RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Paging Kerry Irons: campy pedal ?? again(9 posts)

Paging Kerry Irons: campy pedal ?? againPaulCL
Nov 18, 2003 6:42 AM
OK, you were right. It wasn't the springs. But heck, I now have a spare set of campy springs with two sets of pedals. Someday, I'll need'em.

I know what the problem is, but not how to fix it. To refresh your memory, the pedals allow too easy release. On the right side, there is essentially no resistance to release at all.

Out of curiosity, I measured the distance from the center of the spring to the front of the pedal. On my Veloce pedals (only 1 yr old) the distance was 1 15/16". On my four year old Records, the distance was 2 1/16". That extra 1/8" meant that the cleat was not engaging the spring. The right side was slightly worse than the left. In fact, the right side metal cleat barely touches the spring.

Somehow, I have to move the spring forward or the pedal back in order to have the pedal work properly. I have to make the cleat fit into the pedal more tightly. The aforementioned cracked flange plate (previous post) has no effect on engagement or release. I know this becuase I substituted the Veloce flange plate onto my Record pedal.

Any suggestions?? I could always grind away (with a dremel) about 1/16" of an inch from the flange plate where it meets the spring. Sounds like something I shouldn't do. Or I could glue/adhere some sort of wedge into the front of the pedal where the leading edge of the cleat meets the pedal.

Do pedals just wear out?? I wouldn't think that 15,000 miles on a Campy Record pedal would wear it out. Heck, pro's put that many on them in a year! This is very frustrating. This has been a gradual problem all season which just got dangerously worse.

Thanks again. Paul

PS. If you ever need an extra set of springs, let me know. They're yours.
1 15/16" is my measurementKerry Irons
Nov 18, 2003 6:11 PM
This is an "inside to inside" measurement from the center (most rearward) of the spring to the center (most forward) part of the front. Not measured to where the front of the cleat tucks in (under the lip) but to the upper projection. Indeed it sounds like your pedal has different dimensions or somehow got bent or worn out. Bent doesn't seem possible, but should be easy to see if it happened. Does an inspection suggest that this lip has worn? Is the spring as far forward on both pedals where it enters the body on both sides? I would think that you could learn a lot by careful visual comparison between the two different pedals. My ProFits came in the fall of 1999, so they are some of the earliest. 46K miles on them. Have your pedals been like this from the start or is this a new phenomenon? You probably posted this before, but I can't remember.
1 15/16" is my measurement - mine too on the good pedalsPaulCL
Nov 18, 2003 7:29 PM
My profits are from the fall of 1999 also...but only 15,000 miles (2000,01,02,03 seasons). Yes, I measured the same spot to spot as you did.

Is the inside lip worn? Doesn't appear to be.
The spring is as far forward as possible.
Bent? Broken? I would think ill fitting cleats would then be the least of my problems.

This is a problem that has gotten gradually worse all year. I didn't really notice it as a problem (vs. an aggravation) until the last 500 miles or so. Now, they are essentially unusable. Side to side comparisons of the good & bad pedal reveal little to nothing. The only difference is that 1/8" in distance on the right pedal, 1/16"+ on the left. We have cable stretch...how about pedal stretch. Just kidding.

I've emailed Branford bike techs to see if they've heard of this problem. I hesitate to take any of their suggestions on parts since I already blew $24 on springs. But I'll see what they say. Since I am so perplexed and my LBS is at a loss to explain it, I logged onto Campyonly.com and asked their tech guy for input.

I'll see what responses I get back. I'll post the end result. I everyone is at a loss and/or I get the "buy new ones" line, I try a little bit of dremeling on the flange plate. Heck, what would I have to lose???

Thanks again. Paul
Is your tension adjuster broken?flakey
Nov 19, 2003 6:25 AM
3: Cranking the hex head nut to tighten the release does nothing. There is no affect positive or negative.

