RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Wheel Builders - Gravy vs Speed Dream...(16 posts)

Wheel Builders - Gravy vs Speed Dream...UTE
Sep 26, 2002 2:54 AM
I have spoken to both Gravy Wheels and Dave Thomas of Speed Dream fame. They have each made slightly different recommendations re: CX wheel build. Thomas, appears to be the more techie of the two and is recommending a Velocity Fusion rim, WS Oval spokes mated to a King Classic hub. Gravy suggests the Mavic CXP-33's and has notr made a specific lacing pattern and spoke recommendation, but will do so when and if I order. Any thoughts or opinions on these two Wheel Masters??? I know I can't go wrong with either!!!
A vote for Gravy heretamjam
Sep 26, 2002 7:14 AM
I had Gravy build me a set of wheels for my Singlespeed MTB, your basic Mavic x317 rim DT spokes on sweet Chris King SS disc hubs. Julia was my point person and she was great to work with, and while they charge $100 for his services, they cut me a deal on the CK hubs, so I got a set of Gravy wheels at ordinary shop prices.

Man I love visiting his new shop, the bike candy there is incredible.
Thanx Tamjam, I guess I am leaning...UTE
Sep 26, 2002 7:26 AM
towards Gravy. Who knows, it may be a sign to 'head' to San Anselmo as the cross bike I'm building this for is my new Hunter rig. Julia did mention she knew 'Ricky' quite well and loves his work.
Hunter? Nice!tamjam
Sep 26, 2002 8:03 AM
I ride a Hunter SS and I just love it. And "Ricky's" love is Cross, so I'm sure he'll build you a sweet bike. Cameron, one of their wrenches at Gravy, used to work in Rick's shop, actually while my frame was being built, so I think a number of people at Gravy are very pro-Rick.

Julia is still working? Sheet, she must be 9 1/2 months pregnant by now.

I take it your handle UTE stands for Matt Chester?
Yep - My Ute is the first..UTE
Sep 26, 2002 8:10 AM
and according to Matt, the last fully geared frame. Built with vertical drops, etc. I LOVE that bike. I have been offered a pretty penny on several occasions to sell the frame, and just not interested. I have the Hunter all built up at home, sans the wheels. I went a bit over board on the build. Phil Ti BB, Dura-Ace STI, XTR F&R Der. Race Face cranks which I will ultimately mate to a set of 'older' XTR 5 bolt chainrings, once I decide on the final rings. I built it up with some inexpensive Suginos so I could exeriment with gearing. Julia had her baby 2 weeks ago and was back at work 4 days after!!! She was apologizing for the crying baby in the background. In my house that would not have qualified as a full fledged cry. My two little ones have 'Lance-like' lungs. I am probably gonna go the Gravy route. I 'know' your SS from the MTBR tech boards. Did you get the fork issue sorted out this summer?? I seem to recall that bronc threw you onto Mt Tam.
All sorted out...tamjam
Sep 26, 2002 9:10 AM
...rider error, I've decided, not builder. Let's just say I don't use Salsa skewers any more. I know of at least one other geared MC out there, a 29er though, not a UTE. Matt built it for a buddy of mine late last year/early this year. He's the one who turned me onto Gravy in the first place, since Julia did his wheels too. She's crazy, being back at work so soon. I've got a 3 week old at home, and my wife was still exhausted 4 days after.

Your build sounds pretty trick. I am pondering having a cross frame built for me (by the folks at Vanilla) which is why I've been lurking over here on the Cross board. I'm clueless when it comes to building up a cross bike. Road components? MTB components? Disc vs. Canti vs. Vbrakes? I guess it just depends on the type of terrain I plan to ride it on the most. Either way, I don't think it will be built up quite as 'overboard' as yours, but I'm always looking for ideas.
This is getting kinda...UTE
Sep 26, 2002 9:18 AM
weird Tamjam!! My next project is likely to be a SS and I have acually spent the last couple of days messaging back and forth with Sacha at Vanilla. Those bikes look soooo sweet on the site!! They (She?) will do either lugged or fillet, old school!!!! Yeah, I know Matt did at least one geared DogBox (29'er) but he said he was done doin' geared Utes and in fact isn't even advertising the DogBox or the MathRock (Crosser) anymore.
Man that is...tamjam
Sep 26, 2002 9:52 AM
quite a coincidence! I love the fillet brazing Hunter did on my SS but think I will go lugged on the Vanilla, if I go through with it, it's just too pretty (trying to sell my softtail right now to help raise the funds). I haven't talked to Sacha on the phone yet, but I don't get the feeling that he is a she.

You must be from around these parts if you know Gravy's shop is in San Anselmo. Do you ride in Marin ever?
I couldn't be much farther away...UTE
Sep 26, 2002 9:58 AM
I'm actually in NY, Long Island to be exact. I heard about Gravy asking about wheel builders on some board and spoke to Julia a few weeks ago. Must admit, Dave at Speed Dream is a pretty sharp cookie as well. Back to geography. My wife used to live in Napa, Oakville to be exact. We are out there once year, twice if I can wrangle a business trip to SF and the timing is right. Have ridden some around Mill Valley, Tennessee Valley, Mt Tam, the Railroad Grade. Mostly while out there, I am either at Skyline or my real LOVE out there the Palisades in Calistoga!!! We keep toying with the idea of moving out there for good, but...who knows.
Why aren't you using Salsa skewers anymore?...SS_MB-7
Sep 26, 2002 9:33 AM
Hey Tamjam,

I recall you had an unfortunate incident with your front wheel separating from your fork. I'm using Salsa skewers (steel) on my fully-rigid disc-only SS MTB and I'm curious why you aren't using Salsas anymore. Were yours steel or Ti?

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
I think they were Steeltamjam
Sep 26, 2002 10:05 AM
Hey Mike, when I was describing what happened to Cameron at Gravy, he said the same exact thing happened to a friend of his. The wheel just popped out of the drops for no apparent reason. My fork doesn't have any of those "lawyer tabs" on it to help keep the wheel on if it's not properly clamped down. I don't recall the Morati having them either, but I think the drops on the Morati are deeper than they were on my Hunter fork. Anyway, his theory was that because the Salsa has a cam closing mechanism, if you clamp down the lever, but the 2 sides cams aren't seated properly to each other, even though it may feel like you're cranking down the lever under enough pressure, that little cam thingy can rotate and then you're no longer riding on a wheel that is properly held on. Does that long, comma laden sentence make any sense? It might be easier for me to describe if I had the skewer in my hand, but if you take a close look at yours, I think you'll see what I mean.

Brian
Now You Got ME Worried...UTE
Sep 26, 2002 10:08 AM
about my new Hunter Cross fork and Salsa Skewers. Yikes!!!
The fork is fine,tamjam
Sep 26, 2002 10:21 AM
great in fact. It's the skewer that screwed up my day. Although Rick did fabricate some nice custom drops for the replacement fork. (the one I crashed on was too out of alignment for his taste).
No lawyer tabs on Morati fork...SS_MB-7
Sep 26, 2002 10:10 AM
Yikes!

My Morati doesn't have lawyer tabs on it and I've been really beatin' the crap out of the fork this season.

Yes, the Morati drops are fairly deep relative to other forks.

So, what skewers are you using now?

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
XTRtamjam
Sep 26, 2002 10:17 AM
they clamp down nice and tight, which the Salsa's do too, but you just gotta pay attention when clamping them down.
Thanks, I'm going to swing by my LBS tonight and grab a set. I don't need any dental work (nm)SS_MB-7
Sep 26, 2002 10:23 AM