RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Cross versus Road - opinions(12 posts)

Cross versus Road - opinionslaffeaux
Nov 22, 2002 12:12 PM
On a cross bike, if the tires were replaced with road tires, if the stem was a bit longer, and the gearing changed to that of a road bike, what would the real differences be in real world riding?

I'm not asking what's different about the geometry, but how the bike would perform differntly. The angles are not diffferent enough to really change the speed, correct? Does the slacker head tube angle make tracking a straight line (i.e. a pace line) harder?
re: Cross versus Road - opinionsWheelz
Nov 22, 2002 12:19 PM
Before I got a road bike, I ran my cross bike with Road tires just as you are suggesting. There is very little difference. If you are looking to run a cross bike both on and off road with just a rim swap, I'd say that is a safe bet. They make great all around bikes.

wheelz
re: Cross versus Road - opinionslaffeaux
Nov 22, 2002 1:16 PM
I actually have both. I find that I'm slower climbing on long climbs (possibly due to the weight and rolling resistance of the tires) on my corss bike. However I'm faster down the hills because I'm more comfortable with the slack head tube (I'm a MTB rider). I'm going to try a longish ride where I knew my average time on the road bike with my cross bike with the road wheel installed, and see what happens.
re: Cross versus Road - opinionsatpjunkie
Nov 22, 2002 1:32 PM
I jumped into a 18+ mph pace line riding 30 semi slicks on my cx. You shoulda seen the horror on the road snobs faces as I took a long pull up front. The best part was bunny hopping a curb onto some grass and down a dirt hill when I broke from the group
re: Cross versus Road - opinionsWheelz
Nov 22, 2002 2:29 PM
Yea, I bunny hop anything I can find in the road on any bike I'm ridding. I get some pretty interesting comments sometimes. Once I hopped a box that was about 24"L X 24"W x 10"H and the folks I was ridding with at the time are still talking about it. That was on my Santa Cruz Roadster. The compact frame makes it great for bunny hopping!

It's really great to have the off road handling skills in times of emergencies.

wheelz
re: Cross versus Road - opinionsWheelz
Nov 22, 2002 2:24 PM
My cross bike is a pretty aggressive custom frame set up. The seat and chain stays are very short and the head tube angle is steep. It is very much like crit geometry, so I don't feel much difference between my road bike and my cross bike at all. My mtn bike, however, feels somewhat sluggish in comparison in the tight technical turns.

wheelz
On the other hand...Wheelz
Nov 22, 2002 2:33 PM
I get some pretty interesting comments on the trails with my cross bike. "You can ride your road bike up here!?" With the short rear triangle, my Rock Lobster climbs like a monkey. It's really fun to challenge the local off road, not so hardcore riders.

wheelz
re: Cross versus Road vs MTBatpjunkie
Nov 22, 2002 4:54 PM
or when you are riding with MTBers who slow for some obstacle and you fly up, dismount, run it, remount in the time it takes them to pull their front wheel over it. They are still clearing it and you are 100 ft up the trail laughing "PORTAGE!"
Ask Frischyj-son
Nov 23, 2002 8:38 PM
At the Atlanta Olympic games, Swiss rider Thomas Friscknecht (spelling, anyone?) road a steel Ritchey cross bike in the road race. He didn't win, but he didn't get dropped by the pack either. If I remember right, Frischy (who is a longtime mtn biker and was actually in Atlanta to medal in the inaugural Olympic mtn bike race) was an alternate for the Swiss road squad and was tapped to ride at the last minute when a tean member was injured or became ill. He didn't have his road bike, so he roadified his cross bike and raced anyway.

Anecdotal, sure. But I' don't think there would be a substantial difference for most riding. I don't think the frame would hurt you nearly as much as the gearing.
re: Cross versus Road - opinionsjrm
Nov 24, 2002 8:45 AM
The biggest difference is the that after all the changes you still have a higher BB and taller profile.

The slacker headtube angle makes the bike track better in dirt. IMO a 72 degree headtube is a hinderance on the road because you cant get more weight over the front wheel.
My Experience Toopeter in NVA
Nov 24, 2002 8:02 PM
My Ritchey cross has a 71.5 head angle and I have to give it that extra push to corner on asphalt, but is stable in the dirt. My Ritchey road has a 73 head angle and is really quick on the asphalt and scarey in the dirt if I lose focus.
My Experience Tooatpjunkie
Nov 25, 2002 12:39 PM
then again Frishy is GOD (no offense to the religious)