RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


first cross on a single speed?(17 posts)

first cross on a single speed?snakedust
Jul 23, 2003 5:20 PM
anyone tried cross on a single speed?

any good on single?
everything is good on a single.Frank Tuesday
Jul 23, 2003 6:22 PM
Single speed cross is a blast. Less to go wrong, and you'll be running the steep stuff anyway.

Frank
2 for 1 discountdjkellycx
Jul 23, 2003 9:03 PM
In the local races here (norcal) they give you a discount if you enter 2 races. you can enter the C or B class then race in the SS class with the A's for like only 2 bucks. Good reason (excuse) for 2 bikes. See it done all the time.Planing the same thing. Enter the SS......
Go for it.pauly
Jul 24, 2003 5:10 AM
Mt experience with SSCX:

(1) It's a blast!
(2) It hurts like hell. (But so do all CX races)
(3) You will be an instant crowd-favorite.
(4) You probably won't win, but you will have as much or more fun than anybody out there. And that's what really matters.
Exactly!....SS_MB-7
Jul 24, 2003 7:36 AM
Just keep pedaling and conserve your momentum...loose your mo' and you are done...save it, and you'll fly!

I've been SS'ing 100% (racing, training, riding, etc.) on my MTB for 2+ yrs. More recently, I started SS 'cross and fixed-gear road riding. My geared bikes are now collecting dust.

Last year was my first season 'cross racing so it was a quick learing curve to technique, etc. Prior to the race season, I took my bike out onto some local trails, singletrack, etc...nothing too technical, but not easy either. I had a wicked grin from ear-to-ear the entire ride...what a blast! It had the speed of road riding with the excitement of singletrack MTB riding. I was more than shocked at what I could actually ride with my 'cross bike. In fact, I may use it on some of the tamer MTB races this season.

'Cross seems to be ideal for SS'ing since the conditions are usually (well, at least in my area) nasty: mud, snow, ice, etc. This plays havoc on shifters, derailleurs, etc. Also, I find that most of the really steep sections were run-ups anyway. I'm using 42x18 and found this to be an ideal gearing. For MTB, I use 36x18 and for fixed-gear road I used 48x16.







Ride Hard,
Mike B.
Exactly!....arctic hawk
Jul 24, 2003 8:49 AM
Real nice!!!!!

Arctic Hawk
Exactly!....buffalosorrow
Jul 25, 2003 7:02 AM
Last season was my first racing, I did not set up my geared bike until late in the season. I rode my SS to test if racing was for me...and it is.
The only difference I realized is that on the straight aways, I can not build momentum and speed. I lost out to a rider on the finish line with a geared Morati (received the same time, just placed next).

The announcers loved me, I could here them shouting for me to ride hard and commenting on my tattoos. I was able to manage the run-ups, barriers...etc equally well. (now I have more experience).

I also commute 15 miles/ day on the same bike.
36:16 gets me fast everywhere.
Fun, Fun, Fun!
Commuting is koolpauly
Jul 25, 2003 9:48 AM
I've been commuting on my SS CX for a few months now (often in FG mode). I'm anxious to see how this translates come race season. My bike and I have a developed a lovely little bond together. Dodging cabbies and busses just seems to bring a boy and his bike closer. Mornings we seek out stairs to run-up and short/steep hills to muscle over. I have trouble concentrating at work, knowing the old girl is chained-up in the parking garage. Afternoons we speed home to see my other girls (wife and 2 daughters). But occaisonally we've been known to take the long way -- the dirty way. It's a beautiful relationship. Anxiously awaiting autumn...
re: first cross on a single speed?snakedust
Jul 24, 2003 3:39 PM
thanks for the replies. i simply want to have a go for 'fun'.

i know i will be the centre of attention as i am everywhere i go on my fixed or my single speed.

i think its brilliant when you pass someone with loads of gears.

thanks again for the positive feedback. and iv added a picture from one-one cycles http://www.on-one.co.uk/index2.html to give everybody an idea of what my new bike is going to be like. its built of steel, built to last.
Ask Brant...SS_MB-7
Jul 24, 2003 4:16 PM
If you are using that bike for 'cross, ask Brant if the stock Il Pompino fork is wide enough to accept a fat 'cross tire. Last I heard, it wouldn't.

Enjoy the ride!

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
I've got a 32 in the front of my pompinomatt_fantastic
Jul 25, 2003 9:53 AM
and it JUST fits...
I've got a 32 in the front of my pompinosnakedust
Jul 26, 2003 3:55 PM
one-one in the uk now sells a carbon fork option with their frame sets. this can take upto a 38C
wanna buy a rear wheel ?matt_fantastic
Jul 25, 2003 9:59 AM
for your build ? planet x rim on DMR singlespeed hub + 16T BMX freewheel

UK
possibly!!!!snakedust
Jul 26, 2003 3:52 PM
interesting matt. i would like a set of planet x rims/ wheels for off road stuff. iv just got a new set of road wheels that ribble cycles had on special for the pompino. if your after a quick sale then sorry i carnt buy as im spent up for now. if you would like to email me and possibly send photos + tell me the general condition of the wheel i will get back to you.

dave_at_sunderland_clarion@yahoo.co.uk

is the rim the same as those in this months c+ review. because they seem similar to the drc st17 rims which i was thinking about getting in the first place.
may have a little more money than i previously thoughtsnakedust
Jul 27, 2003 4:13 PM
email me the details and price.
may have a little more money than i previously thoughtmatt_fantastic
Jul 28, 2003 12:30 AM
YGM - pics to follow
re: first cross on a single speed?snakedust
Jul 27, 2003 3:33 AM
thanx everybody for the feedback!