RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Empella Bonfire 'cross frame weight???(11 posts)

Empella Bonfire 'cross frame weight???Neo
May 11, 2001 4:04 PM
I have been trying to get some specific information on the Empella Bonfire cyclo-cross frame from Cyclecrossworld.com, but they have failed to return my inquires.

I need to know the frame weight and frame and fork weight. Also, the geometries would be beneficial.

I am amazed at web sites and mail orders that fail to note this information. Its pretty important for many of the buyers. I just got the Schwab catalog and they only give some of the frame weights in there. Why give some and not all? You cant compare then.

If anyone has any valid info and experience with the Empella Bonfire or cyclocrossworld let me know. I figure the frame cant be that heavy if Bart Wellens and others ride it, but for all I know, they could be riding ti one-offs......as that has been known to happen in the past.
re: Empella Bonfire 'cross frame weight???flyweight
May 15, 2001 2:33 PM
The reason they don't give weight is because exact weight can vary from frame to frame. Also weight varies from size to size. Since companies all seem to measure their frames differently it makes comarisons prett difficult. Finally, it really doesn't matter. If you think a few ounces on the frame is going to matter you're kidding yourself. It might make a difference if you're talking about tire or rim weight but not in the frame.

The frame Wellens rides is an off the shelf Empella, nothing special (save for the rider!) Look close at some of the pictures on the web and you'll see the tubing shapes are identical to the ones in the catalog. It's not a repainted Alan or Litespeed.
I understand all that....Neo
May 18, 2001 1:48 PM
I understand that weight vary from size to size, but you still see many companies give the weight for a 'standard' size, like maybe a 56 cm frame.

BTW, It can make a differenc, a big difference, if you riding a 3.5 lb frame vrs a 5 lb frame. You can always upgrade wheels and parts, but a frame you cannot.

After viewing the 2000 CX worlds, I did see what appeared to be several other riders on Empella, like Daphne Vanderbrand, Wim De Vos, etc. Anyone know where I can get Empella info other than Cyclocrossworld.com as they still refuse to answer my questions about this frame. If they think I am going to buy a mail-order frame based on a vague paragraph about the bike, they are sadly misguided.
I understand all that....mv
May 19, 2001 5:38 PM
if I remember well they have a very high bb height, not for me.
re: Empella Bonfire 'cross frame weight???Setzer
May 20, 2001 6:49 AM
Hey neo,

You could get some info on empella on the website of them, www.empella.com, only problem is that it's in dutch. Wim de Vos did ride an Empella this year, he's on the same team as Wellens. Daphny had one last year, but this year she became Dutch Champion on a Koga-Miyata. A very small bike by the way, but then again Daphny isn't very big either.
a dutch bike mag did a review on the empella and build it up to a very respectable 10.4 kg I will look for the mag and give a break down on the parts.

hope this helps,
Setzer
empella site lists full bike weightclimbo
May 21, 2001 2:05 PM
at 9.4 kgs with Daytona and Fir wheels. That's all I could make out in Dutch, didn't see what size. The frame looks very nice though.
Hey climbo...Setzer
May 22, 2001 2:28 PM
your Dutch is improving, must be the Batavus :-). The bike you saw, was the one used in the test. It's a very nice bike, even more in real life than onscreen, everybody rides one overhere it seems. When I was at dutch championship last January they were everywhere.
Oh the 9.4 kgs included the pedals. I still can't find the mag though, so no info yet on the size and parts rundown.

Setzer.
LOL, no end to my language abilities...climbo
May 23, 2001 9:27 AM
I can read all sorts of languages, as long as it's all about bicycle companies or racers!! The down tube tapering looks interesting, would like to see a REAL one myself. Can't wait for the CX season to start!!
Any info would be appreciatedNeo
May 24, 2001 1:03 PM
Setzer, any info you find would be greatly appreciated. It seems like you know this bike better than most? In YHO, do you think that this frame would be better for cross than a Waterford x-11 with 531 tubing?
Hey Neo...Setzer
May 25, 2001 2:40 PM
I' m not able to compare the Empella to the Waterford because I have never seen a Waterford. You see I live Holland it's a great country for cross, but we can't get most of the stuff you have overthere in the US. That includes some of the brands regularly mentioned on the board like Waterford, redline etc. etc.
The reason I know empella is based on a simple thing: it's a dutch company. Overhere Empella is one few crossbike builders,
you see them a lot during races overhere. This should be an indication, 'cause no one is gonna ride a bike they don't like. I'm talking about the regular Joe, not mr Pro rider. In the test I mentioned they compared the Empella to a Van Tuyl( dutch), a Gazelle, a Rings( dutch bike shop) and a Cannondale. They didn't have a test winner, it was only to let people see another option to ride off-road.
The parts of the Empella were:
Empella Bonfire frame 550 mm center/ underside tt, 530mm tt
Aluminum fork
complete Campi Daytona group
TA 39/46 chainrings
Empella froglegs brakes and levers
FIR rims with Clement tubes
The rest of the parts weren't mentioned and are difficult to make out on the pic, however they were all no name brands. The bike weighed a nice 9.4 kgs, I mentioned earlier that that included the pedals but I'm not 100% sure on that.
I hope this helps you on the Tech side of your Quest for Empella,
maybe ask some other riders their opinion on the bike you mentioned and talk to people on empella. Or drop Empella an e-mail, you can find it on their website www.empella.com. And if your dutch isn't as good as Climbo's look for the contact button.

hope this helps,
Setzer
I found out!!!!Neo
May 30, 2001 2:17 PM
Hello All,
Thanks for your help. I did receive an email from the Empella factory. Their 56 cm frame weighs in at 1450 grams!

Thanks again for all your info!