RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Cunnar Cross hares.....(11 posts)

Cunnar Cross hares.....Jrm
Feb 23, 2002 5:02 PM
I am ridng a Cross check now. I like the compliance of steel, but the handling is slow, and its heavy.

Ive found a 2001 crosshares frame for $600. its the same size as the Cross check but the TT's longer and the geometry is more CX then touring/commuter.

So what do you guys think?.
sounds like a great ideaHurly Floss Deck
Feb 23, 2002 9:07 PM
replace a slow handling heavy steel frame with a slow handling heavy steel frame- it's the perfect way to spend $600
sounds like a great ideaDear Hurly Floss Deck..
Feb 24, 2002 9:28 AM
if you cant be part of the solution then why even put forth the effort to reply to the original post? Tool...
when you ask "what do you think" sometimes you get thoughtsnm
Feb 25, 2002 6:53 AM
$600 is retailAlex-in-Evanston
Feb 25, 2002 6:42 AM
That's not a discount, unless it's also coming with the fork. Also, I would have to agree with the other fellow that this is not a significant upgrade. I've got a Gunnar, and I really like it, but the Surly is a fine frame.

I'd spend that money someplace else.

Alex
Got one, mistake for racingAndante
Feb 25, 2002 3:00 PM
My cross hair has a whimpy fork (the stock one). It is the frame is very flexy and not very quick handling. With its noodle fork and long chainstays, it can eat alot of shock off-road, but is not much of a racer. It makes a nice commuting bike or touring bike, since it is comfortable. Just do not plan to set any speed records on it. The paint is an embarrassment to Waterford. I find paint chips on a daily basis. The welds are good, though. If you look a the reviews, you will likely find my themes are fairly consistent with the reviews of others. (bad fork/badpaint etc)
Bull!flyweight
Mar 6, 2002 2:52 PM
Not good enough for racing?? Alex Candelario rode a Gunnar in the World's a couple of years ago. Seemed to be good enough for him. Would love to know how many times you showed him your back wheel in competition. ;) I know of other riders in the Nor Cal area who have done quite well racing their Gunnar's.
Wanna buy a Kelly Knobby-X ?Mike the Snake
Feb 27, 2002 3:52 PM
Sorry to use this forum as a marketplace, but I have a Kelly Knobby-X frame/fork combo that is listed at 5.2 lbs (about a pound lighter than the Cross-Check) Great condition, other than one of the Ks is partly rubbed off. It is stiff for a steel frame, and great for racing, but only has one bottle mount and no rack mounts because it is 'cross specific. Oh yeah, it is a 57x57. I have some pictures if you want to check it out. I am asking $400.

Mike
mwarner57@hotmail.com
post picsnm
Feb 27, 2002 4:12 PM
Kelly PicsMike the Snake
Feb 27, 2002 5:40 PM
Here they are:

http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/107-0789_IMG.jpg

http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/107-0790_IMG.jpg
re: Cunnar Cross hares.....flyweight
Mar 6, 2002 3:14 PM
The Gunnar is nice than the Surly but probably not enough to warrant dropping $600.

Do check to see what size the headtube is. Starting in mid-2001 they went to 1 1/8" to cut down the fork chatter experienced under hard braking. I've got both 1" and 1 1/8" Gunnar frames and it really makes a difference.

$600 is a good price if it include the fork. A quick check on the web shows the following prices for frame/fork around the country:
American Cyclery (CA): $750
Singletrack Factory (CO): $695
Schwab (CO): $750
Harris Cyclery (MA): $800