RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Veloce on a nice bike(9 posts)

Veloce on a nice bikebiketx
Jan 30, 2004 5:21 AM
Looking at a nice steel-frame bike, used with low miles, the kind I'd expect to see equipped with Ultegra or DA in the Shimano world. It's equipped with Veloce. Seller has good feedback, says he works in a shop and is selling it for his mechanic. http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3654476212

I don't know much about Campy, but I understand that's one of their lower-end groups. I'm kind of puzzled why a $2K frame would have a lower-end group on it, but it's a good deal, and I have an older Torelli that I've loved for 12 years and still ride occasionally, so I'm thinking about buying this new one and selling my Lemond Zurich that doesn't fit quite as well as I'd like. (Can't specifically find a problem with the fit, just always feel beat-up after riding it.)

My plan would be to eventually migrate the Veloce down to the older frame I want to build up with modern componentry, and put higher-end stuff on the newer frame. Given current finances, though, I'd need to expect to ride the bike as it is for this season. The reviews of Veloce look good in the reviews section, but it's hard to know whether the reviewers have ridden higher-end stuff. Can anyone comment on what someone used to riding Ultegra will experience with Veloce? I'm not a racer, just a strong recreational rider, but am planning to do a couple of sprint tris and my first century this year.

Also, I've got a pretty well-equipped show for working on Shimano stuff. What kind of different tools would I need if I move into the Campy world?

Thanks,

Michael
www.campyonly.com tested Velocestratoshark
Jan 30, 2004 7:00 AM
Link:

http://www.campyonly.com/roadtests/veloce_2001.html

I followed a similar plan when I bought a Daytona 10 speed-equipped bike. Daytona/Centaur is only one level up in the Campy line. I'm putting on new Record (shifters/derailleurs so far) and Chorus parts this year. The Daytona is still in great shape and only needs a right Ergopower rebuild (after 20,000 miles it's to be expected). I'll outfit a cross bike or an older steel road frame with the Daytona group. I'm totally satisfied with Daytona's performance.

Different tools will be needed for the Campy bottom bracket and cassette lockring. Since it's 9 speed Veloce, you can use a "normal" chain tool. If you move to 10 speed in the future, you will enter the Campy chain/connector/tool debate. Search this site for possibly the entire knowledge base of Campy chain-ology. It's been discussed many times.

Good luck,

stratoshark
re: Veloce on a nice bikeSpoiler
Jan 30, 2004 7:24 AM
A 2K frame has a low end group to prevent it from becomming a $5K bike. The frame is the most important part of the bike. That's the same reason the bike has Master rims instead of Zipps.
I bought a '98 Torelli with Veloce components on it. After two years, I replaced the shifters with Record carbon. The Record shifters broke within a year. The Veloce brakes, derailleurs, and seatpost are still working fine. Keep in mind, this was '98 Veloce. Newer Veloce is even better, probably as good as '00 Campy Chorus.
re: Veloce on a nice bikejnichols959
Jan 30, 2004 10:45 AM
I've been riding my Record equipped road bike for two years very consistently. I also maintain my wife's Ultegra road bike - which means fairly frequent test rides around the block and such. A couple of months ago I test rode a Gunnar Crosshairs with Veloce triple on it and was very pleasantly suprised by how well it worked. Granted this was only a 45 minute test ride but I rode it pretty hard - including climbing out of the saddle while shifting in the rear, hammering the gears while riding up and down trail sections and a fast downhill road section.

It seemed to be functionally very close to my record parts. I think the rear derailleur could have used a bit of adjusting (it felt like mine does after i replace the cables/housing and need to tweak it to get it just right) but the shift/brake levers felt very positive and I didn't notice any abnormal flex in the bottom bracket/crank (I was 180 lbs at the time). In general, I'd guess you should be able to get many seasons of good functionality out of a Veloce group with very little functional difference between it and a higher group.

