RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Wax on raw titanium frames? Any recommendations? nm(22 posts)

Wax on raw titanium frames? Any recommendations? nmhdnoise
Dec 27, 2003 2:19 PM
re: Wax on raw titanium frames? Any recommendations? nm12x23
Dec 27, 2003 2:28 PM
I use Lemon Pledge on a polished and a brushed Litespeed. Works well for me.
None - Windex only. (nm)TFerguson
Dec 27, 2003 3:39 PM
re: Wax on raw titanium frames? Any recommendations? nmseyboro
Dec 27, 2003 4:05 PM
Really tough spots-> rubbing alcohol. All others-> Pedro's/Wrench Force Bike Lust. Works like a charm.
WD-40Nessism
Dec 27, 2003 5:02 PM
Spray some WD-40 on a rag and wipe it down. Disolves chain lube spatter and grime. Leaves behind a very very light coating of oil - not enough to be messy though. Been using it for years and haven't found a downside.

Good luck.

Ed
WD-40 is <b><i>evil</i> !!!</b> (nm)Dave_Stohler
Dec 27, 2003 8:02 PM
Downside:Fez
Dec 27, 2003 8:17 PM
There is absolutely no reason to use WD40 as a cleaner for the tubes on a Ti frame. It leaves a very messy and oil residue that will just attract lots of road dust and grime. In addition, WD40 would just pick up fingerprints and leave a mess. Very poor choice for cleaning the frame. If you really have to use it, use soap and water to clean all the residue off.

Any household cleaner or even the soap/water/paper towel route will clean the dirt off the frame. Auto wax can add the final touch, or Lemon Pledge, which actually has no wax but gives a good shine. Just keep the spray off your tires and rims.
Try it, you'll like it!Nessism
Dec 27, 2003 9:56 PM
My cleaning routine is as follows:

- Wash the bike with soap and water using a paint brush and simple green. I try not to contaminate the brush with too much with the chain mess.

- Wipe dry

- Spray WD-40 on a rag and wipe down the crank, cogs, chain, derailleurs, etc. until their clean.

- Lastly, using a clean rag, wipe down the frame using a WD-40 wettened rag. Don't use too much spray or it will be messy to handle. Just a little goes a long way.

I've been using this method on my Ti frames for years with no downside. WD-40 is about 98% solvent which quickly evaporates leaving only a very light oil coat. Said oil coat helps clean-up the next time. I wouldn't bring the bike inside the house and lean it up against your wifes white linen drapes, but it will be plenty clean for just about anything else you would want to do with it.

Good luck.

Ed
Maybe not...Fez
Dec 28, 2003 9:51 AM
Maybe you should try the other guys' recommendations and see if it works better than your methods.

THe WD40 residue you speak of does not make clean up easier next time. It actually draws more dust in than if did not have the residue. The fact that it is oily and wipes off may make you think it makes cleaning easier the next time, but if your frame was dry it would not have attracted the dust in the first place.

And using WD40 on chains and cogs is suspect because
1) it attracts more dust like I said earlier.
2) WD40 is mostly solvent and little or no lubricant, so it removes lubrication that you painstakingly put on your chain and drivetrain.

Try it the other guys' methods and compare to yours.

And Pledge or autowax keeps it clean with almost no residue. When it gets dirty, the dirt slides off easier.

WD40 is good for getting off rust or penetrating stuck or frozen threads. I always clean off and grease afterwards.
Make up your mindNessism
Dec 28, 2003 1:03 PM
Fez,
First you say WD-40 leave a residue which "draws more dust in...", then you say that "WD-40 is mostly solvent and little or no lubricant...".

Actually I think you had it right the second time, WD-40 IS mostly solvent with little or no lubricant. Because of this, it leaves little, or no, residue afterward. I don't slather the stuff on, just a light spray on a clean cloth. The very, very slight residue left over does not attract a significant amount of dust, and frankly, probably doesn't help with clean-up the next time enough to matter (I concede this point).

When my bike gets dirty it's not from "dust" but rather from road grime, water spray, sweat, chain lube spatter, etc. Dust is the least of my worries.

