RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Any opinions re cadence cyclocomputers?(9 posts)

Any opinions re cadence cyclocomputers?lyleseven
Dec 14, 2003 10:11 AM
Appreciate input on the various cyclocomputers which record cadence. Any better than the others?
Several choices........Len J
Dec 14, 2003 3:46 PM
1.) Wired. I'd recommend CatEye Astrale. Simple, bulletproof, I've used this for several years.

2.) Wireless. I think both CatEye & Sigma have models.

3.) Integrated with HRM.. I have a Polar 710 which I move between bikes. I have cadence (wireless) on my fixed gear. Easy to use, works well. Allows you to download ride info to computer log. Only downside is that I don't like the way the cadence pickup looks on the downtube.

4.) Virtual Cadence. If you use Shimano Flight deck compatible, the flight deck wireless is the cleanest computer I've ever had. The only potential downside is that it is not actual cadence, it's virtual cadence. You enter the gear clusters you are using and as you shift, the computer knows what gear you are in. Since it also knows your speed, it can calculate the cadence necessary in X gear to give you y speed. Some people don't like this. Since I know when I am on top of a gear, I think it is great.

Len
I've used Cateye Astrales last 8 years. (nm)Al1943
Dec 14, 2003 4:39 PM
Thanks for the feedbacklyleseven
Dec 14, 2003 5:49 PM
Thanks for the input; was leaning toward Cateye Astrale 8, not sure about wireless and their reliability.
CatEye Astrale: Does rain affect cadence feature?The Don
Dec 15, 2003 10:10 AM
I have a new (old model - wired) Astrale I bought for $17. The reviews on this site complained about the lack of cadence pickup in the rain. However, I found it worked just fine, even though I was riding wet roads on Saturday. Can't beat it for the price.
CatEye Astrale: rain effectChen2
Dec 15, 2003 11:33 AM
It's common to have speedometer problems in the rain when the contacts between the computer and its mount get wet. I don't remember if my cadence quit also. The problem can be avoided by covering the computer with a baggy.
Second on the CatEye Astralekomatiite
Dec 15, 2003 6:19 PM
I have been riding with one for about 2 years now and love it. I have had only one incident where only the cadence feature stopped working due to a rainstorm. And for only $18, it was a heck of a deal.
rain has never effected me, but mud haslaffeaux
Dec 15, 2003 11:41 AM
I have Astrales on my CX and road bikes, and highly recommend it. I've never had a problem with the computer in rain, but I had had trouble having the pickup rotate too far from the magnet when I've kicked it (during CX dismounts), or covered it in mud during CX races.

The only caution with an Astrale is if you ride with a Camelback, be careful that you don't place the Camelback on your bars and reset the computer. Several times while rummaging through my Camelback, I've accidently reset the computer. The Sigma computers are better in this aspect, but more difficult to cycle through their functions while riding.
You might want to checkout Specialized Computers.GeoCyclist
Dec 14, 2003 10:36 PM
I use a Specialized SpeedZone Pro computer. The speed is wireless, but the cadence is wired. The computer is very reliable and easy to use, and the battery life is good. I really like the inclinometer function (percent grade). There are two new Specialized computers out for 2004, and I'm thinking about getting one; as the new model will give you average cadence and highest cadence for a ride. Check out the Specialized website for more.