RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Cyclocross bike out of a MTB(7 posts)

Cyclocross bike out of a MTBCJPB
Oct 9, 2002 7:15 PM
I was reading a article on the cyclingnews.com website in their Tech section where this guy changed over his mountain bike to a cyclocross bike. I have been email to get details on the bottom bracket he is using as I have an older Shimano 600 crankset that I would like to use. Anybody out there do something like this? What would be a good adjustable BB to use? I appreciate any input.
re: Cyclocross bike out of a MTBWheelz
Oct 10, 2002 10:59 AM
I am using a 110mm Race Face BB with a Kooka Crank set for my MTB Cross set up. It seems to work pretty well.

wheelz
re: Cyclocross bike out of a MTBCJPB
Oct 11, 2002 1:28 AM
Hi Wheelz,

What's the largest chainring that you use or can put on your crank? What kind of gearing doing you have?
re: best deal in my opinionrichpierce
Oct 11, 2002 8:06 AM
There are a LOT of old, standard drive MTB cranksets out there with 7-8 speed rings that are 46/36/26 or 44/34/24. I prefer 8 speed for cross and on my MTB set up for cross I run a Ritchey MTB crankset with 46/36 rings and a 11-28 rear. Handles everything. With this setup you don't need to even think about messing with chainlines. Old school 110-115 BBs work fine for most old school standard drive cranks.

I have never run out of gears on a cyclocross course running 46/11 as top end. I am at a loss to understand why people want huge front chainrings
re: best deal in my opinionatpjunkie
Oct 11, 2002 1:35 PM
I only use my 48's for commuting (road miles) 46 is fine. Yes go with old MTB and rich is right eight is great!!!
Brakes, shifters, and bars question..Spunout
Oct 15, 2002 6:17 AM
So, do you setup with Drop-Bars on these units? What shifter sets?

What about V-brakes? I gather that a road brake/shifter setup cannot handle V-brake, no?
Brakes, shifters, and bars question..dropthebars
Oct 16, 2002 5:07 PM
I have set up a mt.bike with WTB drop bars and use v-brakes with the road brake levers. the v-brakes have enough power to lock up at any speed but they don't have the crisp feeling of the levers designed for them. there is a v-brake booster available it is a pulley that fits on the brake. or you can try cantalever brakes.
I am currently looking for a good shifter, the shimano sora sti shifter/brake doesn't work with the front derailluer.
so I am going to try the dura-ace bar con shifters.
also if you go from mt. bike to cross make sure your stem will get your bars high enough for correct riding position