RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Need help choosing Mavic rims for 105 wheels(8 posts)

Need help choosing Mavic rims for 105 wheelshaystack
Nov 25, 2003 12:14 PM
I'm rebuilding a road/cross/city/commuter bike for my wife and son and am in the market for new wheels. What are your opinions/thoughts for wheels built with black Shimano 105 hubs - use black Mavic MA3, CXP21 or CXP22 rims? Any benefit/problem with these choices? I use Open Pros with Ultegra, but this is a bit much for these two - limited riding and both weigh under a buck 25(125lbs).

Thanks in advance,
Sean
Do you already have the hubs?Dave Hickey
Nov 25, 2003 12:19 PM
If not, you might want to consider pre-built wheels from Nashbar. There latest catalog had a touring wheelset with Mavic rims built around Shimano Delore(sp) hubs for less than $100. Having wheels built around 105 hubs will cost more than that
No, but...haystack
Nov 25, 2003 12:26 PM
I'd like to keep the gruppo similar and I'm using as much black 105 as possible. I'm considering pre-built wheels, but with black 105's. JensonUSA has silver MA3's with 105 and it's between them and two other black wheelsets on eBay, one with CXP22's, the other with CXP21's.

Also, my rear wheel spacing is 130. Aren't Deore hubs 135 spacing? I'm not digging having to spread the chainstays.
CoolDave Hickey
Nov 25, 2003 12:46 PM
sounds like you've done your research. MA3's are a bullet proof rim. I've seen the CXP21+22's but never ridden so I can't comment. I've seen the black wheels on Ebay. It looks like a pretty good deal
cxp'scolker1
Nov 26, 2003 9:19 AM
i rode those.. then rebuilt the wheels w/op's. lighter and some say stronger.
re: Need help choosing Mavic rims for 105 wheelsMatno
Nov 25, 2003 12:57 PM
I've got MA3 rims with Ultegra hubs, and I've ridden CXP22 and CXP33 rims. Personally, I didn't feel a significant difference. My MA3's have held up quite well in the year that I've had them, including some heavily loaded touring (I'm not that heavy myself at 145, but several hundred miles with 30-40lbs of gear worked them pretty good) and a couple of high impact pinch flats (always look where you're going!) with no noticeable damage.

I'm not sure how the weight of the CXP 22s is, but the 33s and the MA3s weigh EXACTLY the same. Some people have said the CXP design is somewhat more rigid (semi-aero), but I doubt that there's a significant difference in actual strength. However, in hindsight, if I could have found a deal, I would have gotten the CXP33s instead just for the look! (For some reason, at the time I thought they were heavier, so I didn't consider them).

Bottom line, I'm happy with my MA3s and a lot of people recommended them as super tough for the really bad NYC streets I ride on.
Check out my RBR Classified ad...DIRT BOY
Nov 25, 2003 2:11 PM
It might help and be worth it to you.

http://marketplace.consumerreview.com/cgi-bin/classifieds/classifieds.pl?db=Road&website=RoadbikeReview&language=&session_key=&search_and_display_db_button=on&results_format=long&db_id=39206&query=retrieval

The hubs are sliver though, but black spokes and rims.

DIRT BOY
Largest Gallery of Light Weight Bikes
Wheel selection and purchase updatehaystack
Dec 4, 2003 11:21 AM
Thanks to all for your recommendations. I went to eBay for my wheels and am pleased. I purchased a nice set of black Mavic CXP22s laced up with black straight guage spokes to black Shimano 105 hubs from the eBay store Bikes and Wheels http://www.stores.ebay.com/id=25656790&ssPageName=L2. Used Buy Now feature for nice price ($140+ $20 shipping) and have wheels, in hand, cross country (FLA to CA) in 3 days. Just what I was looking for my rebuild project for my wife and son. Highly recommended!

Sean