RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Dura Ace 10 speed cassette question(12 posts)

Dura Ace 10 speed cassette questionscorpionking
Nov 1, 2003 7:14 AM
Can you put a 2004 Dura Ace 10 speed cassette on a 9 speed shimano freehub rear wheel and use the wheel with a campy 10 speed drivetrain? Would any special spacers be needed?
yes...C-40
Nov 1, 2003 7:32 AM
The cassette will fit on the old 9-speed hubs.

The answers to many common questions are at this site.

http://dura-ace.shimano.com/publish/content/duraace/en/home/faq_s.html
yes...scorpionking
Nov 1, 2003 7:52 AM
Thank you for the info and site reference.
more...C-40
Nov 1, 2003 11:53 AM
There was a posting on Velonews by Leonard Zinn that quoted a shimano rep as saying that a shimano 10 wheel could be placed on a campy drivetrain and work fairly well, just by readjusting the high and low limit screws.

Campy 10 spacing is 4.12mm c-c. I haven't seen any specific data on shimano 10 spacing or cog thickness, but it must be less, or the total length of the cassette would not fit on the shorter shimano cassette body. I suspect that the difference will be similar to the current 5% difference per shift between shimano 9 and campy 9. The exact amount depends on how much thinner shimano made the cogs.
DA10 spacing...divve
Nov 2, 2003 12:08 AM
3.9mm spacing
1.6mm individual cog width
5.9mm total chain thickness
where'd you get the info?..C-40
Nov 2, 2003 7:15 AM
I was tossing around some possible numbers and came up with this (nearly) exact combination. A 10% reduction in cog width combined with a the proper spacer to yield the correct total cassette length produced a 3.86mm spacing.

If this is correct, then the error is just over 5% per shift, or a bit worse than the campy 9 - shimano 9 mismatch.
where'd you get the info?..divve
Nov 2, 2003 8:15 AM
I got it from "Tour" - a German road bike mag. They indicate these are figures are from Shimano, but weren't sure they're the final version spec. Probably are though considering the time of publication and that you arrived at almost the same figures.
found it...C-40
Nov 2, 2003 8:45 AM
Sheldon Brown has posted nearly identical values.

http://www.sheldonbrown.com/gloss_sp-ss.html#spacingk7
Point #9 is interesting considering....divve
Nov 1, 2003 8:23 AM
...the problems XTR is having with dirt and water intrusion of the BB bearings.

"9. Is the new Dura-Ace crank just like the new XTR?
Yes. Shimano followed the same design principle as the 03' XTR with the new 7800 Dura-Ace crank and bottom bracket assembly. However, the bottom bracket has an emphasis placed on low friction vs. sealing."
I am not so sure...glia
Nov 1, 2003 10:50 AM
While it is clear from this posting that the 10speed cassette will fit on a standard Shimano freewheel, I saw a posting the other day from a Shimano engeneer stating explicitly that while the Shimano 10 deraileur will work on Campy 10 wheels, the reverse is not the case, i.e. the Campy deraileur will not shift properly on a Shimano 10 cassette. It would be nice to have compatibility between these systems but it presently is not there. Let's wait until we get a response from someone who has actually tried this combination as I am sure there is a lot of people who like the look and feel of the Campy shifters.
re: Dura Ace 10 speed cassette questionmerlint3
Nov 1, 2003 5:27 PM
I'm guessing it will work, but as mentioned before:

http://www.velonews.com/tech/report/articles/4990.0.html

Although I would be wary of the Fox guarding the henhouse until a third party verifies that a Shimano Cassette indeed will not work with a Campy setup. It would be real cool if indeed the incompatibility hub war ended.

Also, although off topic, re point 9 and durability of Dura Ace crank, it will be intersting to see how they hold up, although at only $35 a pop the BB isn't super expensive. I was tempted myself until I started reading the reviews of the XTR version:

http://www.mtbr.com/reviews/Crankset/product_122045.shtml

It sounds like an off center chain line issue is more at fault for the durabilty of the rings.
re: Dura Ace 10 speed cassette questionmerlint3
Nov 1, 2003 5:33 PM
O having re-read the Shimano response, I'm guessing that the response: "If you have a Campy ten speed bike it will not accept a Dura-Ace ten-speed cassette" means that duh a Dura-Ace cassette will not "fit" on a Campy hub.

Might not necessarily the same question / answer as will a Shimano compatible 9 speed hub with a Dura-Ace cassette work with a Campy 10 speed RD and shifters. It would be nice since I would like a 12-27 cassette solution besides American Classic for my Campy setup.