RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


What shoes are you using....(16 posts)

What shoes are you using....Farmpunker
Jun 4, 2003 8:48 AM
Howdy,
I'm going to be investing in a new pair of shoes soon. I'm wondering what everyone is using. I want a pair that is good for cross and mountain riding, and is reasonably priced, in the 110 to 150 dollar range.
Right now I'm thinking Sidi Bullet. Anyone using these shoes?
Yep!Steve_O
Jun 4, 2003 10:07 AM
I use those and some cheaper Specialized Sport MTB shoes on a regular basis.

I like the Bullets because they have 3 velcro straps and no buckle. SIDI buckles have a semi-bad rap for breaking, combined with the lower cost of the Bullets made them a no-brainer for me. The velcro straps are actually strong enough that I have to be a little careful when tightening them down as my feet can numb out in them. Once I got a feel for the straps the shoes have been nice.

As for issues with the shoe, It's a little on the narrow side compared to similar Specialized and Northwave shoes I've tried. They fit my feet more "snugly" then other cycling shoes I've tried so hopefully that translates into more power to the pedals. It's also a well ventilated shoe which means that water/mud can get your feet wet pretty quick. On rainy days I wear the Specialized Sport Shoes. I wish there was a tad more protection around the toe to prevent the Lorica from getting scratched up...

Most of these complaints are somewhat minor though and overall I am pretty happy with the shoes.
Yep!Farmpunker
Jun 4, 2003 11:10 AM
What about running in them? I have narrow feet, which is another reason why I'm considering the Bullets. With my current Nike ACGs, I get a lot of heel slippage and not a lot of traction. Makes running on the course a delicate matter when I can't get any uphill traction and at the same time attempting to keep my feet in the shoes.
not sure about the bullets butatpjunkie
Jun 4, 2003 11:11 AM
the top o the line sidi's soles are a little slick for running on wet rock/asphalt. IMHO not a great race shoe for this reason. Northwaves are nice. I'm using Specialized S-Work Shoe and am quite happy.
agreed...Steve_O
Jun 4, 2003 7:58 PM
Toe spikes are highly recommended to enhance traction...
toe spikesatpjunkie
Jun 5, 2003 11:18 AM
are no help at all on wet rock or asphalt/concrete. They help in dirt, mud etc...I love Sidi's but the Dominator and models up, soles are to slippery. try stepping off onto wet granite at speed and you will see what I mean. Just not a great shoe IMHO for this app. Like I said I don't know about the cheaper models soles just the Dom's
re: What shoes are you using....pin96
Jun 4, 2003 11:17 AM
Farmpunker,

About a month ago I purchased a pair of Time Snake shoes on closeout from Nashbar. I absolutely love them! They are great fitting and work so great with my Time pedals. They are a bit on the heavy side but that shouldn't matter too much for cross. They come with metal spikes and a really great rugged sole. The other great thing is that they have a lacing system and only one strap which keeps them snug even after a long ride.

If you go with the Sidi's remember they are narrow, the soles flex and you are constantly trying to find the right tension on the microbuckle.

Good Luck.
re: What shoes are you using....D_man
Jun 4, 2003 12:28 PM
I don't race my CX rig (yet)--just a lot of road and singletrack riding. I started out w/ specialized body geometry shoes. I liked a lot of things about them, but didn't like the tilt, so I bought a pair of Sidi Dominators. So far I couldn't be happier. They aren't a wide shoe, to be sure. But you can get the "mega" model if your feet are wide.
Sidi Rampa'sCoolhand
Jun 4, 2003 12:33 PM
Mated to Eggbeaters. Use the same set up for road biking too- plenty stiff and I can walk normally instead of like a duck.

Coolhand
sidi dom 2's and northwave team'sbuffalosorrow
Jun 4, 2003 3:28 PM
I bought the sidi's through my LBS $189 retail picked them up for $130. I have not used them yet, waiting till the northwave's die. The northwave's I picked up barely used on ebay, I think $40, they are used every day and I raced on them. The sidi fit is better for me, but I like the northwaves just the same.
The sidi rampa's are a good deal and the new models/ color are now out.
One other thing I like the sidi's and northwaves because they use synthetic materials.
Bullets $99 at ...madstork
Jun 5, 2003 5:20 AM
jensonusa.com

I read your post as I'm thinking of new shoes also. First source I checked was Jenson, and voila, good price on Bullets!

