RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Stem Bar Combos(10 posts)

Stem Bar CombosAsiago
Dec 29, 2003 11:38 AM
I am equipping out a new frame for this season's racing and have narrowed my stem bar combo down to three choices:

Bontrager Race Stem/Bar
3T Zepp Stem/Prima Bar
Easton EA70 Stem/Bar

I run the Zepp/Prima combo on one of my other bikes and have no complaints. In fact, I love the combo, though, I might like something a little stiffer to race on. This combo is also the lightest of the three, but none of the weights are excessive so as to be a factor in this choice.

Right now I can get an absolute killer deal on the Easton combo so that currently is my first choice. Anybody out there want to comment on these? Never used an Easton product before.

The Bontrager is heaviest and cheapest, though only $10 cheaper than the Easton combo.

Thoughts?

Asiago
re: Stem Bar Combosrogue_CT1
Dec 29, 2003 12:18 PM
I vote to stay far away from the 3T. The Ti bolts holding the face plate on mine broke causing me to crash last year. Afterwords I found that 3T recalled the stem.
Non-recall Zepps are nice.Fez
Dec 29, 2003 8:33 PM
I have ridden the Zepps that were not affected by the recall. They are nice.

I had the standard diameter Zepp and it was very solid and made no noise.

I also had the oversize Zepp XL with a matching oversize 3T bar. Worked fine. The only downside was I couldn't mount my computer and HRM like I could on the std diam bars.

The recalled stems were mainly found on OEM Cannondales.
re: Stem Bar Combosrussw19
Dec 29, 2003 4:09 PM
Of those 3 I would get the Easton. I can get the Bonty stuff free from where I work, and I still won't ride it. It's nice, but not that nice. (But then again, free is free...) I wouldn't use it on my good bikes, but maybe on a commuter bike.

My personal favorite combo is the Deda Newton stem with the Magic bar. The Newton and Magic stems are nearly the same weight, but the Magic is much cheaper and has a 2 bolt face plate, the Newton is about 8 grams lighter with a 4 bolt plate. The big difference is the bars... the Magic is about 30 grams heavier, but much stronger and stiffer and half the price. On Deda sponsored pro teams the Magic was the most requested bar last season... even more so than the carbon bar. More pros wanted a safe solid aluminium bar than anything else. Look into the combo, it's nice.

Russ
re: Stem Bar CombosAsiago
Dec 30, 2003 7:00 AM
I did check into the Deda bar/stems, but eliminated them as they tended to have a higher complaint ratio. That is why the list was of the above 3. I really like my Zepp/Prima combo on my litespeed but the Easton deal is so good that it is currently my first choice for this bike, which will be my race bike and not an ultralight weight-weenie bike... though it isn't going to be heavy by any means!

Asiago
re: Stem Bar Combosinnergel
Dec 30, 2003 7:12 AM
I've heard a few stories about carbon bars breaking in crashes. One of the guys at my lbs said he saw a set of Easton bars snap off on both sides of the stem in a crash. This might be something to think about if you are going to be racing crits with this setup.

All that being said, I like the look and feel of those Easton bars a lot. If I could have gotten a better deal when I replaced my bars/stem last year, I would have gone with it. But I do like my 3T Forgie XL combo.
EA70s are aluminum, not carbon. nmAsiago
Dec 30, 2003 9:14 AM
Tell me good things about Dedamorkm
Dec 30, 2003 1:16 PM
I was very interested in going to a Deda combo for bar/stem, but all the bad reviews on the Deda Newton stem put me off...but a whole LOT of pros are using them. So, have Deda fixed the problem with stripped threads or not? Anyone in the know care to tell?

thanks
Tell me good things about Dedarussw19
Dec 31, 2003 5:41 PM
I replied to your above question as well, but it's not Deda's problem with stripped bolts... it's the problem of too many home mechanics and unskilled shop mechanics who don't seem to understand that there are torque limits to a harder bolt going into a softer stem. Too tight and you strip the aluminium right out of the stem.

Pros love the Deda stuff because they have skilled mechanics putting their stuff together. Skilled mechanics with Torque Wrenches who know how to use them.

Russ
I should have read the desc. more closely (nm)innergel
Dec 30, 2003 2:30 PM