RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


how much would making a cross bike out of this frame cost??(21 posts)

how much would making a cross bike out of this frame cost??weiwentg
Apr 14, 2002 4:27 AM
and is it even possible? i've got a specialized allez sport A1 frame. it's either sell it off ... or perhaps put it to better use. can i put cantis on that thing? is the geometery going to be rideable (i think the seat tube is 73 degrees). what do i need and how much is it going to cost me??
addendaweiwentg
Apr 14, 2002 4:38 AM
can i put cross tires on my cane creek aeroheads? i weigh 120.
No cantis... No spaceVelocipedio
Apr 14, 2002 5:57 AM
I do't have the specs here, but I don't think the Allez frame gives you much tire clearance. You MIGHT be able to fit a 28 in there, but not with mud. And, since it's an aluminum frame, you can't have a frame builder weld on some cantilever bosses, so you're pretty much stuck with road caliper brakes.

In other words, it will probebly be almost impossible to turn an Allez into much of a cross bike.
No cantis... No spaceweiwentg
Apr 14, 2002 1:25 PM
oh well... thanks anyway.
No cantis... No spaceVelocipedio
Apr 14, 2002 5:37 PM
Of course... what you COULD do is strip the frame of components, wheels, etc., and sell the frame alone on eBay for about $250 and roll that money and a little more into a cross frameset like the Empella Bonfire [ http://stores.yahoo.com/cyclocrossworld/20embonalcyc1.html ]. You could then build the frameset up with the components stripped from the Allez...

Let's see...

Framseset [assuming it's the Empella]: $574.99
Avid Shorty 6 Brakes: $79.99
Bar tape: $10.00

Subtotal: $664.98
Sale of frame: -$250

Total: $414.98

Not bad for a wicked-ass cross bike. Of course that's all assuming that you can use your seatpost, headset and front derailleur, and that you get $250 for the Allez frame [it COULD be more of less].

Things to think about.
hmm...weiwentg
Apr 14, 2002 6:25 PM
i have relatively few components - most of the rest went onto my TCR. i have:
seatpost (short kalloy post)
headset (chris king - could not make it onto the TCR)
battered 105 rear der, triple
daytona double cranks + BB
bars
tiagra shifters
stem

what else do i need? probably can get it from Singapore (my home) cheaper than in the US... and any other framesets slightly cheaper than the Empella?
thanks for the help!!
frames, frames, frameslonefrontranger
Apr 15, 2002 9:41 AM
Those Empellas are beautiful frames. I'm lucky I've got my Dream Cross or I'd probably wind up buying one :)

You didn't mention whether you were building this to start racing with later this season, or whether you want a 'cross bike to do mellow trail riding / rain and some mud riding, or if you simply want a beater/commuter and all-round errand bike. If the latter, then yes, the Allez will work; just slap some 25mm commuter tires on it and go to town.

The Surly Cross-check is extremely cheap, steel and heavy, other than that I don't have any experience with them. This frame works great as a cafe cruiser, errand bike, beater/rain bike and commuter, but I'd sure not want to have to bench-press one 5-6x per lap in a 'cross race. They seem to have a rather vocal cult following from the DH / freeride crowd who dig the counterculture colors and Gen-X branding, and who think a 27-lb cross bike is reasonably light.

Check out Redline, too - they're about as cheap as you can get for a full-on lightweight racing frame. www.redlinebicycles.com & they have a dealer locator on their site. I got my old Conquest for $250 on closeout. Excel has LOOK AL264 framesets on sale for $550 right now. You can have any color so long as it's bug-gut yellow. Excel did carry Redline too, but I guess they've sold out of them.

I really, really liked my old Redline Conquest. It had good quick handling, and stood up to some ungodly abuse. I raced it in crits for 2 seasons when I was without a road bike. It was a great crit and road race bike simply because I wasn't afraid to take it ditch-surfing if I had to.

Any decent road wheels will work fine for 'cross. I use Mavic Cosmos on the Colnago, and I ride some fairly hardcore singletrack and washboard with them. I've seen guys racing 'cross on Zipps and Spinergys. Modern boutique road wheels are more than sturdy enough to handle 'cross if you're not an equipment abuser.

