RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Advice needed on headset spacers for CF steerer(12 posts)

Advice needed on headset spacers for CF steererglia
Jan 11, 2004 6:42 PM
I am installing a new Specialized C4 full carbon fork (1 1/8) on a Specialized S-Works E5 bike. In order to get a proper fit with the Deda Mag00 stem that I have I need to put 45mm spacers under the stem. I know this has been discussed before but how risky is it to stack this high? Does it make a difference whether I use one 40mm and one 5 or 2X 20mm and one 5 regarding stability? What's the worst case scenario? Any riders out there who actually have a 40-45mm stack (or even higher) on the very fork I am talking about? Thanks for your advice.
Why dont you flip the stem?the bull
Jan 11, 2004 7:01 PM
That way you will get some rise, without adding a bunch of spacers.
Why dont you flip the stem?glia
Jan 12, 2004 6:17 AM
The Deda Mag00 looks strange when flipped. Also has an extra lip on the upper side for the top cap. Yes, I could get a different stem as suggested and may do just that if necessary, but was hoping to get some more input first. My weight is 156 lbs and I do most of my climbing seated.
re: Advice needed on headset spacers for CF steerernoupi
Jan 11, 2004 7:25 PM
I don't think the size of the spacers will make much of a difference, the fulcrum point is still at the head set.
45mm is quite a bit of spacer hight.
I would look at different stem. I have the deda newton 31-86
wich when flipped gives you a 24mm bar rise.
Also if you weight 145 lbs then its less critical.
poor planning...C-40
Jan 12, 2004 6:26 AM
I always advise folks to check out the head tube length and figure out a useable stem/spacer combination before buying a frame.

4.5cm is more spacer than recommended by any manufacturer for a carbon steerer.

The Mag00 stem apparently is not designed to be flipped to a higher angle, like most other stems. A Deda Newton has the same angle and it can be flipped to a 98 degree angle, which will raise the bars about 3cm, greatly reducing the spacers.
more....C-40
Jan 12, 2004 6:32 AM
Although you may think that the high-rise stem looks strange, it will produce a more rigid setup and shouldn't look worse than a huge stack of spacers.

If you do flip an 80 or 82 degree stem, the reach of the stem is reduced by about 10mm, but removing 3cm of spacer increases the reach by 10mm, so the two changes cancel each other.
Flipping a Deda Mag is a no no.MR_GRUMPY
Jan 12, 2004 1:18 PM
The Deda Mag stem is one of those stems that is "stupid light" Read the instructions that came with it.
Ps. you might want to change it every 6 months.
A Deda Mag is a no no.the bull
Jan 12, 2004 4:50 PM
I would not trust any stem that can't be flipped.I am glad I am not a weight weenie.
A Deda Mag is a no no.glia
Jan 12, 2004 6:22 PM
We'll for those with more opinion than experience, the Deda Mag00 can be flipped and works well. However, the logo is upside down but otherwise the stem is fine. No mention in the instructions. Stupid light...? Just like with everything light including carbon bars, seatpost etc. It's very well made and has held up very nicely thus far for well over 6 months. Hold it next to the competition and you know what you pay for. Very nice machining with concealed holes.
To answer my own question above I called Specialized and 40mm of spacers is fine with their fork. Lets close this chapter before this drift off into the non-productive arena. Thank you all!
as we often learnlaffeaux
Jan 12, 2004 8:06 PM
There's a fine line between fact and opinion.
ahhhh!the bull
Jan 13, 2004 6:42 PM
re: Advice needed on headset spacers for CF steererirregardless
Jan 13, 2004 11:41 AM
Don't use that many spacers. Worst case is exactly what you think, broken steerer just below the stem. Another alternative is to buy a carbon fork with a steel steerer. Reynold Ouzo Comps run about $125 on ebay. Not ideal, but neither is that frame size.