RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Best CX bike options for a grand(10 posts)

Best CX bike options for a grandoutofthesaddle
Feb 20, 2003 9:12 AM
I'm looking to buy a CX rig. I've got several options both new and used. I'm looking for some opinions on the best way to go for about a grand. Is is a new bike? I've seen several 105 bikes for around that price (Conquest, Axis, Enemy). Or would it be smarter to buy a used bike and put the extra cash into a spare wheelset or some other upgrade? Or maybe by a used Ultegra or DA bike?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
EbayGripped
Feb 20, 2003 9:38 AM
I got a '01 Redline Conquest Pro with a mix of Ultegra and 105 and Rolf Vector Comps for $625 shipped. I felt a little apprehensive buying a bike sight unseen but it worked out great for me. Ask lots of questions and get the specifics on every detail of the bike. Request more pictures if you feel it is necessary. Also check out the rbr.com classifieds.

My biggest piece of advice for buying used ... don't be in a hurry. Wait until you see what you are looking for at a great price. Bikes cycle through Ebay at an amazing rate and you can rest assured that if you don't get the one you absolutely thought was perfect, another one will pop up in a week or two or three.
Ebay/ UsedGrizfan
Feb 20, 2003 1:45 PM
I had good luck on E-bay also bought a 2000 Kona, Jake with 105 & ultegra for $500. I will now have the extra cash for upgrades like wider bars & I will build another set of wheels. Feedback on Ebay is a good way to gauge your seller...good luck
re: Best CX bike options for a grandNeilUCLA
Feb 20, 2003 7:44 PM
Personally, I've had a great experience going used. I bought a Cannondale XR800 off this site for $550 shipped, full 105 drivetrain and two sets of pedals + cleats. I swapped out the old tires for the green Vitorias and now have a great rig for $600. If it were new, I probably wouldn't be able to tell the difference.
I buy everything on EBAY but...snuz
Feb 21, 2003 11:10 AM
there are a few things to consider. Most importantly, you need to know the exact size of the brand you want, its often not as easy as looking at the specs. I would suggest going to a dealer of the bike before you buy to get a feel for the fit. This can be difficult if you're looking at brands like sycip or soulcraft.

Also, check the rating of the seller, and look at his auctions to see if he has sold bikes before. Packaging bikes and frames is tricky and UPS, FedEx, and the post office are great at scratching and destroying. If the bike isn't in the right size box with the right amount of styrofoam, plastic wrap etc, you and the seller are S.O.L.
This happened to me once and it was a pain. The good thing is, many of the sellers on EBAY are bike dealers and know how to ship.

I bought my Kelly cross bike and 853 Kona mtb, new, on EBay and saved about half on both. If you need a bike fast you may not get the big deal, but I'll bet you find something.
I look every day. When I bought my $2400 Kelly for $1100 the
guy had a $2500 steelman mtb for $1200. Damn I wish I had the money for that too.
Agree on EBAY and the classifieds hereatpjunkie
Feb 21, 2003 2:14 PM
purchased and/or built 2 swank cx bikes for under 2 Grand.
especially as a starter, you can get great barely used rigs with good specs for the price of a new bike built w/ a lesser parts gruppo. it's the easiest/cheapest way to get into the sport
Best time??filipo23
Mar 3, 2003 6:20 PM
Guys,

When is the best time to find good CX deals on either ebay or classifieds?

I just lost out on a sweet sweet Morgul Bismark rig on ebay ... snif.
Best time?? NOW!!!!!atpjunkie
Mar 5, 2003 6:31 PM
it's end of the season, start shopping
you are correct.filipo23
Mar 5, 2003 9:25 PM
Thank you, Mr. Junkie. In fact, I bought a badass little Redline from the rbr classifieds just last night.

It's on its way ... now I just need runkles and some STI.
you are correct.atpjunkie
Mar 11, 2003 9:16 PM
skip the STI. go bar cons! cheaper, last longer, don't die in the mud.