RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Egg Beater Pedals: Anyone using / used them?(10 posts)

Egg Beater Pedals: Anyone using / used them?swede16
Jan 8, 2002 1:09 PM
What are your thoughts? I am considering swapping out my Bebops for them. And SuperGo has them $99.00.

Thanks for any insight.
try postingSteve-O
Jan 8, 2002 1:57 PM
Over on the weight weenies forum over on MTBr.com. Several guys have extended time on the Egg Beaters. So far I've only heard one negative review.
re: Egg Beater Pedals: Anyone using / used them?sprntr1
Jan 9, 2002 9:00 AM
I have been using them for 2 weeks now. I have nothing but good words for them. Easy entry and exit, no unexpected release (hmmmmmmmm.... keep it clean guys). Anyway haven't tried them in mud yet but I am sure the only mud will be on your shoes not the pedal which is better than most other pedals. Used time, ritchey and wellgro. This is by far the best
IMO.....jrm
Jan 9, 2002 9:22 AM
Asdie from the weight benefit, my moneys on a set of times for about the same amount. Also anyone heard anymore on the Stan's Ti kit for time pedals? like how much?
just remember-- small surface areastr8dum1
Jan 9, 2002 10:10 AM
so if you arent skilled in clipping in during a race, then get used to your foot slipping off this pedal. It basically has no platform. sure it can clear mud like the atacs, but if you dont clip in on the 1st try, you'll just be watching me go up the road. at least with the atacs you have a platform to push on. i think they make great mtn bike pedals where the clip in isnt frequent or rushed. the times still make a better cx pedal. and for only 37$ from europe is stupid not to race with them. you can get the Ti/Carbo Atacs for teh same price as the egg beaters/
If you miss the first try...WriConsult
Jan 9, 2002 1:13 PM
... I've heard that even if you don't slip off, you'll probably ROLL off because of their 4-sided design.

- Dan
just remember-- small surface areasprntr1
Jan 10, 2002 1:17 PM
Have you actually tried the pedals? The small surface area is actually a plus, as soon as you step on the pedals you are IN. With the times I was spending more time moving around the platform before I clipped in. The eggbeaters are waaay easier.

You should try them.
you can find 'em cheaper, toonm
Jan 10, 2002 1:40 PM
re: Egg Beater Pedals: Anyone using / used them?mackgoo
Jan 10, 2002 1:56 PM
Hust tried them for the first time today. Only on the road bike. Generally they work good. I think they will work fine after getting used to them. On thing I can see that could be a possible problem particularly for cross. I can see that when dismounting it could be easy to get clipped back in by mistake and finding your foot secured to the pedal when you want to get completely off. This is Only an observation. I don't know if this would be a problem for sure.
re: Egg Beater Pedals: Anyone using / used them?sprntr1
Jan 10, 2002 4:03 PM
Check out the link below. This should help somewhat.

http://www.mtbr.com/reviews/Pedal/product_79143.shtml