RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


New frame: what next?...(24 posts)

New frame: what next?...Farmpunker
Dec 28, 2002 10:44 AM
Hello people,
I bought myself an Xmas present in early December and it arrived about ten days ago. 02 Aegis Shaman frame, painted Blueberry. So pretty...
My trouble now is that I don't know whether to strip my Surly (which was a nice bike, but too cramped) of its mixed Shimano parts (105\Ultegra) or bite the bullet and get some Campy 10 and all new stuff, or at least new ebay stuff. I know that I have to get a fork, post, and a headset. Everything else should switch over to the Shaman.
Right now the Surly is dressed with 105 shifters, one of which is broken; it shifts but it takes some manual dexterity. Ultegra triple and front D. XT rear. Ultegra\MA3 wheelset. Mostly generic other parts. I had been thinking about switching to a double anyway, and I've not heard or experienced good things about Shimano road stuff. This is going to be a long term frame, so maybe I should get some Campy to go with it. Or should I just stick with the current tranny and get a new bar\stem\seat\fork combo and then switch out the Shimano before next cross season? Most of 2003's biking budget was blown on this frame. I've got enough left over to get a Centaur 10 setup, but then wheels are costly and no LBS in this area knows dick about Campy.
Lastly, and I'm going to toss this on the general post area, too, is there any good used road stuff to be found in the Toronto area? Any shop recommendations? I'm about two hours away from TO.
Thank ya.
Bite the bullet!phatlizard
Dec 28, 2002 11:00 AM
I won't give you any suggestions about stores (I live 7000 miles away from you!) BUT don't go the easy way if you are already in love with the frame like that!
I'd rather keep the frame sitting in the house for a year and buy the parts piece by piece as the money allows it then to put some old stuff on it that you just won't get happy with ....!
Been there - just doing it!!! Bought the Record Groupe after four month of saving the money - and god knows I have enough parts laying somewhere that I could use ... ! If you ever touch that carbo-brake-lever you don't regret the money spent anymore!
Sure enough 10speed Record is not necessary - but I would strongly suggest that you fullfill your bike-dreams because you will do it anyway and then you have probably more money spent in a long run ...

http://www.campyonly.com/index.html ... enjoy to dream of Campy - and get it if you can!!!

Ride bikes - have fun - die poor!

phaty

focus on the screen - admire the beauty - focus on the screen - buy it ... ;)
yes, bite the bulletweiwentg
Dec 28, 2002 4:58 PM
normally I'd say get 9s unless your courses aren't very muddy. wheels are NOT costly on ebay. alternatively, Performance has some relatively cheap 10s compatible wheels (chorus/record hubs, DB spokes, OP rims). Campy is as easy as Shimano to set up if you have the tools, and campy front derailleurs are definitely easier to set up. plus in my experience the stuff doesn't go out of adjustment as fast as Shimano. just get the Centaur and be done with it. if you like you can get just one rear wheel.
btw, you HAVE to post pics of the bike!! :)
re: New frame: what next?...snwbdrhoon
Dec 28, 2002 5:24 PM
There is a great outdoors store near the Toronto area, I believe near the Ajax area. They also sell snowboard equipment. I wish I could be more helpful, but I'm here in the US (a good friend of mine is in the area).
This online store to get started ....phatlizard
Dec 28, 2002 6:58 PM
http://www.branfordbike.com/

They give you an idea about the prices and maybe some things you can buy there if the LBS can't help!

Oh and by the way Campy also looks way better as a tattoo then ShimaNO!

(: phaty
And...Farmpunker
Dec 29, 2002 7:02 AM
Thanks for the responses so far. But please remember that I am in Canada. That means that a pair of Campy Record shifters costs me 380 dollars, and then add 15% tax on top of that. Centaur is more reasonable at 200. Ebay is fine, but all prices are in US funds and I have to pay tax when it crosses the border, unless I get the seller to defraud the government by claiming what he\she's sold is worth less than it really is. Ebay Canada isn't much use since there is very little real Canadian content.
And, in case this makes a difference to opinion and advice, this bike is going to serve all my road\cross needs. The only time it will see dirt is when training or racing cross. All the rest of the time it's going to be my road machine (I don't road race).
In that case, what is recommended? Double or triple? Will a 48-36 be enough with Campy ten? What casette? I'm not a power rider.
And yes, I will be posting pics of this when it's finished.
And...weiwentg
Dec 29, 2002 5:41 PM
your gearing depends on the type of terrain you will face. I would go for a double. but if you're planning on riding XC trails with that, a triple might be useful. I use 48-38 chainrings and a 12-25 cassette here in the Midwest, which offers pretty flat courses. you might want to go for a 13-29 or a 13-26 depending on the terrain.
And...jjohnson05
Dec 30, 2002 7:44 AM
Good guys in Toronto.

