RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Saddles(11 posts)

Saddlestrek5900cyclist
Jan 22, 2004 12:55 PM
Ive been looking at reviews but sometimes they are misleading. I cant decide between the SLR, SLK, or Aspide. People, bring on the suggestions
re: Saddlesclimbo
Jan 22, 2004 1:36 PM
sit on 'em? No way to tell what you like, saddles are WAY TOO personal, I like the SLR, it's light and comfortable for my butt, I like the back of the saddle as flat as possible, I don't like the big groove in the middle type saddles like in the SLK.
re: Saddleslaffeaux
Jan 22, 2004 2:09 PM
I agree that saddle are entirely a personal decision.

I bought an SLR in December, and I think it's very comfortable. I think the standard Flite is fine, and the SLR is more comfortable. I prefer flat as you can move your butt around more easily, which I do (forward to spin, rearward to mash).
re: SaddlesBrianU
Jan 22, 2004 9:04 PM
I bought my first Flite at a small LBS in Sicily in 1990. I have since tried various other saddles and although I love the WTB on my mtb, nothing has come close to the comfort of a Flite on my roadbike. Do you think the SLR is as comfortable on even the longer rides, such as centuries?

Brian
yesclimbo
Jan 23, 2004 5:38 AM
whatever fits you best for short rides will be the thing you need on long rides too. Basically you get the most comfortable saddle for your butt and use it all the time. I've done about 125 miles in one ride on an SLR with no problems.
Let me just hit that Brooks drum one more time.Cory
Jan 22, 2004 3:36 PM
I've probably owned at least 25 saddles, and I've never found one as comfortable as a Brooks B-17. I have them on three bikes now, and it would be five if I didn't have one bike I ride in rain and one I can't secure very well at work.
If you've ruled that out on grounds of general clunkiness, then you're pretty much on your own. As other people have noted, saddle choice is very personal, and people can have widely different opinions of the same seat.
More than just the B17Dave_Stohler
Jan 22, 2004 7:59 PM
From my experience, the B17 is probably the cheesiest Brooks saddle. The Team Pro is much, much more comfortable, and the Swift even comes with Ti rails, and weighs considerably less than other Brooks saddles.
Agree Team Pro is better made, but it's too narrow for meCory
Jan 23, 2004 8:40 PM
I have a 10-12 year old Team Pro I don't ride much anymore, and I'll agree it's more solid and better made than the B-17. If my butt were narrower, I'd probably like it more, but the wider saddle just suits my anatomy. Worth looking at a Pro, though, if you're not a Clydesdale.
Too narrow??!!Dave_Stohler
Jan 23, 2004 11:00 PM
The team pro is only 10mm narrower, 160 vs. 170 mm.

If you want width, get a Team Pro S, 177mm wide, or even a B72. Don't laugh-it's only 50g heavier!!
BrooksLeroy
Jan 22, 2004 10:43 PM
I rode the flites, flite gel, slr. I figured the saddle suffering was just part of a century ride. When I got my first Brooks Team Professional all that changed. Now I have brooks Team Pros on two road bikes, a b66 w/ springs on a cruiser, and I'm going to spring for a B17 for my work commute bike when I finish building it back up. I can't justify suffering at least at the backside. They're comfortable, have that cool retro look, and I don't care how much they weigh.
re: SaddlesKen
Jan 23, 2004 12:34 AM
I rode with the SLR 135g model for a year. I really liked the saddle until a rail broke. My guess is the rail broke because I have it pushed all the back on the seat post. Also I weigh 178lbs. I would have bought another one except I'm getting a little gun-shy when it comes to light weight equipment. (broken rear wheel rim, seatpost and now saddle) For my saddle I've bought the Aspide. Not as light or comfortable as the SLR but from my initial impressions more durable. And the looks aren't bad either.