RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


I need a new carbon seatpost. Suggestions? NM(15 posts)

I need a new carbon seatpost. Suggestions? NMbikefreax
Jan 1, 2004 10:39 AM
NOT EC-70 Eastonpitt83
Jan 1, 2004 12:50 PM
Mine had the head snap off in dramatic fashion. Almost speared the wedding tackle.

Been happy with the Deda blackstick which replaced the Easton.
re: I need a new carbon seatpost. Suggestions? NM7ti
Jan 1, 2004 1:45 PM
You might want to check Seven Cycles. They have a carbon seatpost that is warranted for life. I decided to go with the Seven post after my Campy Record carbon post & seat clamp cracked. So far, so good.
Record carbon post6was9
Jan 1, 2004 1:50 PM
I like my Campy Record Carbon posts. I think they have the easiest/simplest saddle adjustment mechanism(just one bolt.) So far very solid. Mines are 03. I am not all that sure about all carbon saddle mounting bits of 04 model though.

I wanted to try a Selcof post but I hear that they have some cracking problems.

USE posts are supposedly good but have very complicated and difficult saddle mount/ adjustments.

I have a Look ergo post 2 Ti on order to try on my Look frame; I'll see how it'll work out.
Another opinionNessism
Jan 1, 2004 3:18 PM
The reviews section of this site is full of people complaining about broken Record seat posts. While mine didn't break, yet, it does creak like a mutha. Very poor value in my opinion. FYI, to see if my frame was creak prone, I tried an old Ritchey seat post and didn't hear a peep.

I've never tried one but you might want to check out the Alpha Q / True Temper carbon post. Alpha Q has a good reputation with carbon and the post is only $65 or so. I might try one next to replace the Campy.

Good luck.

Ed
'04 Record carbon post specsflakey
Jan 1, 2004 6:19 PM
Starting in '03 Campy increased the wall thickness of their shorter 250mm Record seatpost because they were cracking very easily. All years of the longer posts, and the newer shorter post, have the increased wall thickness so cracking should not be a problem anymore.

As far as the new mounting pieces go The '04 Record post has a carbon composite top piece. The bottom is still alloy, but it is coated or anondized in black.

For '04 the Record and Chorus posts have saddle clamps with a finer adjustment on the pitch of the notches. It used to be .1mm it is now .05mm
That makes sense...6was9
Jan 1, 2004 6:27 PM
Cuz none of mine have cracked so far.
That makes sense...rogue_CT1
Jan 1, 2004 11:04 PM
I have the 350mm Record post and I've never had a problem with it after 6,000+ miles and I weigh 215 lbs.
MaxmpedalAZ
Jan 1, 2004 3:08 PM
Not too expensive, 2 color schemes (blue/silver and red/orange), and either 27.2 or 31.6 diameter. If you are a gram counter, they both come as 400mm length, and you will be tempted to cut off the excess length. Weight is 220-225 grams uncut.

There are 2 things I really like about these. One is the one-bolt saddle clamp, easy to adjust and with a nice load spreading grip on the rails. Two is the patented Isogrid tubing, which is stronger than a typical carbon tube of the same size.
re: I need a new carbon seatpost. Suggestions? NMseyboro
Jan 1, 2004 4:01 PM
Stella Azzurra Monza. Looks great, doesn't slip, creak, break or crack. Plus, italo-phile style points out the roof...
re: I need a new carbon seatpost. Suggestions? NM6was9
Jan 1, 2004 6:13 PM
Where did you get yours? I haven't seen any so far.
re: I need a new carbon seatpost. Suggestions? NMseyboro
Jan 2, 2004 4:55 AM
My LBS got mine, ordered them from Euro-Asia Imports, I believe. You can also get them at Tiramisu/England. Their price is $138.-.
Here's an address: www.tiramisu.co.uk/stelladetail.php?productid=st12
re: I need a new carbon seatpost. Suggestions? NMrussw19
Jan 2, 2004 6:50 PM
Jesus H! That's US wholesale.

If they have them in stock at that price, get it!

Hawley Sales (East Coast Stella Azzurra Distributor) is out of stock and even so, they have the wholesale price like 3 dollars less. So even if you have to pay more for overseas shipping from the UK, that's an amazing price.

Russ
what's wrong w/ aluminum?colker1
Jan 2, 2004 11:51 AM
besides being light, reliable, cheap (relatively) and silent? like a thomson w/setback?
I agree...lyleseven
Jan 3, 2004 5:39 PM
Aluminum is the only way to go. I agree with Thomson setback also.
Carbon is very prone to seize and then you have to try to extract it without trashing your seat tube! Anyone who says they can tell the difference between the ride of a carbon seatpost and a good aluminum post is living in lala land....