If you have a bottom-pull setup, use a Campy front mech, because it doesn't seem to have any limitations on what ring sizes you use.
racing! racing! racing!!!!!weiwentg
Apr 15, 2002 10:48 AM
I will NOT be doing mellow riding :) this is NOT going to be a primarily errand bike, although i will use it as such. hoping it will look too wierd for people to want to steal it. I know me quite well, and I WILL get competitive on this thing. if i can semi-get-back-in-shape, i will go to the cross races.
opinions on the c'dale cross frameset, sans headshok? i can trade the allez in for that, but it's going to be 600 bucks :/
Got an Empella FS --sorry for doing this on the discussion but..ralbert
Apr 15, 2002 11:37 AM
Hi. I've got one of Tim Johnson's Empellas badged as Lemonds that i'm trying to sell. The frame is 56cm center to top with a 54 center to center top tube. it's in really good shape, as apparently he only raced on it and didn't train on it. The bike is built with new Ultegra STI shifters and derailleurs, Sora crank and BB, Bontrager SPD Pedals, Bontrager seatpost, new Open Pro rims (Black) laced to Hugi hubs with black spokes and red spoke nipples (cool). I've stolen some of the parts seen in the photo and replaced them with parts described above, but the bike is basically the same. Email me at rha321@yahoo.com to talk about it if you're interested. That of course goes for anyone reading this :)
2nd Empella photoralbert
Apr 15, 2002 11:38 AM
2nd photo:
2nd Empella photoatpjunkie
Apr 15, 2002 1:58 PM
hell you want a race bike, buy this if it fits ya. Just remember no braze ons or bottle racks. PS ralbert...sweet ride, too small for me
Empella now on ebayralbert
Apr 16, 2002 3:58 AM
hey. this is the last time i'll talk about selling stuff on this discussion board--i promise. now the bike is on ebay. just easier that way. starting bid is $750. the bike rocks, but i'm poor, it's a bit small for me, and it's just sitting in my apartment waiting to be ridden. if this doesn't fit you, i highly recommend another Empella--the bike is SO light and quick.

Ross
waay too big for me :/weiwentg
Apr 16, 2002 11:11 AM
my allez was a 50cm.
now, anyone have opinions on cannondale's cross frameset? i can trade the allez in and get that for around $600... should I?????
i've actually had a cannondale too, and...ralbert
Apr 16, 2002 11:52 AM
i've had one too, both with and without the shock, and i personally found their aluminum rough as hell on your body (even with the shock). trek and empella (even if you don't want mine, i REALLY recommend one) make aluminum frames that, in my humble opinion, are way better and more compliant (and like it was said earlier in this thread, you can get an empella from cyclocrossworld.com for under $600--and they have many sizes).

Hope this helps,

Ross
i've actually had a cannondale too, and...atpjunkie
Apr 16, 2002 6:10 PM
I'd have to agree C'Dales can be quite the filling shakers. There are some small GT's for sale on ebay 49's and such with 105 components you can get for under a grand, these rides are much smoother than the C"dales.
GTsVelocipedio
Apr 17, 2002 3:28 AM
I can't speak to their cross bikes, but GT made some damned fine road bikes. My GF has a GT with 105 and loves the ride. It's very light and has, in her opinion, a "very steel-y ride."
GTsBAM
Apr 17, 2002 3:58 AM
I`ve ridden the GT ZRX and the back end is stiff over rough ground unless you are a cyldesdale. It does handle very well though. The spec wasn`t bad either.
re: how much would making a cross bike out of this frame cost??weiwentg
Apr 18, 2002 12:42 PM
thanks for all the advide. next Q: any reasonably priced cross shoes out there? looking for something around $70-80. what about the lake mx 201? is the toebox flexible??
re: how much would making a cross bike out of this frame cost??atpjunkie
Apr 18, 2002 7:12 PM
have a pair of the MX 201's. www.pricepoint.com, paid about 40 bucks and they work great, plus steathy color scheme. Also have a pair of Specialized race shoes I bought off their web site for cheap, they work as well.
how flexible is the toebox?? nmweiwentg
Apr 19, 2002 11:46 AM
how flexible is the toebox?? nmatpjunkie
Apr 19, 2002 4:28 PM
flexible enough to run uphill but stiff enough to make your toes feel safe. I train in mine and have had no problems running in them. I have a pair of AlpinStars as well but feel they are too stiff for portage so I use then as MTB shoes