RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Rear rack on Surly(7 posts)

Rear rack on SurlyStampertje
Jul 12, 2003 7:49 AM
I'm looking for a rear rack to mount on my CrossCheck - no rack bosses on the seatstays, so I'm looking for something I can attach with clamps. I don't expect to carry any really heavy loads (perhaps some weekend touring, bivvy camping, sort of thing), but I hate buying things twice so I'd like to get something good. I have a seatpost rack but it's just not stable enough for long hauls. Any recommendations or experience (good or bad)? What total weight have you carried on your CrossCheck?

Cheers, Stampertje
panniers or trailer...buffalosorrow
Jul 13, 2003 4:42 AM
I could of sworn that the Surly has rear eyelets....
Regardless, check this out...
http://www.adv-cycling.org/features/bigdebate.cfm

Also a number of months or even a year ago, a fellow posted his C-40 with front and rear panniers, they clamped to the fork blades and rear stays...for the life of me I can not remember the name.
Old Man Mountainbuffalosorrow
Jul 13, 2003 5:15 AM
here are two links to the RBR gallery:

http://gallery.consumerreview.com/roadbike/gallery/files/colnago(3).asp
http://gallery.consumerreview.com/roadbike/gallery/files/touringcolnago.asp
PanniersStampertje
Jul 14, 2003 12:54 AM
Apparently, the 2003 model has eyelets but mine does not. I've thought about trailers and would probably get one for longer treks but it seems like overkill for what I'm planning - mostly visiting friends some 100 miles away, so other than a change of clothes I don't need to bring much. It's an interresting discussion, though, and I can easily see the advantages of a trailer for full camping tours (including leaving it in your tent while you go out for a ride).

I know Tubus makes a nice rack that would work, but they're very expensive. Still might go for that.
It has eyelets on the dropouts, not on the seatstays (nm)Stampertje
Jul 14, 2003 1:00 AM
Found some... [o]Stampertje
Jul 14, 2003 1:51 AM
Those Old Man Mountain racks are interresting... they mount on the rear quick release and on the brake bosses. Weight is about 600 grams and it carries up to 60 lbs.



There's also a version that uses eylets on the dropouts (weight limit is 50 lbs.), and lightweight versions of each that carry 40lbs.



Tubus makes a rack called "fly" that mounts on the dropout eylets and the brake bridge (40 lbs limit, only 325 grams):



There's more options than I thought... of course, you can also just use clamps on the seatstays and use any "standard" rear rack. The fly really seems like a little-hassle but dependable rack. It seems a bit short though. I think I may print out the pics and discuss them with my LBS.

One last pic (tubus cargo):

re: Rear rack on SurlyOffRoadTourer
Jul 15, 2003 12:13 AM
Almost any normal rack will do. Just use the little plastic coated bands that go around the stay and bolt onto the rack's seatstay eyelet. A lot of people worry about the strength issue but the mounts on the seatstays don't take the weight, they are only there to stop the rack from rotating around the dropout mount. The bolt at the dropout eyelet is what takes the bulk of the weight and hence where the strength needs to be. Almost any bike shop should have the little bands I'm talking about and should cost less than $5.