RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Helmets(8 posts)

Helmetstrek5900cyclist
Jan 27, 2004 5:19 PM
do u guys think I should go with the Bell Ghissalo, Giro Pneumno, Limar F111, or the Lazer Blade. I prefer helmets that dont look big and dopey on my head and are lightweight.
re: Helmetspaa
Jan 27, 2004 7:44 PM
Depends on your priorities. Although comfort is an issue with me...exclusivity is high on my list. I've used all the helmets you've mentioned and came away with the Lazer blade. Which I'll only use for racing. I get nothing but looks and compliments during fast weekend pack rides...and that is why I also have a Limar F-105 for training. Simple and basic looking...better to have a low profile during club rides and bust out your best looking gear on raceday but that's just me. As for the Pneumo, all too common...so wait for the new Atmos model when it comes out in March. I don't particularly like the look AND fit of Bell helmets in general. Although the Ghisallo comes in nice color schemes, it looks big and dopey, on my head at least. Another helmet I recommend is the Briko Solo, you can get it on sale for $99 in some mail order catalogs. They have a unique look to it. Or try the Catlike which you can order from excel. But the one helmet I'd trade my Lazer for is the Met Stradivarius, which I can't find anywhere, even online! If anyone knows of a shop (online or otherwise) let me know, love to get my hands on one. Okay, I hope I gave you some ideas. You won't go wrong with any of those choices you mentioned...I say, if it's used by pro's, it's gotta be good!
Met helmetsinnergel
Jan 28, 2004 7:48 AM
are not available in the US. You'll have to guy one from a Euro or Aussie online store. Look in the review section for the Met. I remember there being a couple of reviews that had the website they brought them from listed.

I like the Met Strad as well. It looks great.
Met helmetsmfuchs
Jan 28, 2004 8:29 AM
http://www.cyclestuff.co.uk/store/vindex_safety.htm

Cyclestuff will ship to the USA. Met helmets included
Met helmets- highly recommended but....boneman
Jan 29, 2004 2:10 PM
Contact the shop first before ordering as they might not ship the helmet to the States, despite shipping anything else. MET has elected not to get their helmets certified under CPSC standards. It is certified to CE EN 1078, the standard to which all helmets are required to meet in the European market.

I had two big accidents last year, a complete endo going about 25 mph and landing on my head and then riding flush into the back of a parked car at over 20 mph. I wore a MET Strad in both and they at the very least saved me from a big headache and at worst, well who knows.

The Giro's don't fit me that well but the MET Strad does.
I also bought a MET Element V and rode that after the endo accident but just didn't feel as secure and got another Strad. Buy what fits and forget the fashion.
re: Helmetslyleseven
Jan 27, 2004 10:24 PM
Buy the one that fits best!! If it doesn't fit right (and everybody's head is a little different) don't buy it for looks. The Lazer Blade seems to be a bit skimpy on area of protection on the side of the head. Ghisallo fits me best, but I have used the Limar F-107 with excellent fit and work it during a horrific crash. The helmet was toast, but I am alive to write this!
If you are into fashion over function, get the one that looks best in the mirror!
re: Helmetswooden legs
Jan 27, 2004 11:36 PM
.i prefer the giro eclipse, very small with plenty of protection, lighter than the pneumo from what i hear. not as expensive, though ;|
re: HelmetsEd_at_RepartoCorse
Jan 28, 2004 2:03 PM
Check out Shain. They are new in the US, but have made helmets for other folks like Briko and maybe MET (the Mapei squad had them in their last iteration). The BK100 has some features that I've never seen before--bug screens and foam that will survive multiple hits in one accident. The helmet is light and comfortable from my trying it on at Interbike. I will have one in a couple of weeks to road test--provided the deep freeze ends here in NY.

They are also great about sponsorship--they are sponsoring my club's junior team!

The link for more info is: http://www.nexternal.com/reparto/?Target=products.asp&ProductID=578