RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


presta pressure gauge(13 posts)

presta pressure gaugebob-e
Oct 27, 2003 11:48 AM
Does anyone use one? I would like to get one mainly for MTB, but would use for road also. I like the features of the topeak digital with the dual head, but it got a bad review at MTBreview. There was only one review so I might just get it and send it back if it sucks. Anybody?
I use the one that's integrated in my floor pump (nm)laffeaux
Oct 27, 2003 1:01 PM
I use the one that's integrated in my floor pump (nm)bob-e
Oct 27, 2003 3:11 PM
What is this (NM) and why is it always accompanied by an ignorant reply?
I don't know(nm)Hot Carl
Oct 27, 2003 3:17 PM
But I'm willing to waste your time telling you all about how I don't know.
???laffeaux
Oct 27, 2003 3:35 PM
Why is that an ignorant reply?

You asked about tire pressure gauges. There is one on most floor pumps - both pumps that I own have one. When you pump up yout tires the integrated gauge tell you the tire pressure. If you are curious about the current pressure is in your tires, try to add more air and see where the gauge reads.

How is that ignorant? I'll stop trying to help.
Yepthe bull
Oct 27, 2003 5:50 PM
Why just check pressure before you ride.
You know you are going to have to add more air!
Just keep pumping until the gauge on your pump is where you want your tire pressure.
I dont understand how hard that is.
???bob-e
Oct 28, 2003 6:40 AM
Sorry, from now on, I'll list reasons why when I want a product review. Why: because when I use my pump gauge on the road bike, it's usually a pain because I have to give it one pump to read the pressure and then it's overinflated, so I let air out and start from scratch. And I thought it would be easier to use a gauge with a bleeder valve, so I could get it perfect without breaking out the pump. I play with pressures alot depending on road/trail conditions. Basically I wanted to know if anyone new of a good pressure gauge or a review of the topeak in partiicular. I though that's what my post said. Thanks to all that responded appropriately. ps still don't know what (nm) means.
no messagethe bull
Oct 28, 2003 9:27 AM
Don't bother clicking on it cause nothing is inside.
Zefalmhinman
Oct 27, 2003 3:19 PM
Have a Zefal that I bought 6 or 7 years ago. It is a dial type with both a Schrader and Presta. Works well, but I rarely use it anymore. I just checked their site and they no longer carry it. You might be able to find one on the internet.
Silcathe bull
Oct 27, 2003 5:54 PM
I have a Track Pump.
It is 20 years old.
It still works!
Why?
Because, it is rebuildable!
They still make them.
Coolest thing-no dorky lever!
Just slide it on the valve and pump.
Those who have them know what I am sayin'
Those who dont are just missing out on a simple pump.
Nashbar floor pumpdgangi
Oct 27, 2003 7:12 PM
I recently got a Nashbar floor pump with a built-in pressure guage. The guage seems to be very accurate, so that is what I use for tire pressure on both my MTB and road bike.

Thx...Doug
re: presta pressure gaugedivve
Oct 28, 2003 2:13 AM
I got one on my floor pump and Schwalbe includes a mechanical one with every inner tube I get....got pressure gauges coming out of my ears:)

BTW, it's quite accurate and the scale goes up to 165psi.
re: presta pressure gaugeal0
Oct 28, 2003 2:22 AM
Yes, I have got one with Schwalde tube )the wrsest tube that I ever had). onlz coloured slightlz differentlz. It never shows pressure over 1.5 bar :( - regardless of actual pressure in the tire.