RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Let's post some action pics!!(21 posts)

Let's post some action pics!!Jan_Gerrit
Jan 14, 2002 11:49 AM
These were taken yesterday at the Dutch Elite Nationals. A supporter took them because he recognized the Bike2Build.nl sponsorname on my outfit, and just emailed them to them. Ain´t that a nice thing to do?
It was a great day, but a very tough course, slow rolling mud, I barely moved forward in some places. Very slippery also, with frosen soil under the mud. We were the last race of a two-day event, and with this weather, this is what you get...
Guess this was not my kind of course, weighing in at 85kg, my optimal weight is around 80kg. I am totally out of shape, winter depression kept me far away from any form of training, hope to pick that up again soon to be ready for mtb season in March.





re: Let's post some action pics!!Daphny
Jan 14, 2002 12:10 PM
re: Let's post some action pics!!Setzer
Jan 14, 2002 2:04 PM
Hey Jan gerrit,

Saw you yesterday on studio sport. First round, first corner after that that they only showed Groenendaal en
De Knegt. Looked like a real tough course, mud and stuff not to mention the stairs. Jean Nellisen was talking about + 800 steps total over the whole race.
BTW when is Pijnacker it's Feb. right? I will be a spectator there.
Maybe I'll see you there.
Setzer
re: Let's post some action pics!!Jan_Gerrit
Jan 14, 2002 10:29 PM
Yeah, I saw it as well. Do you happen to know me, that you recognized me? Do I know you?

I hate the way I look on tv, big-a$$4ed and soooo slow...

I hope to be there in Pijnacker, and before that date to do some actual training.
Do I know you? ...Setzer
Jan 17, 2002 7:35 AM
No I don't know you, and you don't know me. The way I could tell it was you is cause there was only one guy ridng with yellow tires. That really stood out in pack at the first corner. Also the stickers on your rims caught my eye. I only knew it was you after I saw the pics here.
I will be in Pijnacker anyway, if I see there I will let you know.

You aren't slow, Richard and Gerben are just a bit faster ;-).

Richard.
re: Let's post some action pics!!geetee
Jan 14, 2002 2:25 PM
Jan, do you have a close-up of the front end of your bike, or access to a camera so you can take one?

I'm struggling a bit to setup my front Empella lever in such a way that keeps the cable routing clean. What I'm mainly hoping to see is how you've routed your housing from where it exits the Empella to where it enters the stem-mounted stop.

Thanks in advance.
FSVS Rider In ActionManicmtbr
Jan 14, 2002 5:32 PM
Here I am climbing the cobbles at Monkey Hill in Wilmington, DE at the UCI race held there in October.

I am a member of the First State Velo Sport team, based in Northern DE. My team is the 2001 Mid Atlantic Cycling Championions. For more info, check us out at HTTP://del/org/fsvs.
FSVS Rider In ActionManicmtbr
Jan 14, 2002 5:34 PM
That was the 2001 Mid-Atlantic Cyclocross Champions.
re: Let's post some action pics!!Jan_Gerrit
Jan 14, 2002 10:35 PM
Does the dirt enter the cable where the lever "opens" the cable? I don't really understand your problem, just mounted them the only way I figured out.
Sorry, I don't have quick access to a camera, but may have more pics soon. Will see if the originals of these pics are hi-res enough for a decent close-up.

Please explain me your problem? Perhaps it's something I will want to arm myself against, let the genius at the LBS work something out.

At the moment I'm not exactly a brake specialist, my Spookies hardly develop any deceleration on my carbon rims.
re: Let's post some action pics!!BipedZed
Jan 14, 2002 6:25 PM
http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/Nats1.jpg
http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/Nats2.jpg
http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/Nats3.jpg
http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/Nats4.jpg
http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/Nats5.jpg
Nice Shots!triangleforge
Jan 15, 2002 6:33 AM
I've put up a photo album of various cyclocross shots from 2001 -- including some entertaining ones from the Men's & Women's elite races at Nationals in Baltimore -- on the Web at:

http://photomail.photoworks.com/sharing/album.asp?Key=9983634113400304

The first half of the pictures are mainly my teammates at various Virgina series races from the year. For pics of me, here's one -- for more, go to www.iPlayOutside.com and click on the link for the Virgina Cyclocross series race #4.

Cheers!
BRAD
One more try...triangleforge
Jan 15, 2002 6:46 AM
I'll try a link rather than the photo, which doesn't seem to want to upload... Click on:

http://www.iPlayOutside.com/Events/2001/12/4656ca.html

The photo of me "Brad DeVries still upright...But not For Long" is from the final race of the Virginia Cyclocross series in Reston, VA, in the 40+ race. I crashed on the bell lap in that one, lost two places, then got one back by half a wheel at the finish line for seventh place.

Cheers!
One more try...HT
Jan 15, 2002 10:07 AM
ha, James Bellora
Not a race shot but...Steve-O
Jan 15, 2002 6:34 AM
a pretty good example of the challenges you can take on with a cross bike. This is my buddy Ricky on a Gunnar CrossHairs going over a log that I just flew over with a FS mountain bike. Although there are no more races in Illinois until next year I just finished building up a CX bike and will post picts soon...
Where was that photo taken?Alex-in-Evanston
Jan 15, 2002 10:41 AM
Thanks,

Alex
Des Plaines River TrailSteve-O
Jan 15, 2002 10:56 AM
There's some stretches of singletrack from the underpass by O-Hare all the way up through Park Ridge. There's even some North Shore stuff that many locals are hush-hush about since the FPD doesn't know it exist! The actual doubletrack trail is perfect for CX bikes. from Lake Cook Rd down to North Avenue and back is close to 50 miles...
re: Let's post some action pics!!climbo
Jan 15, 2002 8:27 AM
I have hundreds from Nationals and mostly "MAC" A and B races on my site.

http://www.crankybastards.com/races.html

Todd shows the way to a US National jersey...


re: Let's post some action pics!!Jan_Gerrit
Jan 15, 2002 11:10 AM
Wow, looks like Todd does it differently than Nijs, or not? Seems like Todd lifts the bike at high speed rather than put put the front wheel over and then let the rar follow. Or am I seeing this wrong?

Very impressive either way! I rally want to learn that...
re: Let's post some action pics!!climbo
Jan 15, 2002 1:40 PM
ho does go front wheel first but he does it so fast it's hard to tell what the difference to Nijs might be (having not seen him do it live either). It is great to watch, hard to do and I've seen a few too many people crash hard to persuade me to try it. Maybe next year.
Baton Rouge, LA seriesbk19
Jan 16, 2002 7:28 AM
If you go to www.bicycleshop.com, in the lower right of the page you will find a link to pictures from their series here in Louisiana. The course doesn't look overly technical (but I will find out when I try my first race this weekend!)but then again, Louisiana is almost pancake flat in the southern part of the state. The pictures aren't as exciting as Jan Gerrit's but I figured they might be of interest to a few folks.

Wish me luck on Saturday!
Baton Rouge, LA seriesG-man
Jan 17, 2002 12:29 AM
Wow that brings back old memories, I designed that course back in 1978 with the cross country coach at LSU, Boots Garland. The runners used the bridge and my crossers went thru the stream twice and the woods by the tennis courts. We also had another course at the archery range that was a lot of single track across highland road. I used to live in Village St. George and that park was my backyard home course. Have fun, and don't drink the wateer. Aloha G