I use Diadora mtb shoes now, the model with laces and velcro lace cover, can't think of the model name. Fit me ok, just a bit of heel slop, paid $120 at lbs, have good mud and wet rock traction. I would buy these again and continue using a replacement sport insole to fill in the gaps.

I'm interested in the Bullets also b/c I use Sidi Genius 4 on the road. I like the Sidi snug fit and would like to try it out on mtb and cx.
diadora cobrasdpb
Jun 6, 2003 6:39 AM
I picked up some diadora cobras, three straps no laces. Build quality is great, fit is okay for me but I use an extra insole. So far so good, great colour scheme (mine are silver and red) and not too "agressive" for road riding.

On sale at nashbar for $50 from $120 if you're a 38 or 42. Different (but very nice) colour scheme.

cheers,
Damian
re: What shoes are you using....snwbdrhoon
Jun 5, 2003 5:51 AM
I'm currently using a pair of Pearl Izumi Vapers (a bit more than the $150 price mark you set). I use them for MTB, Road and Cross. Very stiff, but also provide good traction (toe spikes included) and are okay to run in (I prefer stiffer shoes for riding and give up a little on the run). I also prefer straps to buckles and HATE laces. The S-works shoes look nice.

I can't stress enough that I think spending $200 on a pair of bike shoes is NOT a waste of $$$. Considering how much people spend on sneakers and dress shoes....

Which ACG's do you have? The new ones, Carnerso look nice.

Just make sure they fit your foot. Another great pair of shoe is the Shimano M-221's or their little bro: the M152's. I really liked the 221's but the shop guy said they weren't right for my foot.
They're HIGHLY rated, and when I tried them on they were awesome.

Check out these babies. Getting them from Pearl Izumi when I won an auction. A shameless waste of $$, but who could say no to customized shoes.
PSsnwbdrhoon
Jun 5, 2003 5:54 AM
Northwave Teams are the bomb. I have a pair from 1999 that I still use as my beater shoes. THEY ROCK. Plus you can't beat the two-tone colors (blue and green).

If you can find them, you'll get them for cheap and they are AMAZING shoes.
Sidi Adrenaline 2 & Northwave Compacttriangleforge
Jun 5, 2003 10:42 AM
Don't know if Sidi's still making the Adrenaline 2, but I like it quite a bit for cyclocross -- it's a high-top shoe, so gives my dodgy ankles a bit of support hoofing over rough terrain. There's also a stiff plastic cup that covers the inside of your ankle, right over the bone, so it doesn't hurt if you've got enough pedal float to smack your ankle on the crankarm. The heel has a cutout -- basically down to the height of a normal shoe -- so running in them isn't an issue. Like ATP Junkie said, the sole's a little hard, so it's not ideal for running on wet rock or concrete, but not that bad.

My spare shoes are a pair of old Northwave Compacts that are solid, no-nonsense shoes that refuse to die. For some reason the cleat slots on this pair are too far back, so I've had to extend the SPD slots with a dremel tool to them to get the cleat mounted forward enough to be under the ball of my foot.

As for velcro vs. ratchet straps, I learned a whole lot about the advantages & disadvantages of each on muddy laps last year at the 24-hours of Snowshoe MTB race -- I'd use one pair while the other was (sort of) drying. Basic lesson: mud is hell.

On balance, the velcro is worse if you're running for any distance in deepish mud. The ends of the straps lift up and become clogged with mud. Rather quickly, most of the hook side of the velcro is completely caked with mud and useless. By the end of one lap, I was within about half an inch of having no straps at all holding the shoes on my feet. The toe strap -- probably since it didn't extend down the side of my foot -- never started lifting, so it was OK.

The Sidi buckles stayed put (although adjustment was out of the question very quickly), but became completely jammed with mud so that I couldn't release them. There's something particularly frustrating about taking 20 minutes to get your shoes off when you're mud-soaked, bleeding, and drooling with exhaustion.

Cheers!
NATHAN! hope its not too latemorati
Jun 19, 2003 5:55 PM
Haven't been here for awhile (racing mtb's during the summer). However I would strongly suggest the Northwaves's because of their natural rubber sole. Will make running alot easier. Chain Reaction has a couple of pairs of old stock still left at $110 (discounted from $260). Mostly large sizes though. Try them anyway, you never know. John