RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Thoughts on my butt?(10 posts)

Thoughts on my butt?Jimena
Nov 15, 2002 5:46 AM
I apologize for soliciting medical advice here, but do any other 'crossers have hip/low back/butt trouble as a result of 'cross? I've been in and out of pain for about a year in the top of the left hip, (upper ass really) and I'm finally being treated for it. Doc didn't know if it was Periformis syndrome or what (had MRI, bone scan, no fracture) but the Physical Therapist says it's a disfunctional Sacro-Illiac joint. Hips are twisted/rotated, joint may even be separated (it's supposed to be fused) causing muscles to compensate and get sore. When I go to PT, they push me and pull me and use my muscles to pop my hips back into place (!).

After they pop me back in, I get to do exercises for abs, adductors, abductors, glutes. It's fun because the PT ladies are cool. I have been going about 3X per week for 5 weeks, and it's enjoyable because it's not work, but -usually --soon after a session, my hips migrate back into their usual torqued state. When racing/riding it does not bother me, only when sitting, walking, running. I wish the doctor would perscribe more riding.

Maybe it is caused by constant dismounting to the left side of my bike? When I'm stopped on the bike my left foot is down, and hips are tipped. I'm trying to put the right foot down, or track stand instead, or stand completely down off the saddle, but there is no way I can dismount on the right. Any advice/similar problems? I don't want to quit riding until after nationals, then I'll take a rest. Meanwhile, I'm pretty sure it's not affecting my riding/racing. It just makes sitting here at the computer hellish. What am I doing sitting here anyway?
re: Thoughts on my butt?Sabine
Nov 15, 2002 11:11 AM
no, no thoughts. Just posting a pic in case anyone needs reference material.
Looks good from that angle...merckx56
Nov 15, 2002 11:23 AM
but to offer a truly professional opinion, I'd need some "hands-on" inspection time! Here's hoping my wife doesn't read this... have a good weekend!
re: Thoughts on my butt?cxer
Nov 15, 2002 1:48 PM
that's the best podium picture I've seen in a long time!
Whoa NellyJimena
Nov 15, 2002 2:44 PM
That thing is huge! Thanks, Sabine. I love that shot, er, butt....the bad thing is it has gotten so much worse, I don't even think I could stand in that position now. Hamstring is too tight. That was such a great day in Canada. At least it cheered me up to see that picture again.
Here is my inputManicmtbr
Nov 15, 2002 12:40 PM
Sammi,

My hips are twisted from an old, unknown injury - not cyclocross related. When standing in back of me, my right hip is straight and my left is rotated backwards (upwards?), resulting in my right leg being 1 cm longer when walking/cycling. Unfortunately, my hip has been this way for so long, it is locked in place. Our team's PT prescribed some exercises for me, but he felt that it would probably be frozen in this position. I had back pain for a long time and still suffer from time to time to the point I cannot ride for a few days. The PT recommended a shim for my shoe, both walking and riding. The length descrepancy is quite clear when watching a videotape of me cycling. In fact, we found this when I was being fitted to my bike early in the season. Now I use a regular shoe insert in my right shoe and it seems to help the problem.

Good Luck with whatever you do. It sounds like your hip is not frozen in place yet, so there may be hope for you. Our P/T had specific exercises to try and unlock the hip (ones that I did alone, not with a PT), so you might ask for them. These may help in keeping the hip unlocked. It was sort of a twist - - laying on my back, one leg with knee up pushing up and the other foot was on ground, knee bent and pushing into the floor. It is important to orient the correct leg with the way you are twisted or you could make your condition worse.

And don't let a little pain stop you from meeting your cross goals this year!!! Good Luck!
Is it isolated to joint/muscle problem ?GreenFan
Nov 16, 2002 8:52 PM
Keep in mind that the sciatic(sp?) nerve runs along that same general area in it's travels down the leg. Any pressure that is exerted on the nerve whether it be from an old back strain or other pre-existing condition may cause additional knife like, shooting pain into the back of the thigh. Unfortuneately I'm not aware of any treatment for that pain other than relaxation...but it's something you may want to look into...oh and on a lighter note, I agree with the hands on examination to better asses the situation ;)
Sciatica is nasty!Mitch2
Nov 17, 2002 8:25 AM
It could be Sciatica. It's that big nerve that runs down your lower spine all the way down to your feet. I am currently suffering from it after that major crash I had 3 weeks ago. Be very careful and do not exert yourself because you can end up like me, intense stabbing pain down my leg. Pain so intense that I can't walk or bordering to passing out. Now it's been 2 weeks for me off my bike and I still have the pain. They say that the best way for now is conservative treatment.(meaning drugs and lot's of rest)

Like what I said, Be Very Careful!!!!

Mitch
Venice, CA
Thanks to all who repliedJimena
Nov 18, 2002 10:02 AM
Thanks all -- I'm pretty sure it's not to do with nerves, as it is fairly localized and doesn't shoot down my leg at all. It did pop out again last night, and I got some help popping it in this AM, and it feels better at the moment. I think it's a Sacroiliac join disfunction, which is fairly rare, so I guess no one else I ever met has had such a thing. What a pain in my ass.
Sciatica is nasty!Eric Marshall
Nov 18, 2002 1:09 PM
I hope you've been to a doctor by now. I hope you've had an MRI by now. If you ruptured a disk in your crash, surgery may be required. From the reading I did after I ruptured a disk, you should only take a few days of bed rest. More than that isn't beneficial.