RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


WD-40 Back up chain lube(22 posts)

WD-40 Back up chain lubetrek5900cyclist
Jan 2, 2004 6:15 PM
I have a large club ride later in the day tommorow and I am going to use my older back up LeMond. The problem is the chain and castete need lubed up (them be soundin bad). I dont have time to go out and get some since I got some other stuff to do. Will this idea work?
Look down! There are two threads on this page talking bout wd-40russw19
Jan 2, 2004 6:45 PM
re: WD-40 Back up chain lubeLeroy
Jan 2, 2004 7:18 PM
Why not just use some light oil, like '3 in 1' ?
Try using dish detergent.Dave_Stohler
Jan 2, 2004 7:30 PM
It'll do the same thing for your chain (namely wreck it.) WD-40 is a solvent, just like mineral spirits, gasoline, and acetone. You'd be better off just p!ssing on the chain.

If you're in a real pinch, maybe mix a small amt of WD with some motor oil-maybe that'll give you some lubrication, but don't expect much. Chainsaw lube, 3-in-1, and sewing machine oil all would be better ideas. If none of these are available, maybe running the chain without addin anything would be better.
nonesense...C-40
Jan 3, 2004 7:36 AM
WD-40 contains solvents and a light oil. It won't hurt a thing to use for one day.
I’ve never seen a worse bunch of recommendations...TFerguson
Jan 3, 2004 10:03 AM
WD-40 contains no significant lubrication – none. Why does this keep coming up?

3-in-1 oil (sewing machine oil) is linseed oil. It is used by some wheel builders as a loctite. It will lubricate for a day or so and then turn into a gum, but you better really wash the chain before three days.

Without anything would be disastrous. Even water (or piss as one suggests) has some lubrication – about as much as WD-40.

The best idea here (and one that will work fine) is a mix of WD-40 and motor oil, which the poster does not recommend. This is, essentially, "home brew" with a slightly different carrier. The motor oil (or the lighter chain saw lube) is a very good lubricant.

If nothing else, just pull out you dip stick from your car engine and let a few drops fall on the chain. It will be a mess, but it will be lubricated.

TF
This whole WD-40 thing is kind of funny...Nessism
Jan 3, 2004 11:37 AM
Lets see, in the past week this board has had people post the following regarding WD-40:

- WD-40 has no lubricant
- WD-40 has a "light lubricant"
- WD-40 is kerosene
- WD-40 does not lubricate but leaves a "residue" which attracts dust/dirt and subsequently causes undue wear of moving parts on the bike

Not being one to hold back my opinion...I think WD-40 is great stuff. Doesn't lubricate much, but won't hurt either unless one bears down with the spray nozzle and blasts away the oil/grease between the moving parts. Works great as a degreaser also.

As far as chain lubrication in a pinch goes, the engine oil trick sounds like the best idea, just drip a little on and ride away.

As always, just my $.02 (and some will say over priced at that).

Ed
#1 and #3 are the same. (nm)TFerguson
Jan 3, 2004 12:44 PM
WD-40 is a great personal lubricantpedalAZ
Jan 3, 2004 1:52 PM
I found that it was very good at getting old, rusty bits loosened up and ready to use again, and got no complaints from the other components encountered. Plus, it showers off with a little soap and elbow grease.

- Tongue Firmly in Cheek
wrong....C-40
Jan 3, 2004 8:40 PM
Read the MSDS sheets from the WD-40 website. WD-40 is 30-35% oil.

3-in-1 oil is not linseed oil, it's a napthenic oil, according to the MSDS.
3-in1, my bad. What does the MSDS say for Kerosene? nmTFerguson
Jan 4, 2004 4:36 PM
Be careful on reading an MSDSKerry Irons
Jan 4, 2004 6:35 PM
If you let WD-40 evaportate, you will see only a filmy residue. That is a long way from "30-35% oil." The problem with an MSDS is that it is focused on safety and injury preventtion, having very little to do with composition in the normal terms. The definition of "oil" in this case is vague. As a lubricant, WD-40 doesn't even make the "maybe" list.
don't agree....C-40
Jan 5, 2004 6:28 AM
Unless you've done an accurate test with a substantial volume of WD-40, you're comments are completely unsubstantiated. Although the MSDS does not specify the TYPE of oil, when is oil, not oil?