You mentioned this in an earlier post. Its possible that the adjuster that puts tension on the sping is broken. If the hex head adjuster is turned too far either way it will pop off a retainer clip in the spring assembly, which will prevent the adjuster from putting any tension on the spring.
You would have to replace the entire rear assembly (Plastic housing,spring,adjustment device) if that was the problem.
Is your tension adjuster broken?PaulCL
Nov 19, 2003 7:23 AM
I'll check it tonight. I have looked at this adjuster but came to the conclusion that the adjustments are minute in comparison to what I need. Besides, would both sides go out together?? Its' worth another look. Thanks.

I've talked (OK, emailed) Tim Laflin of Campyonly.com. His guess is that somehow the spring has been missaligned within the rear assembly. I'm taking them apart again tonight.

If I have to purchase an entire rear assembly, I won't do it. Two rear assemblies cost around $85. For those $$ I'll buy new pedals. Maybe not Record, but a lesser Campy groupo.

Thanks. Paul
Hey Kerry! I have a diagnosisPaulCL
Nov 20, 2003 8:12 AM
A diagnosis yes, cure, well, no. I spent some time carefully comparing the record vs veloce pedals. One thing I found is that I wont' buy record again. The only difference is the spindle. The rest of the body of the pedal is exactly the same - down to the part number. But I digress...

I took numerous measurements on each pedal to compare. I wanted to found out where the "extra" 1/8" of length was coming from..the spring? the body? etc... The culprit: flip the pedal over. On the leading edge, the lip under which the cleat tip rests, has worn down on the records. The lip is nearly 1/8" narrower - hence the length from spindle edge to front lip is 1/8" too long. In addition, it seems that the tip of the pedal has been rubbed away making the area much more concave than the comparable Veloce pedal.

So I have a diagnosis. Bummer. I am going to talk to CampyUSA and Ochsner (their US distributor) to see if this is a common occurence. The 1999 was their first year of a new pedal - so maybe there were some problems. Worst case: I buy a set of Veloce pedals and use them or replace the spindle from my Record pedals.

Thanks for the help. Paul
So it is wear on the front of the pedal bodyKerry Irons
Nov 20, 2003 6:12 PM
What do you suppose caused this wear? I would think this wear would be just as visible from the top of the pedal, since it is the lip that projects toward the back of the pedal that is worn, right? My pedals have 46K miles on them without the wear you've experienced, so I'm curious about what caused it. Campy has generally kept pedal bodies constant and upgraded the spindle/bearings, which is exactly the Record/Chorus/Centaur/Veloce situation. I'm not even sure there is a Centaur model, and maybe Veloce and Chorus are the same? You obviously could put the "Veloce" bodies on the Record spindle/bearings.
A solutionPaulCL
Nov 21, 2003 7:14 AM
If you take a hard look at the pedal, there is a lip at the front. But, the cleat fits underneath this. There is wear in two places: The leading edge of the pedal on the inside where it touches the cleat it is very concave. And, underneath that area, the lower lip of the pedal when compared to my Veloce pedal. Maybe I got a bad set?? Who knows.

The Solution:

I have had a email conversation with the Campy USA distributor, Ochsner Int'l Inc. One of their reps indicated that he has heard about the odd case or two of Campy pedals wearing in such a manner. Very nicely, he offered to take my pedals back and sell me a pair of Records or ?? at his cost. I don't know what that price is yet (it's probably at home on my email now). But I think that's a heck of a deal. Once he gets my old pedals back, they will take a look. If they can be fixed, he'll fix'em, if not,ship off my new pedals.

I'm happy. Luckily, I have a set on my second bike so I won't be pedal-less for a month.

Thanks for all of the help and input.

Paul
One more data pointKerry Irons
Nov 21, 2003 4:30 PM
I just checked both my pedals, because my left pedal does release easier than my right. Sure enough, the left pedal "gap" is a bit larger, and that pedal shows a bit of wear on the pedal lip. I wonder if that's due to my pedaling style, cleat angle, or just coincidence.