Aside from the obvious ergonomic differences, my impression of the difference between Ultegra and any Campy components is that the campy shifters have a more distinct mechanical feel while the ultegra is a bit more muted with a lighter feel. Some folks prefer the Shimano feel, some the Campy feel. It seems to me that campy seems to respond a bit quicker to rear shifts but I may not have spent enough time on Ultegra to really know. There's also the issue of Campy parts tending to be repairable more than Shimano parts. This is certainly the case with the shifters - I assume that Veloce is maintainable as wel as the higher groups.

As I said I do maintenance on both campy and shimano road bikes regularly. Since it's Veloce, you won't be able to use the campy cassette/bottom bracket all-in-one tool on the bottom bracket you have. You'll apparently need a bottom bracket tool specifically for Veloce/Mirage. I haven't worked on this bottom bracket but the Campy Bottom Bracket Manual on campagnolo.com indicates that the above is true.

I'd suggest you find a Veloce equipped road bike in your area and take a spin. If it seems reasonable then go for the ebay buy. Bianchi specs Veloce on some of their road bikes like the aptly named Veloce :-)
re: Veloce on a nice bikeBonked
Jan 30, 2004 3:53 PM
i think that the biggest difference will be the campy vs. shimano shifting. my brother has a veloce, a daytona, and a record equiped bike and is fairly happy with them all. he likes the record bike the best, but that probably has to do with overall compenent choice (i.e. the frame, wheels, etc. are all "better") and not the difference between record and veloce. the only thing he seemed to notice is that the veloce wore out faster...but that was also the bike he did most of his training on so he probably had more miles on it.

the nice thing about this bike for you would be that it is campy and everything is designed to work together. unfortunately, it is 9sp, so you will have to upgrade shifters and derailleurs together but, other than that, you should be able to do a piecemeal upgrade. the 9sp hubs are the same width as 10sp, so you could even run a 10sp cassette without a new wheelset (or keep these for training wheels).

one thing i did notice is that the pictured cassette is definitely NOT a 12-32...you might want to check on the other specs on the bike. and, if you want a cassette that big, it looks like the short cage derailleur, so you may need a new one of those immediately.
re: Veloce on a nice bikebiketx
Jan 30, 2004 6:10 PM
Yeah, I had e-mailed the seller to ask about that cassette thing - it definitely didn't strike me as a 12-32. Maybe it's supposed to say 12-23 and he transposed the two. I'm also looking for some supersized pictures, but overall it looks like a decent bike. I ride 9-speed now, so going to 10 isn't that big a deal for me. The 9-speed componentry and the wheelset would eventually end up becoming a conversion kit for my 6-speed Sachs-equipped Torelli Corsa Strada from the late 80s, and then I'd probably go to 10-speed.

Thanks very much for the advice (ditto to all the others who've offered responses). I really appreciate it. I'll see how the seller responds to my questions and see what I want to do.

Regards,

Michael
One more Veloce fan...mapei boy
Jan 30, 2004 4:09 PM
I bought a Veloce triple nine-speed bike a couple of weeks ago. My other bike has 2000 Campy Chorus Ten, which I've been riding for three and a half years.

In any case, I'm extremely happy with the Veloce components. The hubs spin softly and quietly. Shifts are slightly slower than on my Chorus components, but the Veloce shifters themselves have a tactile, gentle feel that makes my Chorus shifters feel slightly abrupt and harsh. The stuff is finished to a surprisingly high standard, too. Of course, I only have about a hundred miles on my Veloce components, but they inspire a lot of confidence. They feel as if they will, like most Campy stuff, last for years and years.
Wow thats a good deal!the bull
Jan 31, 2004 8:49 AM
Nothing wrong with Veloce. I use it on one of my bikes.
Does not shift as good as Record, but hey for the price you can not beat it!
Veloce is Campy's middle rangebimini
Feb 1, 2004 11:50 AM
Mirage is the low end (stay away from that).

I have had Veloce Crank, BB, deraileur, & hubs and have been very happy with them.

Finish is not as nice as Chorus and the prts are a little heavier but other than that they are similar. Chorus has a different Crank / BB geometry and the Ergo levers have ball bearings vs. bushing. The Veloce is a shifters are a little tight at first but break in after a couple of hundred miles.

You will need different BB tool and cassette lockring tool.