RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Cyclo-Cross


Archive Home >> Cyclo-Cross(1 2 3 )


Anyone ride a Donohue?(11 posts)

Anyone ride a Donohue?kevral
Mar 20, 2001 5:04 AM
Am out looking for a new cross frame, and found this British brand--Donohue--that is way cheaper than anything built in the US. Looks to be decent quality though......anyone actually ride one?

Would be very nice to get some feedback on the quality and ride of this frame.

Thanks
re: Anyone ride a Donohue?jason r
Mar 27, 2001 1:54 AM
Kevral

check out this thread -
http://www.roadbikereview.com/message/DCForumID11/193.html#

I ordered a Donohue cyclocross bike about a month ago and it's due to be delivered shortly. If you check back with me in late April I'll have an opinion for you.

Jason
Thanks!kevral
Mar 29, 2001 1:24 PM
Yeah, I read that thread a while ago, and then couldnt find it again. It didnt mention much in the way of ride quality, though, and that is why I posted.

Would be thrilled to hear how your bike works out, guess Ill repost in a month or so :)
I doTimo Vennonen
Mar 29, 2001 8:41 PM
As I stated in the previous thread, I ride a Donohue. It's a 853 road bike though. But I can't see a reason why the cross bike wouldn't be as good too. You pick your own geometry or go along Paul's guidelines, you choose the tubeset, color...

If you're wondering about the possible differences between Donohue and US based builders, there certainly is one and that's price.

I'm just waiting for a new Donohue MTB frame and the process reminded me of my road bike purchase. I think that he really should hire somebody to take care of customer service for him. Now he seems to be terribly busy and that of course reflects into the response times for customers full of questions.
I dokilimanjaro
Apr 26, 2001 4:31 PM
Did you initially contact them via their website, e-mail, or phone? If you used their website how did you specify a cyclocross frame? I could not find it as a frame option.

If you are in the US. Do you know what they charge for shipping.

carlos
I dokilimanjaro
Apr 27, 2001 6:58 AM
You mentioned that their website is out of date. Are the prices they list similar to what you had to pay?

Thanks again,

Carlos
On Donohue, customer service and delivery timesTimo Vennonen
May 3, 2001 12:54 AM
Sorry for the time lapse - this site was down for a while and I kind of forgot it existed!

I got the steel forks with the road bike and have been happy with it so far. When I bought the bike they had only Kinesis carbons and for some reason I didn't like the idea. But I've been wondering whether you really can feel the difference between high quality steel and carbon... maybe I don't have that sensitive arms and butt.

Can't make a comment on 631 option as I haven't ridden it but it sounds like good advice to me.

There also seems to be discussion going on on Donohue's quality compared to US builders. Like I said earlier, I don't believe there really is any.

The perception can be another issue, which is greatly affected by the builder-customer interface. That includes website, brochures, e-mails, phone calls and so on. The US guys seem to have taken marketing to heart (though I didn't get a response from Steelman when I tried to contact him last year. Maybe he likes to concentrate on more local customers). It is a shame actually, because I really believe that Donohue has a good product, but there are so many things that keep on irritating me. Being in advertising myself I can see lots of possibilities - I even made some suggestions but never got any response on them. Perhaps I should mind my own business...

At the moment I'm more than pissed off because I ordered a MTB frame from him in the beginning of February and it hasn't shown up yet. Originally he said that it would take 4-5 weeks. Have been sending numerous e-mails and making a lot of calls (I've no problem with the accent) and being quite tolerant as a whole. But I should be riding in a 24h event day after tomorrow and it's beginning to look like I'll have to borrow a bike somewhere.

Cheers, Timo
On Donohue, customer service and delivery timesTimo Vennonen
May 8, 2001 7:18 AM
Isn't it kind of funny that you ordered your bike after me and I still haven't got my frame?

Sorry to hear about your difficulties. They sound too familiar to me as I heard same kind of excuses last spring when I waited for my road bike (how fast we tend to forget... here I am in the same situation again). The delivery was delayed because they didn't have the Chorus cranks in 175 mm! You wouldn't think that's so exotic piece of equipment, would you?

Well, I guess these things happen. But when you can see a pattern in it, it sure doesn't look too good. It is such a shame that you may have a good product but are lacking either will or ability to put a good customer service. Still, I kind of sympathetise the British way of doing things as opposed to the slick American marketing. Adds character... or something.

The slick way has it's good sides though. I was pretty flattered when I ordered a catalogue from Litespeed via net - and got it with a personalized letter signed with a real pen by their president! I know that the whole process is standardized, but it was a nice touch anyway. Now if they only priced their stuff so that I could justify the purchase.

I'll let you know how the MTB is, when and if it arrives.

Cheers,

Timo
On Donohue, customer service and delivery timesTimo Vennonen
May 9, 2001 12:43 AM
Hope that you get the remaining stuff soon. I really can't understand that a builder don't have the right components in stock. But then again, been there, done that.

I't would interesting to see a picture of your new ride. Why don't you post one on the pictures section?

Timo
I will.....kevral
Apr 4, 2001 4:26 PM
Yes, I was a bit worried about differing quality from US builders. The whole website, and the printed catalogue, definitely differed from US brands by not stating things like geometry (but I guess that's custom) and size-specific tubing (but I guess that can be taken for a given).
Agree on the customer service--the guy I talked to seemed none-to-interested in talking to me. 'Course, I hardly understood his accent at all, so that may all have been for the better :)

Anyway, thanks for the feedback!
re: Anyone ride a Donohue?kilimanjaro
Jun 4, 2001 9:54 PM
Anyone knows what is the U.S Import dutie for a complete bike shipped from England.

Thanks and Regards,