MSDS sheets are an important product liability documment. People responsible for the proper use and disposal of chemicals rely on them extensively. Many large companies will not allow a product to be used in there facility until the MSDS information is reviewed and approved by the companies' internal health and safety department or an engineering consultant. A company that falsifies imformation on an MSDS sheet could suffer major liability claims. Accurate disclosure of all product contents is a LARGE part of insuring health and safety. Failure to disclose a hazardous ingredient may cause serious injuries.
I totally dissagree also,...(rant, sorry)TFerguson
Jan 5, 2004 7:57 AM
A MSDS is entirely a legal document for the purpose of giving the company writing it a stronger position in court. As a ChemE, I found them to be extremely vague or way too specific whenever is serves the purpose of company liability.

TF
OK, but....C-40
Jan 5, 2004 11:05 AM
Would you suspect a company to include false information with regard to the product contents, such as the percentage of volatile solvents and oil? An MSDS will not reveal a proprietary formula, but it must contain enough information for the user to understand the hazards of the product being used.

You need to admit that you're wrong about WD-40 not containing any oil. If you don't believe it, spray some into a container and wait a day for the solvent to evaprorate. Oil will remain.
What I said was...TFerguson
Jan 5, 2004 1:56 PM
"WD-40 contains no significant lubrication – none."
I stand by it. I grew up on a river and did a lot of fishing in a rowboat. When the oars squeaked in the locks, I would just splashed them with water. They would quit squeaking for about a minute. Lubrication, yes; significant, no

Furthermore, the company would include what a chemist would call "false information with regard to the product contents" if they had reason and thought they could get away with it. For instance, say there is no LEGAL definition of "oil". I've seen chemists who know the ingredients of proprietary products, just shake their heads when they see the MSDS.

TF
easily proven WRONG....C-40
Jan 5, 2004 5:46 PM
I sprayed some WD-40 in a small cup and waited a day for the solvent to evaporate. There IS a significant amount of oil in the cup. I know for a fact that WD-40 contains a SIGNIFICANT amount of oil.
You're right Kerry, MSDS = total BSpitt83
Jan 5, 2004 12:10 PM
Here's the MSDS for Sodium Chloride.

http://www.catalogue.fisher.co.uk/scripts/search.dll?ViewMSDS&SheetNumber=21105

Obviously written by lawyers and not information for chemists. You're supposed to wear a respirator to clean up spills? Good one. Advice on how to put out small fires? Let's see that one!
Not total bsGiant_Tom
Jan 5, 2004 2:03 PM
Ever work with large amounts of salt?? Like truck loads?? The dust is nasty. Yes, it's table salt, but it's also used in different forms to de-ice roads and control dust on gravel roads in some areas. I'm not a chemist or anything that smart but these sheets are at least helpful for those people who handle large quantities.
So what's the alternative?Spoke Wrench
Jan 4, 2004 8:20 AM
At the risk of running afoul of the WD-40 police, AGAIN, I'd say that while certainly not my first choice, a less-than-ideal lubricant is better than none. Your chain is eventually going to wear out whether you lubricate it with WD-40 or (name your preferred product here).
Yep, and..Al1943
Jan 4, 2004 9:59 AM
If the chain has some gunky old oil on it adding WD-40 could be a good thing, certainly won't hurt for a ride or two.
Better than nothing at all!the bull
Jan 4, 2004 7:27 PM
So lube her up boys!!!
She is good for one day!
So is this sexy little cowgirl that just popped up on my screen!