RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Alex wheels - opinions?(10 posts)

Alex wheels - opinions?innergel
Nov 11, 2003 12:06 PM
There are several sets of Alex wheels available on ebay and they are very inexpensive (Alex DA28 for $93 and Alex300 for $134). I am thinking of getting a set of wheels that I can use pretty much strictly on the trainer/rollers for the winter. I have read all the archives re: Alex wheels and the reviews are less than stellar, to say the least. But at this price, it seems like if I could get one or two winters out of them, it could be worth the money. On the other hand, if I break a spoke and it chews up my rear chainstay or derailler, it could potentially cost a lot more to get fixed.

My other option is to do what virtually everyone on the board suggests and get a custom set of wheels built on an Open Pro or Cane Creek Aerohead or Velocity Aerohead platform, and just be done with it. This option would cost less than $400 or so, but should be worry free for the long term.

Any opinions on the Alex wheels I mentioned? It almost seems worth it to try them out at this price.

BTW - I'm 6'5" and weigh 220 +/- 10lbs.
You had me curious until the endMel Erickson
Nov 11, 2003 12:28 PM
At 6'5" and 220+ I'd recommend the Open Pro or Aeroheads with 32 or 36, 3X. With that body mass index you're not only placing some serious weight on those wheels but generating considerable force. I don't think the Alex wheels would be a wise buy, even for one or two? winters.
re: Alex wheels - opinions?ECF
Nov 11, 2003 2:00 PM
I'm doing exactly that with my set of Alex wheels. Of course mine came stock on my new '03 Specialized, but that's a story for a different time. I've already warranteed one rear wheel (after 450 miles no less) and I'm not planning on running them on the road again come next spring. BTW, I'm 6'2" and heavier than you so take my advice for what its worth.

The only reason I'm using mine on the trainer is because now I have an entirely different wheelset for the road vs. the trainer. Crap tire, cheap innertube, old cassette go on Alex rim for trainer. Ultegra cassette, good tire, decent tube, go on road wheel.

HTH,
Eric
Performance sells Alex wheels as a "house" brand..nmMR_GRUMPY
Nov 11, 2003 2:32 PM
Alex= flex......lyleseven
Nov 11, 2003 7:10 PM
Maybe they'd be okay on a trainer.
Am I the only one who likes Alex wheels!?felis
Nov 12, 2003 8:03 AM
I have a set of ALX320's on my Bianchi Axis and I can tell you they have been just great. I'm not sure why these wheels are getting such poor reviews. I use the Axis in place of a Mtn bike so it gets a totally brutal beating everytime and no worries or mechanicals yet (I'm about 185 lbs).

I got a pair of Zipp 303s, Mavic Cosmos, and have had a handfull of OPs over the years but on a Caad4. I would rank the ALX320s over all of the Mavics in terms of stiffness and lightness although the Mavic hubs seemed a wee bit smoother/quieter. Enough to notice a performance difference, I doubt it. The Zipps are in a class above all but I had to hide the price from the wife if you know what I mean !!

You can't beat the value factor of the ALX320s...
re: Alex wheels - opinions?al0
Nov 12, 2003 12:11 PM
I'm 6' and 210lb and I try to ruin a set of Alex wheels for 2 years (several crashes, a lot of potholes etc.) - no success, they are as good as new.
re: Alex wheels - opinions?al0
Nov 13, 2003 1:04 PM
It was a big mistake to write my previous message - just today rear wheel go seriously out of true whitout any apparent reason.
thanks for the updateinnergel
Nov 13, 2003 1:09 PM
You must have spoken a bit too soon. Funny how it always happen that way :-)
thanks for the updateal0
Nov 14, 2003 2:17 PM
As more close inspection has shown one spoke has been cracked. But anyway - it was not too soon almost 2 years and several thousands kms (not sure for exact number as I not always ride with computer, but somewhere between 4000 and 5000).