RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


V-brakes?(11 posts)

V-brakes?climbo
Oct 4, 2001 5:29 AM
Was in Fat Tire Cycles and they had a Gunnar with v-brakes on it. Just in the shop it had some amazing stopping power unlike my canti's. It was running travel agents with XT's. Anyone running these/similar in actual mud/dirt situations? I have some spare Avid's lying about that I might just have to try out. If it's going to get wet and ugly soon, I think I might prefer v-brakes.
just say nobn
Oct 4, 2001 7:37 AM
clearance is the issue, and v-brakes are not the solution... as for stopping power, sounds like your canti's aren't dialed in right/optimally
just say noclimbo
Oct 4, 2001 8:02 AM
I have the canti's about as good as I can get them which is better than I had them last year. Maybe there is more room for improvement but I don't see it getting much better. Clearance? Where exactly? Most races are dry out here until December anyway so I don't see much hassle with that issue. To me it seems as though I would have the same issues on my MTB and I have v-brakes on that which work fine in mud etc.
just do itargus
Oct 4, 2001 10:43 AM
then...... why did you even bother asking?
just do itclimbo
Oct 4, 2001 12:22 PM
because before I ripped all my brakes off the bike I wanted to get some opinions of those with practical experience in the matter. Get it, dig it? It's a DISCUSSION forum, do you know what that means? Sorry to waste your precious time....
just do itflyweight
Oct 4, 2001 2:52 PM
V-brakes will probably not work the same on your 'cross bike as they do on your MTB. For starters a 'cross tire is only 30-35mm wide compared to 50-55mm wide for a MTB knobby. The smaller contact patch means the tire will lock up and skid a lot easier than it would on a MTB. I tried some V's on a cross bike and found that there is such a thing as too much brake power! I'll save the V-brakes for the MTB and keep the canti's for the cross bike.
opinion on v's:lonefrontranger
Oct 6, 2001 8:26 AM
My coach put v's on his CX bike and took 'em right back off after 2 races. Two of my teammates tried them and said they'd never use them again. Some guys still do, but I think you have to be very careful how you set them up, and it's not a definite thing, since as a previous poster said it's easy to overpower the skinny tires. I know of at least three instances of guys with V's going over the bars coming into speed hurdles.

I don't have personal experience with V's, because I was warned they were too "grabby", and I'm also pretty small and light, so the extra stop force isn't necessary. My canti's worked fine, although I'll probably go with Spookys or similar on the new bike just to give better modulation (I had crap STX cantis on the Redline).

Good luck, whatever you try.
re: V-brakes?mtnbykr
Oct 5, 2001 3:49 AM
I tried v's w/ the travel ageny on my Redline and altho the stopping power was very good, the pad to rim clearance sucked. Any wet conditions and the brakes rubbed like crazy. Forget about muddy conditions. Lever travel was strange also. And like others have posted, you can overpower a cx tire w/ v's.

I went to the Avid 15's and other than assorted squealing spells, I like them way better than v's. Try different pads or redo the setup of your canti's. Trying to setup v's w/ travel agents can be a frikkin' nightmare. Cable stretch then throws the whole unit out of whack.


k
re: V-brakes?geetee
Oct 5, 2001 9:35 AM
IMHO, the only option for using V-brakes is with the corresponding levers - Dia-Compe 287V - and bar end shifters. Widgets like the V-dapter are accidents waiting to happen. Over time, grit and dirt will work their way into the system and increase friction. And you REALLY have the crimp the cable to get it wrapped around the pulley, so when your cable stretches or your pads wear, you can't easily compensate.

I use Vs on my Ibis 'Lugi. Avid SD Ultimate front, Arch Rival 50 rear. I just installed the front, with Koolstop dual-compound pads. Quite the squealer - I'm thinking about adding a Salsa Carbon booster to see if it will quiet things down.

I have some Paul's that I'm thinking about trying on my next 'cross bike, mainly because I'd like to use Ergo shifters.
re: V-brakes?-GeeTeeBAM
Oct 5, 2001 3:41 PM
Please Post if the brake booster works . I had 287 v levers with XTR vbrakes but could not deal with the noise from the front set. I removed them and switched to canti`s before tring a brake booster.
re: V-brakes?MarkL
Oct 8, 2001 11:31 AM
I have a Gunnar Crosshairs set up with V-brakes (XTR's), although I don't use any travel agents. I use the Dia-compe 287V levers, and am very happy with the setup. Modulation is very good, and I don't have any problems with having to run the pads too close to the rim. I did add a brake booster to the rear because the seatstays would seriously bow out when the brakes were applied hard. Works great now.

I would definetely recommend this setup, as long as you don't want STI or Ergo. I have not done any cross racing(hopefully this year), but use the bike for commuting, road, and mixed road/trail rides. Hope this helps.