http://www.labicicletta.com/
careful...morati
Jan 2, 2003 1:40 PM
If you plan on racing again next year Nathan then I would go for even more gear. Remember that Ziggy's course... My gearing is as follows, 38-46 chainring with an 11-32 cassette. Since you can't do that with Campy then I would probly go with a small 36-46 tooth combo which is pretty common mtb stuff. Those Record levers are sweet.
Record 10 Carbon???atpjunkie
Jan 2, 2003 2:09 PM
are you guys high or stupid wealthy? These bikes go in the dirt, mud and CRASH!!!. Save the ego stroking tech/gear weenie snobbery for your roadie. Bite the softer bullet and get Centaur 9. It's strong, relatively light and won't break your bank account. get TA rings 48/36 and a 13-29 cassette (Chorus or Centaur). otherwise a 13-27. Sometimes you people amaze me...and yes I run Record Carbon on my road bike. Would never put it to the abuse of cross. It's like saying buy a Carrera 4 for rally racing...it is 4WD afterall. I've seen guys riding 105 Frankenbikes hand people their asses riding swank rigged cx. Impress with your bike skills not your equipment.
No dope...Farmpunker
Jan 3, 2003 4:55 AM
Sorry, Record fans, I will not be getting any. I just can't afford it. Centaur is the way I'm going, if I go new. The post kind of got out of control. I was looking for opinions about new gear on a new frame, or old stuff on my new frame. If my 105 stuff still worked, I'd use it, rest assurred. But it's partially broke and I don't want to deal with Shimano if it's going to break every year. I know that Campy can break, too, but from what I've read it can be repaired.
So, Morati says 46-36 and at least a 13-27. We race the same courses, so that's sound advice to follow. But is that going to give me enough road gearing? This is going to be my road bike (don't road race), too.
Morati, what shop do you deal with? Isn't Chain Reaction a shop? Good people?
Chain Reactionmorati
Jan 3, 2003 7:06 AM
They are most definitely good people. Ride with them all the time and as you know am sponsored by them. They might be able to help you out with some hard to find pieces. Swap out that 46tooth big ring during the spring and summer for a 48-50t and you'll be fine for road riding. I may have some parts for sale if you are interested (IF fork, 110mm Salsa stem, Ultegra TA crankset). BTW, the only reason I would recommend high-end parts on a cross bike is cause of durability problems. I use Dura-Ace cause its reliable. Ultegra shifts 95% as well as DA but DA will shift longer. Never had a mechanical (besides a flat) during 2 seasons of cross and 5 seasons MTB (on XTR).
Chain ReactionFarmpunker
Jan 3, 2003 10:16 AM
What size is the stem? What angle? Is that an Independant Fabrications fork? I need an inch steerer.
I think a double is the way to go. And if I use something like 48-36 and a big cog cassette, I should be fine for road and cross (especially so if I get another two gears with campy 10). Because for this cross season I'm going to train, dammit! No more lowest gear crawling for me. You might not lap me this year.
Anyhow, get back to me with any used stuff you know about. As I've said, there is zero road culture around here and the GTA is my best bet for finding people in the know. I'm not averse to new-used stuff if it comes from reputable people. My main concern, really, if I switch out to campy are wheels.
Whatever. I don't want to get impatient. Lots of time before I get back on the road.
Parts....morati
Jan 3, 2003 11:40 AM
My Independant Fab. fork is 1.125" as well as my stem so they won't work for your new frame. (I'm switching to a full carbon Alpha Q for next year as I will be running against the pros in the senior division so I'm trying to drop 800-900 grams off my bike) Don't woory too much about your wheels. If using an adaptor to switch from Shimano to Campy won't work then you can always switch hubs at a moderate expense. www.labicicletta.com in Toronto might be able to help you there as well as Chain Reaction. Remember that the smallest chainring you'll be able to fit on a Shimano road crank is 38t and on Campy a 39t (130mm bolt pattern vs. 135mm for Campy).
