RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


specialized 2004 cross frame(13 posts)

specialized 2004 cross framebuffalosorrow
Jul 30, 2003 2:04 PM
Just got the word from my LBS, that specialized will re-introduct a cx frame to their 2004 line.
He is traveling to Ca? to speak to some reps and look over the '04 line.

My question to all, what in your opinion is the best value in a cross race frame or complete kit?
re: specialized 2004 cross frameJakob
Jul 30, 2003 2:47 PM
been awhile since i've been around here, but i was very happy with my redline conquest pro. those frames are pretty light and very race worthy.
re: specialized 2004 cross frameatpjunkie
Jul 30, 2003 3:00 PM
complete kitrs will save you some $$, best value is used.
re: specialized 2004 cross frameskinl19
Jul 30, 2003 4:45 PM
Amen to used.
agreedbuffalosorrow
Jul 30, 2003 4:51 PM
I was on my tip toes regarding the 51cm empella with carbon fork on ebay...$500....auction over, no bids.
That would have forced the sale of my colnago, ebay purchase aswell.
Best valued usedarctic hawk
Jul 31, 2003 3:12 AM
Ther are all kinds of deals to be had on a used bike. There are those who upgrade to a new parts/bike & sell their old. There are those who mean well about getting started in cycling, purchase the gear, & let it collect dust in the garage/basement & eventually sell it.
I am happy to see Specialized get back into CX, even though it is the frame. I would suppose that no matter the equipment level, someone will always find fault with it &/or the price. Besides, this forum demonstrates the vast opinion & variety of gear that CX'ers will use.

Arctic Hawk
Ck out the Fujimosovich
Jul 30, 2003 7:07 PM
Fuji is best bang for the buck for sure at 1K and full 105 and carbon fork.
re: specialized 2004 cross framemackeral
Jul 31, 2003 7:15 AM
Did your LBS give you any specs on the 2004 Specialized cx frame? (ie components, frame sizes, disc brakes, when they'll be available?)
not yetbuffalosorrow
Jul 31, 2003 7:31 AM
he will return next week with the information, I will post what I hear. Perhaps a pic or two...
not yetatpjunkie
Jul 31, 2003 3:20 PM
I've found the M4 Metal MAtrix quite compliant for an Alu Hybrid. will the 2005 be M5?
M4snwbdrhoon
Aug 3, 2003 5:29 PM
is good stuff... at least in a hardtail MTB
not yetmackeral
Aug 5, 2003 3:49 PM
Anxious to hear about the specs or see pics of the new Specialized CX so let us know when you have something tangible.
re: specialized 2004 cross framemackeral
Aug 17, 2003 12:19 PM
My LBS claims that Specialized will not be offering a CX frame in their '04 line. Anybody heard differently or have any scoop?