As I stated in my last post, using WD-40 works great to clean off chain lube mess; it cuts right through oil based chain lubes quickly and easily so I don't have to keep around any additional solvents in the shop. It does not leave much of a residue so dust attraction is a moot point. Using my cleaning method, you only need two chemicals to clean; soap and WD-40.

I say, use what you like. There is nothing wrong with wax. My point is to keep it simple. WD-40 works great to clean off chain mess and keeps Ti frames looking fresh and clean with a minimum of fussing about.

Ok, done now. Enough already.

Ed
WD-40 is kerosene. If you also want to lubricate...TFerguson
Dec 28, 2003 1:53 PM
use #2 fuel oil (diesel fuel). And don't use either on your Ti frame.

TF
Minor DistinctionFez
Dec 28, 2003 8:43 PM
The residue it leaves behind is not that easy to clean off. I have wiped off WD40 with a clean cloth several times and I still find trace amounts left behind. The only way I can completely get it off is with soap and water and then a final towel dry.

Prior discussions about WD40 have had some people say it contains little or no lubricant. Don't confuse the amt of oily residue with lubricant.

To further add to the confusion, the can says it "lubricates."
Website calls it a "Light Lubricant"russw19
Dec 29, 2003 2:34 AM
http://www.wd40.com/Brands/wd40_faqs.html

It also says that it contains no kerosene like someone here claimed.

But for all the cleaning and lubricating properties of WD-40, whatever they are or are not, it is most simply a water displacer. In fact, that's what the WD means in the name.

I wouldn't say it's that bad to clean things with, but I would relubricate my bike's moving parts with a teflon based lube after cleaning with this stuff if I used it.

Also, keep in mind that they say WD-40 will remove stickers from your bike. So if you are using it to clean your frame and your stickers are not under a clearcoat, they may peel off in the process of your cleaning.

Russ
re: Wax on raw titanium frames? Any recommendations? nmJuanmoretime
Dec 28, 2003 4:33 AM
I use a Turtle Wax product callled Express Shine. It comes in a pump spray bottle and use it on both my bicycles and my Harley. I wipe down everything except the tires, brake pads and brake surface on the rims. I also spray it on a clean rag, not directly on the frame.
I like Ti because you don't have to wax it. nmbsdc
Dec 28, 2003 6:47 AM
Windex for cleaning, Lemon Pledge for the shine, and fresh smelldavet
Dec 28, 2003 9:31 AM
Thank y'all. Windex/lemon pledge it is!hdnoise
Dec 28, 2003 11:37 AM
It's free from the house cleaning cabinet... I agree with the WD40 observations about attracting dust/grime by the way, for what another opinion is worth...it's not a finish, it's a solvent/lubricant and the lubricant factor, diluted tho it is, does not dry - which is of course by design.

Thanks again.
The true beauty of Titanium:4bykn
Dec 28, 2003 1:54 PM
You don't
i have
to keep it clean!
The true beauty of Titanium:Gripfer
Dec 28, 2003 5:04 PM
How about the rough (matte? sand blasted?) finish like on Airborne Zeppelin? Don't think it needs wax, but what to clean?
The true beauty of Titanium:4bykn
Dec 29, 2003 6:07 AM
I use simple green if it's really dirty, otherwise soap and water for cleaning. Towel dry, and then Pledge sprayed on a rag will leave a nice finish.

Incidentally, how could you tell that photo was a Zep'? I've also toyed with the idea of Scotch-Briting my frame (2001 Zeppelin) to give it a smoother finish, I did a small part of my left chainstay and it looks nice.
Here's how one could tell...Fez
Dec 29, 2003 8:09 AM
What kind of finish did it originally have? If it was brushed but getting a tad dull, then you could Scotchbrite it. But if it originally had that dull satin finish, I'm not sure how it would turn out.

Doing the entire frame could be a challenge since its hardest to do the areas where the tubes meet, since the brush pattern is circumferential around each tube. You might end up with a two colored finish.
Here's how one could tell...Gripfer
Dec 29, 2003 10:21 PM
I couldn't tell it was a Zepp. Just used that example because that's what my wife has that I can't seem to keep looking sharp. Yes, it's my job and I don't mind.