RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Anyone use Vredestein Campo's?(8 posts)

Anyone use Vredestein Campo's?Art S
Apr 8, 2003 12:23 PM
Just wondering, because I don't see many CX'ers on 'em here in USA. I got a a pair of 28's last year and love 'em. When these are spent, I want to try the 32's.
What type of riding do you do ?Gripped
Apr 8, 2003 1:52 PM
How did they peform in mud, dry, packed, etc ...
I have 32'sDan Cas
Apr 8, 2003 3:49 PM
And they are a very high quality tire and extremely cushy.The only caution I have about them is the tread wears down extremely fast on pavement,so be warned.I have some worn ones I use daily and I keep some new ones for special occasions.

Dan
They can wear a bit quicker than some...Art S
Apr 8, 2003 5:35 PM
...but like I said in my review, I'd rather get the best traction & handling any day than longer treadwear - if I had to make a choice. Flat-resistance is important too. IMO, the cash spent on bike tires isn't that big of an outlay generally even for top-end meat's ($80.-$90. pr.), unless you gotta have something like Dugast's(ouch!) or any good sew-up, or if you're semi-pro/pro and chewing them up every day.
They can wear a bit quicker than some...pdg60
Apr 9, 2003 6:40 AM
That was my experience too. Quick wear and sidewall dry rot. Similar experience with some Conti's I've used.

Traction was good though, even in all around conditions.

Personally, I would use another tire.
I honestly haven't had any sidewall problems,Art S
Apr 9, 2003 9:26 AM
...or any dry-rot with the Campo's.

Some tires don't store well over the winter though. 'Nother words, if you don't ride them for a few months, or if they're exposed to a lot of sun, they may have a tendency to dry out or crack. I've had that happen once in awhile with Geax MTB tires.

But as far as I'm concerned, traction/handling are what matter most in a bike tire. If I have an otherwise great tire that wears fairly quickly, or drys out before the tread is used up, so be it. I'll just buy more!
agreed (nm)pdg60
Apr 9, 2003 10:45 AM
I did a review of them here on RBR...Art S
Apr 8, 2003 5:19 PM
http://www.roadbikereview.com/Tires/Vredestein+Campo+Tire/PRD_131711_2489crx.aspx

That pretty much explains my experience with them so far. I think more CX riders should give them a try. Excellent tires, though they're not on the cheaper end of the scale.