RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Is it worth upgrading or saving my $$$(10 posts)

Is it worth upgrading or saving my $$$snwbdrhoon
May 29, 2003 4:51 AM
Want to know from the board if it is worth upgrading my Trek XO-1 (from 2000, gold frame) or just saving my cash for a new (aka 2nd) cross bike. My apologies as I posted a similar thread in the winter, but haven't been able to maek any decisions. Thanks.

Frame: Trek X0-1
Shfters/Levers: RSX STI
Rear Derailleur: RSX
Cranks: Tiagra
Front Derailleur: Nexave
Brakes: STX cantis
Rims: Rolf Vector
Hubs: Rolf
Tires: IRC Cross Country 35C
Pedals: SPD
Stem: Salsa
Bars: Icon
Cassette: Deore XT
Saddle: Selle San Marco Concor Light Ti
Post: American Classic post
Fork: steel Sycip fork
Headset: Cane Creek
a few questions/ commentsbuffalosorrow
May 29, 2003 6:52 AM
Are you unhappy with the fit or have discomfort?
Or are you like me like to gratify and splurge on new bike parts?
Are you racing the bike?
is the drivetrain acting up?
If yes to all and you have the $$, perhaps a new ride may do the trick.

Other option is to re-work the drive train.

Or if cosmetics are the issue... for minimal money you can strip the frame (re-paint if you wish) But custom decals are cheap (silver polished and big black interesting decals are trick) and replace/ upgrade all at once or as part bust.
You get a new looking/ riding bike for cheap, if thats what you want.
There is nothing wrong with your parts unless they are miss-shifting, costing you lap time, or dont function.
Nothing wrong with your frame unless damaged or fit is poor.
Also how much does this set up sell for on ebay? $400-500? Think a deposit on a new/used ride. $1000-1500 can get you a decent ultegra/ even da equiped bike. Although I have two campy equiped cross bikes. Both have cost $1000- 1300 each and I still have urges to get new parts...
a few questions/ commentssnwbdrhoon
May 29, 2003 7:23 AM
Responses to your questions -

Are you unhappy with the fit or have discomfort?
No overall it's okay. It's a 52 (with a 53 top tube), and I'm thinking a 53 or a 54 would be better, but it works fine. I'm fine with the frame aesthetics as well.

Or are you like me like to gratify and splurge on new bike parts?
YES.

Are you racing the bike?
YES.

is the drivetrain acting up?
A bit. Nothing major. I just feel the bike could be much better. The question then is it worth changing parts of the drivetrain, STI/Derailleurs/Crank, or just biting the bullet for another bike. It'd be nice to have Ultegra or DA and top mount brake levers and a better bar

Thanks.
a few questions/ commentsarctic hawk
May 29, 2003 8:14 AM
I thought about going that route on a very old bike (1988) & making the changes necessary to run it as a CX. But after adding all the $$$ together, it was cheaper to get a 2nd bike (my first CX).
I found mine on ebay (review posted on 2001 Trek XO 1) for US$600 with Ultegra components, bar cons though. I would still love to splurge on little extras but the budget ...

Good Luck!
Arctic Hawk
(my $0.02 worth)
ok next stepbuffalosorrow
May 29, 2003 1:23 PM
Interesting that you ride the same size frame as I do.

Well it seems to me that either you spend a fortune on a supercross complete bike or you do what is in you budget ... upgrade the drivetrain. I dont think you'll (aswell as myself) like the idea of downing a $5000 superbike or getting sponsered the next season. Do yourself (in my opinion) a favor and just dress her up.

I can get you started with a pair of top mounts I have a spare, unused set of hinged Spooky's or Tektro (hinged aswell). Long ebay story how I under up with two extra sets of top mounts... seller error in my favor. I can do better price wise than CCW.

As for me I got my hands on a serotta ti stem (god-like light) and deda 215 bars for my colnago, I have the levers off and am considering rebuilding the campy 8 right shifter into a 9 (great perk with campy).

If you like, email me for the top mounts: buffalosorrow@lycos.com
both good callsatpjunkie
May 29, 2003 5:35 PM
IMHO use the dough to get a deal on a second bike. look in the classifieds here and ebay. you can get an Ultegra Spec'd bike for the price of the gruppo. If you race where there's lotsa mud and gunk 2 good bikes will beat 1 great everytime. Do get those top mounts and upgrade your Trek as things break.
thanks for the inputsnwbdrhoon
May 29, 2003 5:40 PM
i guess i'm hearing what i need to hear.

thanks everyone!

a supercross bike is definitely out of my budget.
thanks for the inputatpjunkie
May 29, 2003 5:57 PM
hit the web, I built 2 snappy bikes for 2G with an extra wheelset.
thanks for the inputarctic hawk
May 30, 2003 2:59 AM
I looked into a Ridley Crossbow (not Supercross) bike outfitted with 105 & the price was in the neighborhood of $1,600. I cannot imagine what a Supercross would go for outfitted with Ultegra.
With some careful research, good deals can be had.
Happy Hunting!

Arctic Hawk
(my $0.02 worth)
Decision!snwbdrhoon
Jun 10, 2003 4:16 AM
Decided to make some upgrades based on the input from everyone here. In the process of getting everything together, but here's the list so far:

Tektro Topmount Brake Levers
ITM Bar
105 STI levers
105 Rear Derailleur

PS - Buffalosorrow thanks for all of your help!