RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Wheel advice(9 posts)

Wheel adviceStevieP
Feb 6, 2003 7:29 AM
I weigh 200lbs. Is a 32 hole wheelset (Open Pros on 105 hubs) going to be strong enough or should I go for 36 hole?

Thanks

Steve
One opinionjhr
Feb 6, 2003 9:00 AM
A 32 hole aero rims will be stronger than 36 hole open pros (which are junk in my opinion [no doubt this will start a flame war]). My favorite aero rim is the Fir SDG 30. It comes in clincher or tubular versions and is very strong. The only draw back is weight (about 500 grams vs. 425 for open pros).

jhr
HOW ABOUT A MAVIC CXP33? (NM)StevieP
Feb 6, 2003 9:15 AM
HOW ABOUT A MAVIC CXP33? (NM)jhr
Feb 6, 2003 9:25 AM
I have not used them, but I have heard only good things about them. Consider a set of Tubulars for racing (or Tufo tubular clinchers). They can be run at significantly lower pressures than clinchers without fear of pinch flatting. I ran two races this year (snow and mud) at 35psi (my race weight was 168) using 32mm tubulars without any problems. In cross low pressure is a good thing when traction is iffy.

jhr
resident 'big boy' weighs in (pun intended)atpjunkie
Feb 6, 2003 9:33 AM
ran 2 sets of wheels this season 1 Hugi/O/P 32 hole 3x and 1 Ultegra/ Velocity Aerohead 3x. Both survived fine and I'm in the 230's. Vee'd rims are stronger, yes I've knocked the O'P's out of true (mostly bunny hopping). You will want to look into the Tufo's (Tubular or Tubular Clincher) as a big guy you will have to run higher psi tp avoid pinch flatting and these let you minimize that amount. am switching my O/P's to a rigida vee'd tubie for next season.
HOW ABOUT A MAVIC CXP33? (NM)ChunkyMunky061055
Feb 6, 2003 4:48 PM
Highly recommend the cxp33. perfect for race and/or training wheels and are very durable. Haven't knocked mine out of true yet and I ride like a $2 steak. Much better than the open pros in my opinion, especially for trail riding as well.
OR THE COMPLETE 105 Wheelsetcross bro
Feb 7, 2003 9:04 AM
I used them this season, strong, easy to clean, and reasonably light - although clincher only
re: Wheel advicejrm
Feb 6, 2003 9:55 AM
thats what im using (OP/Ultegra) 3x laced, 14/15dt spokes and alum nips. They work well for me.
Velocity Spartacus (?)triangleforge
Feb 6, 2003 11:24 AM
Just got one of these for a rear wheel a month or two back -- Nashbar had them on sale at a price that was less than it would cost me to build one. So far so good.

They're built with Velocity's Deep-Vee rim (no lightweight, but pretty rugged) and either 20 or 24 paired spokes. Since I think the whole paired spoke thing is pretty goofy -- and since this will pair with a CXP30 front as a backup/mud tire 'cross race wheelset -- I went with the 24 spoke flavor.

It's a pretty cheap alternative, and by all appearances a perfectly good wheel that should work well for cyclocross.

Cheers!