RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Toasted Head 6 Cyclocross Series in Woodland, CA(8 posts)

Toasted Head 6 Cyclocross Series in Woodland, CAadventurefind
Jun 20, 2002 10:02 AM
Hey everyone. Get ready for this fall. We'll have a series of 6 races:

September 10th
October 13th
October 27th
November 10th
November 24th
December 15th (Series Championships)

There will be a website soon similar to this one: http://www.toastedhead.com/race.html. We'll have prizes, etc.

The series winner will win a cross frame.

Email me with any questions here: ernesto@adventurefind.com

Later!

Ernesto
WOW!Jakob
Jun 20, 2002 10:09 AM
That's awesome! I just moved to Davis 3 weeks ago! I can't wait! This totally made my day!
Sounds great, but...Wayne
Jun 20, 2002 10:51 AM
isn't your championship going to conflict with Nationals in Napa, CA? I think they're that same weekend.
Sounds great, but...adventurefind
Jun 20, 2002 12:17 PM
You're right, and these dates are subject to change eventually. We're still far from the first race.

Thanks!

Ernesto
re: Toasted Head 6 Cyclocross Series in Woodland, CAseamus
Jun 20, 2002 11:04 AM
RAD! I'm a cross racer landlocked in Davis too. This is great news, as my whole universe is built around cross and Nats in Napa this winter. Hopefully there won't be a conflict?

Seamus
Dates are subject to changeadventurefind
Jun 20, 2002 12:19 PM
These are not the concrete dates. They are subject to change as soon as the schedule for the Sacramento area series come up. Once they do, we'll run races when they don't, that way there will be races every weekend.
As for the series championships, they are local, for these races only.
Series are the way to go!Wayne
Jun 21, 2002 7:19 AM
In the mid-Atlantic area the cross series has seen good growth and the mtn bike series has seen great growth over the last couple of years. I think when you provide a season long goal for someone and known quality events you bring the fair-weather and new/returning racers out of the woodwork (you don't need to worry about the hard-core they'll be there regardless). Actually the local cross series has been so successful it's hurt other races since most racers are focusing on the series.
Tuesday night rides at RH Phillipsadventurefind
Jun 21, 2002 8:16 AM
I like the series as well, and having the backup of a good winery helps a lot. We have a nice course with some very steep hills, dirt, loose rocks, etc.
We do fun rides every Tuesday night, so if anyone wants to come, feel free to do so. My wife Sarah works at the winery, so I ride from Woodland out to the winery (20 some miles), switch wheels, and ride off road on the dirts roads.
Anyone is welcome to come, just email me for more info and how to get there: ernesto@adventurefind.com