RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


to ZIPP or not(10 posts)

to ZIPP or notssuperx10001
Jan 13, 2004 6:20 PM
I was really thinks of buying a set of ZIPP 404c wheels to ride the local crits and road races,but the reviews of these wheels are bad,and worse i cannot find anyone who hasnt had a problem with them.
any good reviews.or wheelsets that will last?
re: to ZIPP or nottorquecal
Jan 13, 2004 7:32 PM
buy the rims, have a builder you know you can trust build them up. Choose your own hubs and spokes.
re: to ZIPP or notBob1010
Jan 14, 2004 7:28 AM
I have a set of 2003 303's and ride them daily with little problems. Did have a retainer that holds the powels sp? together in the rear hub go bad but customer service was good and they sent a couple out to me right away. I would definitely buy another set of Zipps.
re: to ZIPP or notMShaw
Jan 14, 2004 9:54 AM
All I gotta say is H3ll Yes!

I have 2.5 pair of Zipps and really love them. If you're wondering, I have a pair of track 404s, a track rear 340, and a new road pair of 404s.

VERY fast wheels. The 404s are faster than the 303s.

Mike
re: to ZIPP or notSquint
Jan 14, 2004 11:02 AM
I think we need to distinguish between the clincher and tubular versions with the former being much newer. The tubular versions have been around for awhile and refined over the years.

I'll probably get a pair of 404 tubular rims for this season. I have a set of King hubs that I'll probably build them to.
re: to ZIPP or notssuperx10001
Jan 14, 2004 6:28 PM
i guess I'll get a set a try them out,everyone agrees that there fast!!!!!!!
re: to ZIPP or notmjbmx5
Jan 14, 2004 9:42 PM
I also have alot of money "invested" in Zipp's. 4 different pairs of different ages & types. I have had problems with my 303 clincher rims cracking and they are not as light as advertized. So I would not buy any clincher Zipps but the tubulars have been OK. From what I here the Reynolds Stratus is the wheel to get.
re: to ZIPP or notMShaw
Jan 16, 2004 8:36 AM
Those Reynolds wheels sure do look good... Too bad I don't know anyone over there well enough to schmooze them!

Mike
ReynoldsSquint
Jan 16, 2004 11:31 AM
Yeah, but I think you have to remove the tire to true the wheel. Not an easy task if they're tubulars...
That's why I have Zipps... Ease of use. (well sorta: tubies) nMShaw
Jan 17, 2004 2:46 PM