RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


how to spoke a 18 hole rear hub ?(9 posts)

how to spoke a 18 hole rear hub ?FORT-Cyclist
Nov 7, 2003 9:16 AM
any experiences with the crow foot pattern?
re: how to spoke a 18 hole rear hub ?russw19
Nov 7, 2003 11:59 AM
Why bother with it? It's strictly an aestetic pattern, even the experts like Jobst Brant will tell you it's a worthless pattern. But you need to have a multiple of 9 to use it, so I think if you really wanted to you could.... just cut the pattern in half... but again, I have to ask why?

Are you just building this to look cool, or do you want a structural pattern that you can actually ride? If so, crow's foot is not for you. Just be simple and use a 2 or 3 cross pattern.

Just my opinions, worth everything you paid for them.

Russ
odd no. spokes on each side?DougSloan
Nov 7, 2003 12:16 PM
How do you spoke with an odd number of spokes on each side, other than crow's foot or radial?

Doug
18 holes in the whole hub, not 18 on each flangeFORT-Cyclist
Nov 7, 2003 2:24 PM
the other option is per flange 3 groups of 2 driving spokes (trailing spokes as you may call them) and one spoke the other way.

I'm wondering what is more reliable, crow foot or the way described above.
oh, you mean "POWerwheels"DougSloan
Nov 7, 2003 2:28 PM
http://www.sheldonbrown.com/power_wheel.html
very funnyFORT-Cyclist
Nov 7, 2003 11:48 PM
but with this pattern you have doubled the number of pulling spokes (6 per flange instead of 3 with crow foot).
in my opinion the pulling spokes have to deal with higher forces (drive, lateral, weight) than the static ones (lateral, weight) so doubling the pulling spokes number would be some stress relief.

the higher pre tension of the static spokes you get with this pattern is my deepest concern, but I think I will give it a try.
articleDougSloan
Nov 7, 2003 2:02 PM
http://www.terminalvelocity.demon.co.uk/WheelBuild/
12 Drive side spokes, 6 Non Drive spokesgbecker
Nov 7, 2003 8:07 PM
You use a 24 hole rear hub, lace all 12 of the drive side spokes and 6 of the non drive spokes. You need to use a rim where the spoke holes are center drilled (as opposed to offset).
Opposite of paired spoke wheels.Spoke Wrench
Nov 8, 2003 11:07 AM
It looks to me like the missing left side spokes would result in a wavy rim. I guess you could use a heavier rim that had more metal in it, but who'd want to do that?