx
Aug 4, 2003 12:04 PM
The last time I checked, Icycles.com had the sprints for $26.00 each. Just some info....
where for $40/pair? nmJakob
Aug 4, 2003 12:39 PM
nm
Agree on Mixatpjunkie
Aug 4, 2003 12:46 PM
liket the sprint back mud front as well. unless course is muck, then all muds. much of the dirt I ride is like Talc and a semi in front gets no cornering grip.
Icycles/Ebaytriangleforge
Aug 5, 2003 11:52 AM
Icycles almost always has two or three auctions active for pairs of Muds or Sprits with an opening bid around $40 (many of which seem to close unbid) and a buy it now for a few bucks more.

Cheers!
Yep, that's it (sorry, busy day) nmTNSquared
Aug 5, 2003 1:20 PM
Michelin Sprint opposite end opinionbuffalosorrow
Aug 4, 2003 12:17 PM
I purchased these with my bike kit. I found that they were only 'ok' with my use, which is commuting and seasonal racing. They are (well feel) much larger than the size states. On pavement I find them to be sluggish, and do not hold the wets roads as well as the tufo's.
I am sold on the tufo's.
I have also tried the vittoria tigre cross, they went bald fast and are narrow, 28c.

They are off my bike now and just sitting here, send me an email if interested.
zaeli@graffiti.net
Tufo questionsarctic hawk
Aug 4, 2003 12:20 PM
How do the Tufo's hold up on the commuting end? Which Tufo's are you running?

Arctic Hawk
Tufo answersbuffalosorrow
Aug 4, 2003 12:53 PM
I am running the C-T30 tub/clinch on the rear and have had it on since the beginning of spring, I have no idea about milage...1000 miles? 50 miles a week over 5 months on the low side. Work has been slow for me.
The front is a C Diamond and looks great, spare race tire from last season.

The tufo's are pricey but are holding up well for me, the clincher gasket is not rotting out and they hold air 100%. They have seen their fair share of NYC rain, snow, slush, ice, car fumes. Most can't see why I commute on race tires, my response being, they are more than race tires.

At half tread they are holding up well, I dont think I'll swap them out for a fresh pair for the comming season.
Tangenital Tufo question...Farmpunker
Aug 5, 2003 9:13 AM
Buffalosorrow,
I've decided to try a pair of Tufo Prestige tuboclinchers. But what width? They come in 28 and 30. From what you've experienced, do the Tufos fit small?
28 vrs 30buffalosorrow
Aug 5, 2003 9:47 AM
I have bought the 30's simply because I had no choice.
I honestly would not have a preference, either will suit me. The C-diamond that I have on the front is a 28.
I will say they run true to size, unlike the michelin's.
If I were to buy a second pair, I would try the 28's.

What are your riding conditions? I would think early on the season here in new england a bit wider for mud would work, but thats all personal just as tire pressure is.
28 vrs 30Farmpunker
Aug 5, 2003 12:59 PM
Buffalosorrow,
So, not much discrepancy with the sizes then. Good. That was my main concern. I think I'm going with the 30s. Thanks for the additional info.
28 vrs 30atpjunkie
Aug 5, 2003 1:32 PM
I think I have 32's in the prestige tub/clinch. am setting up a set of 34 Elite Tubs. I'm a big boy like bigger tires
re: best of both worlds...jrm
Aug 4, 2003 2:22 PM
I use a sprint in back and a mud up front. Great for winter...