RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Possible repeat question, 700cc wheels on a mountain bike.(8 posts)

Possible repeat question, 700cc wheels on a mountain bike.rtyszko
Sep 30, 2002 7:57 AM
I tried to search this board to see if this question had been asked (I thought that I saw it somewhere on RBR)but I couldn't find anything. I have a stripped down mountain frame that I'd like to convert to a SS with drop bars and 700cc wheels to ride as an all-arounder/cross bike. Can a mountain frame be made to support the larger road wheel diameter and still have brakes work? If not, can I get something that turns it into a coaster brake bike?

Bob
Answer...Eager Beagle
Sep 30, 2002 8:23 AM
http://gallery.consumerreview.com/roadbike/gallery/files/TCR(3).asp
Sort of helped. Did I miss a thread actually answering my Q? nmrtyszko
Sep 30, 2002 9:27 AM
Try this oneJan Gerrit Klok
Sep 30, 2002 10:34 AM
One of the many times I offered this option. Look at it, and then put it aside, as have many before you.

http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?13@@.ef6dcbd/3
If I use these can I use drop bars with road brake levers? (nm)rtyszko
Oct 2, 2002 9:16 AM
another option...minneso
Sep 30, 2002 5:14 PM
My LBS ordered a set of Paul's motobmx brakes. I am converting a 26 mtn frame to 700 (29inch ok 28") cross bike. They are a bit pricey at $100+ per wheel. Quality wise, they look every bit worth the cost though. When used on a 26" frame with 700c wheels, you can use short pull levers!

I am going more for an adventure bike, than a crosser. My mtn bike requires a much taller & shorter stem for the salsa bars = more difficult setup.

Good luck. I will post my bike in a few weeks.
Cheers Eric
scratch this option...minneso
Oct 5, 2002 7:23 PM
The Paul's are very sweet brakes, only one large problem....

The pads adjust from 26 to 700c tires, but the cable straddle is constant. Any larger tires will hit the straddle cable. Good thing my LBS has another buyer for the brakes since we didn't take this into account.

I will be selling the 26 ss and purchasing a true 29" frame.

Cheers Eric
re: Possible repeat question, 700cc wheels on a mountain bike.BCRider
Oct 3, 2002 12:51 AM
If your MTB frame has disc mounts then it's not a big problem. If not then it's not an easy fix as the others have mentioned.

I've got a Speciallized Stumpjumper with discs and I'm thinking of a 700c rim/Deore disc hub wheel set for commuting. Then I can use the original wheels for trail work.