Parts....Hey Farmpukeratpjunkie
Jan 3, 2003 11:49 AM
I have a near new set of record hubs laced 3x to Colnago Ambrosio excellence (Blue) rims I may be parting with. Let me know if you are interested
Parts....Hey FarmpukerFarmpunker
Jan 3, 2003 12:08 PM
ATP, maybe. But I really am tapped out right now with the inevitable Xmas overspending.
I know this likely belongs on the parts forum, but here is what I would like to run. What are the problems?
I'd like to use a 36-46 (or thereabout) crank. Race Face, maybe.
Ideally, campy Centaur 10 ergo and D's. Campy 9s if it makes my life easier.
A 12-27 or 13-29 cassette. I just checked branford and campy does make a ten speed 13-29.
Is that going to work? Is it more pain than it's worth?
Parts....Hey Farmpukeratpjunkie
Jan 3, 2003 12:20 PM
sounds good. my only worry is Race Face rings (most likely 9sp) with 10 speed chain. Anyone out there know? It sounds great should work fine. It's how I was going to set up bike 2 had I the $. I was going Centaur (then Daytona 9) same stuff except w/ AC crank. I used all my old Shimano stuff laying around instead. Should work great. Let me know if you are interested, I'm in no hurry to sell. Am just starting to think about inventory reduction.
Drivetrain issues?morati
Jan 3, 2003 12:40 PM
The 13-29t cassette sounds good with the Campy Centaur ergos and der. however you might have problems with the crank and chainrings. If you go Raceface 74-110 bolt circle then you may be limited to a 46t outer ring (48t might be available from a specialty manufacturer but try to get them here) which is fine for cross but not ideal for road riding. If you go to a road crank then again you are limited to a 38t small ring and you won't have enough gear for some of our races. This was one of the reasons I went Shimano (more gear options 12-27 or 11-32). My advice- Stick with Shimano go XT-XTR rr. der. Ultegra frt. der. and DA shifters (used if possible) and an XT 11-32 cassette. Now either mtb or road crank will work. 38-46 for cross and 38-50 for road and all you do is swap outer rings once a year.
barcons?morati
Jan 3, 2003 12:57 PM
Nathan, you could use DA barcons for this season if you are strapped for cash. They retail for about $90 Cdn. and work well in all conditions. Then you could swap them out next year for STI if you decided you didn't like them.
Race Face 48tThe Walrus
Jan 3, 2003 2:30 PM
Race Face started making a 9sp 48t ring originally as OEM spec on the '00/'01 Axis, and it made it into their product line starting about a year ago. It's sometimes difficult to convince your LBS or mail order supplier that they exist, though.
110 bcd crank optionslonefrontranger
Jan 3, 2003 1:23 PM
My TA 9 speed crank works just ducky with my 10v Centaur. My coach rides a 9v D/A crankset with Record 10v drivetrain, and he's a UCI level pro.

You can get 110 bcd rings from TA in many many sizes. Mine are 36/46 which is good for my girly legs, and I have a 50 that I run in summer, tho my XTR front mech isn't as forgiving as the Campag front mechs are; makes the jump to 50 a tad fiddly to adjust but acceptably so.
110 bcd crank optionsatpjunkie
Jan 3, 2003 2:01 PM
you can get 48's that will fit your race face. they make 'em. if ya got the cash go with the T/A's. they're swanky.
More 110 bcd crank optionsKurt H
Jan 6, 2003 11:50 AM
If you want to set up a 110 BCD crankset, hit Sheldon Brown's site. You may have to pay a little more going across the border, but he's got 110 BCD chainrings to take you as fast as your legs and lungs will go. See here:

http://www.sheldonbrown.com/harris/chainrings.html#110

Good luck!
Kurt H
re:racefacevelojuice
Jan 6, 2003 4:13 PM
I ran the raceface cranks on the 00/01 axis and switched over to campy 10sp this year. 10sp chain with 13-29. XT front der. Worked flawless. Campy works real well. My opinion is that no matter what you run maintainence is the key. Keep it clean and lubed. I did 14 races in CX in Nocal had no problems wet or dry. Ran perfect at nat's. Good Luck