RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Cyclocross Rim Selection: Open Pro, CXP33, Others?(11 posts)

Cyclocross Rim Selection: Open Pro, CXP33, Others?Hop Sing
Oct 28, 2002 2:41 PM
Howdy ‘Crosser,

I have a brand new set of Ultegra 32 hole 9 speed hubs waiting to be built into a pair of dual-purpose cyclocross/winter road training wheels. I weigh 180-185 lbs. depending on pizza and microbrew consumption. I’m new to the whole cyclocross thing and I’d like opinions about the best rims for my needs.

I’ve been happy with the Mavic products I’ve used, but would consider other rims in the same weight & price range. I know the Open Pro’s are lighter, but would they hold up to the punishment of ‘cross under my weight? Do they shed mud well? The CXP33’s would build stronger wheels and probably shed mud a little better, but they’re heavier. Poor acceleration?

Any advice on proper spoke gauge, straight or butted, and crossing patterns would be greatly appreciated too!

Thanks for the help. It’s great to find an online discussion devoted to cyclocross!

Hop
re: Cyclocross Rim Selection: Open Pro, CXP33, Others?atpjunkie
Oct 28, 2002 3:58 PM
am 230+ and run both O/Pro's and Velocity Aeroheads (similar to CXP's) both work great. Mud shedding is good but vee'd wheels shed a little better. at your size sacrifice some weight for strenth and reliability. Any rim will do lace the 3x and 14's straight or 14 15 14 butted. I'm going to err on the strong side so take note.
Another advantage of Deep-Section rimstriangleforge
Oct 29, 2002 8:16 AM
Deep-section, aero rims also work better in deep mud, as they tend to cut through it better and (I didn't really belive this until I experienced it) you actually get a substantial "rudder" effect that will help you track a straight line in deep slop, kind of like having a keel on a boat.

That's why aero carbon rims are the hot ticket on the pro & advanced amateur circuit -- that and the fact that they're strong, light, and give sponsors a great big flat space to put stickers. There but for the grace of poverty go I...

As for spoke choices, I'd go with the double-butted 14/15/14 spokes -- of all the wheels I've built & used, those seem to last the longest, matching the conventional wisdom that the tiny extra bit of resiliency you get out of a butted spoke over a straight-gauge one actually makes for a stronger wheel.

Cheers!
Open Pro and CXP-33 rimsbobobo
Oct 29, 2002 10:09 AM
What are the largest tire sizes that these rims can accomodate? 700-30, 700-35???
I run Michelins on Aerohead rimsweiwentg
Oct 29, 2002 6:23 PM
Michelin's tires are rated at 700x30 but fit more like a 35. no explosions so far; they fit perfectly fine. I'd be slightly leery about putting a 40 on my Aerohead front.
the Ksyriums are rated for normal road tires (I think the maximum size you are supposed to put on is somewhere in the 20s), but I have personally seen a number of people running them for cross.
re: Cyclocross Rim Selection: Open Pro, CXP33, Others?bobobo
Oct 29, 2002 10:11 AM
what size tires can the aeroheads and fusions and deep v rims accomodate?
re: Cyclocross Rim Selection: Open Pro, CXP33, Others?atpjunkie
Oct 29, 2002 10:21 AM
I'm running 35's on them just fine. have a set of 38's I'm putting on my O/P's for sh#ts and giggles. Yes, rudder effect of deep vees. Good in mud and SAND, why those Dutch love them.
Velocity Deep V's here...Steve_O
Oct 29, 2002 11:28 AM
I built up a Velocity wheelset (Deep V rear, AeroHead front) and have had no problems running 700 x 35c tires on them...

IMHO the Deep V's make for a very strong wheel. I go 195 lbs. and built these up after cracking a Sun rim in 2k miles. So far these wheels have held true with no problems.

The only other issue that I can think of with deep V rims (not a factor with Fusions or AeroHeads) is that a standard presta valve stem BARELY makes it out of the hole in the rim. Long stem tubes are common for skinny tires but hard to find for 28c and larger tubes. My solution was to thread on a schraeder adapter which gives me just enough extension to inflate the tube on the Deep V rim....
hey, same rim combo!weiwentg
Oct 29, 2002 5:17 PM
my wheels are Cane Creeks, though; the front gets shared with my road bike. completely indestructible, or at least as indestructible as it is possible for a rim to be. you do pay a weight penalty, though. if you're not that heavy, a CXP33 or a Sun Venus might do.
good custom wheel buildersbobobo
Oct 30, 2002 6:29 AM
Whom did you guys use to custom build your Velocity rimmed wheels? I do not know of a good quality wheelbuilder near me, Atlanta, GA perhaps one of you does. If not, are there any good national or online builders whom I could use to build a set of cross wheels for me? I'm thinking about going with a Veocity Deep V or CXP-33 in the rear and a Velocity Fusion or Aerohead in the front laced to Chorus hubs.

Thanks much.
Thoughts...Steve_O
Oct 30, 2002 7:31 AM
Mike Garcia of OddsandEndos.com is pretty popular. He's down in Florida which is "kind of" your area. Mike posts as Bianchi4me on the wheelbuilding forum on MTBr.com.

http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?14@@.ef43e41

I would also suggest that you consider building your own wheels. There is a wealth of advice on the wheelbuilding forum I mentioned above. You can use the following websites as a guild.

http://www.sheldonbrown.com/wheelbuild.html

http://www.execulink.com/~dtierney/wmc/faq.htm#WTQ1

It's not as nearly as hard as you might think it is. With the money you save building your own wheels you can get a truing stand and a good spoke wrench. I use a Performance/Minora stand with good results...