RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Cross race rule questions(5 posts)

Cross race rule questionsmarkNc
Oct 21, 2002 3:52 AM
What is allowed if you have a breakdown, flat, etc out on the course and you need to swith to a spare bike or wheels from the pit area? Any particular governing rules or other concerns.

mark
I imagine if you go to the UCI webpage...Wayne
Oct 21, 2002 4:06 AM
it's all spelled out. I think, by the rules, you have to run to the next pits. You can never go backwards on the course or cut the course. Also I think in UCI races you have to have two pits or the same pit accessable from two sides (so two different points on the course).
In our local series last year, you could exit the course to go to the pits but you had to re-enter at the same point you left.
MechanicalBipedZed
Oct 21, 2002 5:11 AM
If you have a mechanical you must get to the next pit WITH your bike to receive assistance. In a bike switch you cannot take more than TWO steps without your bike at any time on the course or pit.
Mechanicaleurochien
Oct 21, 2002 1:36 PM
I think it's 5 steps. But I could be wrong.
l'eurochien
Mechanicalatpjunkie
Oct 21, 2002 7:38 PM
was watching the 99 worlds and a French rider had a flat, no one was in the pit for him so he had to ride over half a lap on a flat. Knocked him out of the podium. Either his pit guys were lost or had already ran over to the other pit area and stranded their lead rider.
I think someone lost their job.