RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Any opinions on carbon fibre forks?(11 posts)

Any opinions on carbon fibre forks?clubted
Nov 11, 2002 10:43 PM
I'm considering a carbon fork for my new to me and yet to be built up Specialized S Works CX. Looking for light weight and compliant ride, mostly road with occaisional non technical singletrack. Winwood looks like the best value. Any help appreciated. Thanks!
re: Any opinions on carbon fibre forks?atpjunkie
Nov 12, 2002 11:08 AM
I haven't heard many positive reviews of the winwood. It's a Taiwanese knockoff from what I've heard. Some companies (Bianchi I think) Spec them on their bikes. Ask some of those owners. Personally the Alpha Q has got great reviews as has the Alan Fork. Personally I'd probably get the Alan with the Alloy Steerer, I'm not that confident of all Carbon in offroad use (especially at my size) this is my HO so not intended as a flare.
I just put a lot of stress on stuff from my size, power and riding style.
I've torque snapped 4 or 5 14-15 gauge spokes in the last month. (laced 3x)
re: Any opinions on carbon fibre forks?morati
Nov 12, 2002 3:50 PM
I would stay away from the Winwood myself. Its relatively heavy for carbon and you could get a stronger steel fork (Indy Fab) that weighs less. I would go for the Alpha fork with the carbon steerer. (450-475grams) However I weigh 140lbs. and don't usually break parts.
mud clearance?Dan Cas
Nov 12, 2002 5:07 PM
Just wondering if the Alpha Q has enough clearance for a 35 plus mud.What size tire will fit without mud?

Thanks,Dan
Hmm, I'm currently using an Alpha-Q...SS_MB-7
Nov 13, 2002 5:21 AM
Hmm, I'm currently using an Alpha-Q with either Conti Twisters (700x32) or Michelin Muds (700x30) and there's ample room. I'll measure the clearance for you tonight with each tire mounted.

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
Just measured inner spacing between the Alpha-Q legs as 55mm....SS_MB-7
Nov 13, 2002 1:54 PM
Just measured inner spacing between the Alpha-Q legs as 55mm, that is, the inner-to-inner leg distance. My Conti Twister is 32mm (very outer edge of knob....the tire casing itself is ~28mm), so there is ample clearance for mud on either side....~12mm (0.5").

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
Just measured inner spacing between the Alpha-Q legs as 55mm....Dan Cas
Nov 13, 2002 7:41 PM
Thanks a lot. Sounds like it would be fine.I've heard that the Wound Up has less clearance but I haven't seen one yet.
Winword/empellaB123
Nov 12, 2002 11:40 PM
I rode a winword fork for awhile. Held up fine on all the trails, took some large drops on it too. I definitely noticed a better ride over my al fork.

My newest fork is an empella carbon/carbon. Fantasic ride, heavy, but strong is good for cross. It requires a hiddenset which your spec cx doesn't have.
I've been using the Winwood fork since....Wayne
Nov 13, 2002 7:41 AM
the middle of last season when the stock Redline fork got bent. I've got no complaints, it lightened up the front end of my bike and seemed to smooth the ride out (most noticeable on paved rough roads).
Redline forkstihipscrew
Nov 13, 2002 11:47 AM
Schwab sells these. The stock fork, alloy steerer, on my 56c-c Conquest Pro weighs precisely 570g (1.25lbs) on digital postal scale. Maybe that's why yours bent, but that's probably as light or lighter than Winwood. I've stacked my bike all over the place and my Redline fork has held up fine. I'm about 160lbs.

Uh, also FWIW the Winwood is dogbutt ugly.
Thanks for the response!!!!clubted
Nov 14, 2002 10:24 PM