RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


poll: what pedals are you on?(21 posts)

poll: what pedals are you on?colker1
Nov 27, 2003 1:16 PM
i'm on mtb impacts, want to change but i'm reluctant.. i checked the reviews and people have such trouble with either looks, shimano or campy. besides, there's always the ghost of knee pain to haunt us all.
re: poll: what pedals are you on?Eric_H
Nov 27, 2003 1:48 PM
Time Impact Mag/Ti on one bike, Time Impact Mag on another, and Time Equipe Pro Mag on my winter bike. Sidi shoes, Ergo 1 with the Impact and Shadow with the Equipe.

I have used Time pedals for the last 8 years, quite happily and injury-free. I like the rotational and lateral float. The Impact pedals feel just like the older Equipe pedals, only smaller and lighter and the rotation is perhaps a little smoother with less resistance as well.
that's where i'm leaning to:colker1
Nov 27, 2003 2:13 PM
time. that's what i ride also.. only it's their mtb's.
my gut feelings tell me only time pedals (i like the look of the old ones as well) will work for me.
thing is: i commute a lot on my road bike and don't plan to have 2 due to lack of space at home. can you walk wiht those impact cleats?
Impact walkabilityEric_H
Nov 27, 2003 2:40 PM
Yes, you can walk on the Impact cleats. Much easier than the old Equipes, in fact. I was reminded of this after I started using my old Equipes on my rain/winter bike and I nearly crashed on a tile floor the first time I walked in them. That big old brass Equipe cleat does not offer much traction!

The rear of the Impact cleat has two plastic bumpers that contact the ground, protecting the actual part of the cleat that engages with the pedal. I used one pair of cleats from April until mid-November, mostly for racing and training, and the condition of the plastic bumpers did not deteriorate too much. They could easily take another 6 months.

Not to use this board as a sales marketplace....but....I have a pair of Time Impact pedals, new in box, for sale. They are the base model Time Impacts, with an aluminum body and steel spindle. The main difference is that the base model pedals lack the adjustable Q-factor and spring tension. However, I never adjusted either of these on the higher end pedals. They were going to be my winter bike pedals, but I decided to use an older pair of shoes and Time Equipes. Let me know if you are interested: ericharv at shaw dot ca (spam protected phonetic spelling).
Impact walkabilitycolker1
Nov 27, 2003 3:57 PM
sent the email
white carbon look cx6 nmdaman4886
Nov 27, 2003 2:37 PM
Speedplay X-1, or X-2's...zero85ZEN
Nov 27, 2003 3:06 PM
Primary concern about walkability on road pedals is not going to lead you to the best pedals for RIDING. Speedplay X series are the best for preventing knee problems. Great pedals. Simple and elegant design. Post this question under General Discussion and you will get a lot more feedback.
PP96, PP196, PP247....... Black cleats........................nmMR_GRUMPY
Nov 27, 2003 4:15 PM
Speedplay X-1 (nm)Al1943
Nov 27, 2003 6:28 PM
Old look pp196 on winter/rain bike pp206 on the nice 1...Tom C
Nov 27, 2003 9:34 PM
I came from the Campy SL pedal era so I just don't like the banana peel feel of red cleats and use the black or fixed ones.
Time ATAC's. I like 'em so far.AJS
Nov 27, 2003 10:05 PM
The pedals I had before these were Campy Chorus Pro-Fit. Good pedals also, but for my CX rig the ATAC's are the tits in mud. No knee pain either.
re: poll: what pedals are you on?Kiwi Rider
Nov 28, 2003 12:09 AM
Campy Record Pro-Fit Plus, not bad pedals, I like them, look great, so do new Time Impacts though

Kiwi Rider
Ultegra SPDAndy M-S
Nov 28, 2003 5:20 AM
These are the older, Ultegra/600 style single-sided small-cleat pedals. I've had very little trouble with them, and I wear a size 13 shoe and have never had hot-foot issues, if that's a concern.
Nashbar Tourmalet SPDdgangi
Nov 28, 2003 5:48 AM
I have both an MTB and a road bike and I wanted to make sure my cleats were compatible with both. Since my MTB uses SPD pedals, I needed an SPD pedal for the road bike.

After doing a lot of research, I came upon these pedals. They are wicked light (260g), cheap, look great, and work very well! For the money I spend I could not be happer. I put over 600 miles on these pedals (including a 180 mile weekend ride) and they have worked flawlessly so far.

If you are used to the SPD pedal and its feel (which has its pros and cons, as do other designs), then you might want to start out on an SPD pedal for your road bike as well...especially if you want to use the same shoes for both bikes.

The URL for the Nashbar Tourmalet is:

http://www.nashbar.com/profile.cfm?category=108&subcategory=1123&brand=&sku=5077&storetype=&estoreid=

This is just a rebranded Wellgo pedal, so you can also find the exact same thing at Performance (which owns Nashbar BTW). They call theirs the "Forte Pro" pedal. Right now Performance has them on sale for $39:

http://www.performancebike.com/shop/Profile.cfm?SKU=6503

Anyway, these are highly recommended. Check out the reviews on this board under "Performance Forte" as well.

Thx...Doug
I've got over 6K on a similar pair...Tiger Lilly
Nov 28, 2003 9:28 AM
And they're going strong. I may have to give them up for something with a little more float though. I believe these only have about 4 degrees. I sometimes have trouble getting my left knee comfortable and wish I could rotate my foot a bit more. I'll try to tweak cleat position first, but there's not much adjustability to be had there.

BTW, I was just looking at the latest Performance catalog, and they have a mag/Ti version they claim is 200 gr/pair.

Kathy
Look 357 on 3 bikes and 396 on the fourth (nm)cdhbrad
Nov 28, 2003 6:38 AM
look 196, 396, and A5.1............(nm)stephenb
Nov 28, 2003 10:04 AM
Knee pain? Speedplay!martym
Nov 28, 2003 7:21 PM
I prefer Speedplay X-2.
Time Impact Ti/Mag (nm)davidxy
Nov 29, 2003 9:51 AM
re: Speedplay frogshudsonite
Nov 29, 2003 10:56 AM
I use the Frogs on the mountain bike and road bike. No more knee pain. I can wear the shoes in a store and to drive the car. They work great and I would not change them for anything else.
Look CX7 and 206 (5 sets 206) nmDougSloan
Nov 30, 2003 9:37 AM