RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


More 2003 Bianchi stuff(16 posts)

More 2003 Bianchi stuffflyweight
Sep 23, 2002 9:26 AM
Well the 2003 Bianchi catalog *finally* arrived and there are a few interesting changes in store.

For starters there will be 2 cyclocross bikes. The Axis is pretty much unchanged. The biggest change is in the wheels which will be from Alex. At the top of the cyclocross line will be the Project frame offered as a complete bike with Ultegra. The Reparto Corse steel frame is no more. The only frame/fork option is the Scandium.

The mountain bike line sees a major change with the demise of the Grizzly. This is a bummer and a mistake in my opinion. The Grizzly was a great package in that it offered a really nice steel frame paired to a really nice Marz' fork. It even included tubeless tires for those into them and did it all for around $1500. The frame was the same as the Denali but the fork was a major upgrade as were most of the parts. Alas, the Grizzly is no more. Sitting at the top of the cross country MTB line is the Super Grizzly. This bike features a Scandium frame, XTR parts, Marz' fork, disc wheels, and Shimano's top of the line paired spoke wheels. It's a nice bike but it's going to cost a whole lot more than the Grizzly. Next down from the Super Grizzly will be the Denali which is pretty much unchanged from 2002 with the exception of the brakes which are now Avid mechanical. I think that leaves a huge gap in their product lines. You have an upper entry level bike - the Denali - and a top of the line racing - the Super Grizzly - and NOTHING in between the two.

Single speeders will be happy to know that Bianchi is sill cranking out SS MTBs. The big change this year is a switch to a steel frame. Also you will be able to buy the frame only.

Biggest change on the road side of the house is the new all carbon frame. This is going to be the big trend next year with everyone from Bianchi to Eddy Merckx to Giant unveiling all carbon bikes for 2003.
Thanks for the infoSlacker Joe
Sep 23, 2002 10:19 AM
And I agree about the Grizzly, but when someone asks about mass produced steel bikes over at mtbr, Bianchi rarely came up. There didn't even seem to be a lot of interest in them when Supergo sold them at $1k a pop, or in Bianchi's mtb line in general. I think most shops that carry Bianchi are roadie oriented.

Also, I don't know how they're measuring their effective top tubes, but what they list is typically a lot shorter than how the bike fits (my BuSS supposedly has a 23" top tube, but measures and fits more like a 23.5").

The SiSS looks nice. Does the catalogue specify if it's Deccacadi (sp) steel or other?

I looked at some of the 2003 bikes on their Italian site. If their US line also has the Bianchi logo shadowed in a celeste blue oval on the downtube for some bikes.. ugh.
Color?shawniemc
Sep 23, 2002 12:17 PM
Just out of curiosity, what's the dominant color of the 2003 Axis? Still that aqua (celeste blue)?
Color?flyweight
Sep 23, 2002 12:33 PM
Pretty much the same scheme.
Color?ManBehindTheCurtain
Sep 24, 2002 6:44 AM
Just ordered a 2003. My LBS was in telephone contact with the Bianchi distributor. I was told that the color scheme is reversed from 2002. For 2003, the Axis is blue where 2002 was celeste and celeste where 2002 was blue. The color scheme matches the 2002 Boron mountain bike frame set.
Dedacciai 12.5climbo
Sep 23, 2002 4:45 PM
The SISS - www.carsrcoffins.com will have a review of it by Hurl soon.

Pic link here.

http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.ef6f19f
What about Pista?Qubeley
Sep 23, 2002 1:28 PM
I am glad that they are bringing the Reparto Corse Pista back, it's a bike I loved but was never able to get my hands on. I would kill for a 00/01 reparto corse Pista frame, I can't find them on ebay. Too bad they are making it aluminium instead of steel now, wonder how that will affect the performance. Maybe I'll settle for a cheap version if they can just paint it good old celeste, instead of that ugly dull black.
What about Pista?shawniemc
Sep 23, 2002 2:06 PM
I've seen some of the old steel frames in shops recently. Maybe you could find one.
What about Pista?shawniemc
Sep 23, 2002 2:08 PM
Sorry, take that back...got that mixed up with the Steel CX frame.
Axis Fork?triangleforge
Sep 24, 2002 6:57 AM
Is that a Scandium fork for both the Axis & Project? Wasn't the 2002 Axis spec'd with a Bianchi carbon fork?

Cheers!
Axis Fork?flyweight
Sep 24, 2002 7:26 AM
There's no such thing as a Scandium fork. Easton doesn't draw Scandium fork blades.

The fork on the Project and the Axis is the same Biacnhi/Winwood carbon/aluminum fork found on last years Axis.
Don't forget they make 3 'crossersGlowBoy
Sep 25, 2002 11:20 AM
if you count the Volpe. They market it as "touring/cyclocross" probably due to its weight (23.4 lbs out of the box for my 52cm w/ pedals) but it's totally usable as a cyclocross bike. Mine can handle almost all the same trails as my mountain bike, running 45c tires in front and 35c rear with reasonable clearance. And the touring triple drivetrain gives you off-road options you don't have with a 'cross racing bike. If you don't want the triple, just lock out the granny with the front limit screw and you've got 'cross-standard 38/48 rings. And it's cheap ($850 MSRP, I paid $720).

Too bad about the Grizzly. And the Super Grizzly doesn't sound very "super" to me if it's aluminum.

On the other hand, I'm glad to hear about the S.I.S.S. Very nice development.

- Dan
Don't forget they make 3 'crossersflyweight
Sep 26, 2002 9:06 AM
The Volpe is categorized as a touring bike (along with the San Remo) in the Bianchi catalog.
yes, but Bianchi's categorizations can be ... uh ... strangeGlowBoy
Sep 26, 2002 11:01 AM
Haven't seen the '03 catalogs, but prior literature has claimed that the Volpe "started the Hybrid [sic] revolution". Truly an amazing feat for a drop-bar bike!

And then there's their classification of townie and cruiser bikes as "Cross-Terrain" on their website. Truly bizarre.

So regardless of what they call it the Volpe is a low-budget 'cross bike. Canti brakes, knobby-ish 30c tires, clearance for significantly larger tires, and comparable wheelbase, geometry and weight to its competitors, the Jamis Nova andSurly Cross-Check.

Anyone think this looks like a touring bike?
re: More 2003 Bianchi stuffshawniemc
Sep 26, 2002 7:47 AM
One more question to keep this thread alive:

>The Axis is pretty much unchanged. The biggest change is in the wheels which will be from Alex.

I was told this is a good change. Is this correct?
re: More 2003 Bianchi stuffflyweight
Sep 26, 2002 9:11 AM
Depends on if you buy into the whole minimal spoked aero wheel thing. From my experience, these wheels require higher spoke tension which results in more frequent spoke breakage and a harsher ride. Also while their overall weight of these wheels is on par with more conventional designs their critical rotating weight at the rim is considerably more due to the stronger rim required. The Alex design is at best a marginal improvement over the Shimano. Best thing would be for Bianchi to simply spec the bike with Open Pros, 14/15 spokes, and 105 hubs.