RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Problems using Speedplay pedals(28 posts)

Problems using Speedplay pedalsBikeRider
Oct 25, 2003 8:49 PM
I tried a Speedplay X/2 pedal at a LBS. I had a very hard time rotating my leg enough to get out of them. Was I doing something wrong?
re: Problems using Speedplay pedalsdivve
Oct 25, 2003 11:24 PM
Try the speedplay Zero pedals. They allow for adjustable float/release angle. Much better in my opinion.
re: Problems using Speedplay pedalsrm6rider
Oct 26, 2003 12:43 AM
I have the exact same pedals right now. I noticed that it's easier to get out when you're on the downstroke. I tried getting out when my foot is on top of the pedal stroke and it was hard. Then I tried it when all the way down the stroke and it's a lot easier. I don't know why that is but it works for me.
With certain components there is always a..........Juanmoretime
Oct 26, 2003 3:15 AM
slight learning curve, just like when you first started riding clipless pedal. I've been riding Speedplays since the early 90's and have tried other pedals but keep going back to the Speedplays, I guess, for me, you can't do better than the best. Give them a couple of rides to get used to.
re: Problems using Speedplay pedalsBikeRider
Oct 26, 2003 4:11 AM
Thanks for the info. I'll have to try them again with my leg in the down positon. It seems to be easier to move my foot more just sitting here with my leg fully stretched out. Also, concering the Speedplay Zeros, do you have any problems with the screws on the cleats wearing out?
re: Problems using Speedplay pedalslyleseven
Oct 26, 2003 5:24 AM
Other than giving you a hot foot, hard to get out of, and a small platform, they are a great pedal. Try rotating your foot more in an up and down position as your turn it. I found them difficult also and switched to Time.
re: Problems using Speedplay pedalsdivve
Oct 26, 2003 10:48 AM
No problem with screws wearing out. I'm not sure in what way they would wear out? Regarding release, it's indeed true for almost all pedals that you can release them more easily at the bottom of a stroke. Not sure I'd want to rely on that in case of an emergency though...

To be honest, after the release of the Zero, I don't even see the point of continuing the X line of pedals. Zeros can be set up in anyway you prefer...except for 28 degrees of X pedal float, which I can't see anyone ever needing.
I have used Speedplays for 6 years now..OwenMeany
Oct 26, 2003 5:46 AM
and it is like anything else: You will get used to it and it will become second nature. As I read your post I tried to think "what do I do" and it has become so second nature I cannot think of "what I do". My adice is if you are thinking of them for your knee protection..get'em and don't look back. I love them and after years of running and years of cycling I have never had knee problems. I credit the speedplay in part.
I have used Speedplays for 6 years now..lyleseven
Oct 26, 2003 7:26 AM
I am very curious. Just how does Speedplay end up being knee friendly over other types of pedals? Any medical authority to support this? Have you had problems with knees with other types of pedals?
Switched from Looks to Speedplays....zero85ZEN
Oct 26, 2003 11:44 AM
...after years of tendonitis problems that would often shut down my season early. Speedplays have solved my knee problems: I no longer have knee problems. Nothing else changed bike set-up wise but for the pedals. IMHO: total malarksy abou small platform/hot spots, floating on ice, bla blabla bla. They are excellent pedals, simple design, durable, and user friendly. Replacement cleat price is outrageous though!
Small platformlyleseven
Oct 26, 2003 8:27 PM
I switched from small platform pedals to larger platform and no longer hand the hot spot on my foot. No malarkey there. If speedplay is a solution for knee problems I suppose doctors would be commenting on its healing powers...
Small platformzero85ZEN
Oct 27, 2003 5:20 AM
Take a look at the size of a Speedplay cleat. Yeah, it's really small. You can read all about this at Speedplay's website.
A whole lot of Speedplay users will attest to the systems knee friendliness. Your snide remark about doctors is wholy uncalled for.
If you don't like Speedplay pedals that's fine, why be critical of other peoples experiences with them?
Small platformlyleseven
Oct 27, 2003 8:52 AM
No snide remark intended, but I can't imagine that this pedal has some unique knee-friendliness. Most people using larger platforms are claiming less knee problems and I was genuinely serious as to whether the Speedplay has some medically supported endorsement.
just want to share experience with the Speedplay X2srm6rider
Oct 27, 2003 4:55 PM
Ive been using a set of Look pedals and noticed that my right knee starts hurting after about 30 miles of riding. I don't know what's with the X2's either but my problem is now gone even after 50 miles of riding. Worked for me. I've been using it for about 3 months now and loving it. I ride atleast 30 miles after work whenever I can and minimum of 50 miles on Sundays and NEVER again had any pain on my right knee.
Same experience.....BrianU
Oct 28, 2003 8:34 PM
I own both Frogs and X-2s. I think it has something to do with lots of float and no tension. This allows the feet to do their own thing while spinning through the crank rotation. I can actually look down while spinning and see a considerable difference in the angle of my shoe depending on what part of the pedal stroke I am in. Either way, compared to the Shimanos, Times and Looks I have used in the past, there is a noticable difference in the amount of discomfort to the knees. Doctor or no doctors input on this subject, alot of people have experienced the same results.

Brian
No problems with Timelyleseven
Oct 29, 2003 5:53 PM
Thanks for input. I have had no problems with my knees with Time Impacts, but might give the Speedplays a go if any knee problems develop. I always felt the amount of play on the Speedplays was a little unstable but admit to using them only on a demo bike.
They definately take some getting used to....BrianU
Oct 30, 2003 9:01 PM
Standing on ice is how I think it is described. I originally bought my first set of Frogs when I was looking for something to replace my Shimano 737s. Lots of float had nothing to do with my decision, they came recommended from a some of the guys I rode with. They were and still are some hard-core racers and I think the Frogs light weight is what they liked about them. This was in 1996 and at that time, I believe they were one of the better, if not the best, pedals on the market.
Brian
because your foot rotates freely (nm)wolfereeno
Oct 29, 2003 2:24 PM
re: rotating?collinsc
Oct 26, 2003 9:12 AM
eh? what? Are you actually trying to twist your foot through those 28 degrees of float?

I can't imagine being able to do that either. Roll your foot off to the side and it will pop right out.
Twist and roll...zero85ZEN
Oct 26, 2003 11:52 AM
I just tried it and it is SO SIMPLE. One of the easiest road pedals to get out of. I can't imagine how it could be so hard for you...make sure you have the correct cleat properly installed on the correct shoe. (There are left and right cleats.) I've heard nightmare stories about improper cleat installation leading to nearly impossible cleat disingagment.
Rotation not needed.Al1943
Oct 29, 2003 7:00 PM
Like collinsc says, there is no need to rotate your foot. All it takes is a little lift and roll, like taking your foot off of flat platform pedals, very natural feel. At first I had my cleats on the wrong shoes, I can confirm that will give you a big problem.
I can't imagine any pedal being easier to engage or release.
No need for Zero pedals in my opinion unless your feet are very long and you have a lot of problems with the heels hitting the chain stays.
I ride X-1's.
re: Problems using Speedplay pedalsbikechick
Oct 26, 2003 7:31 PM
You can rotate the cleat block on your shoe a bit so it releases sooner. BTW, (and I'm not joking) are you sure that you have the left and right cleats on the correct shoe?

I prefer the Frogs to the X/2's these days. And they release sooner when you twist your foot.
re: I second the Frogshudsonite
Oct 27, 2003 5:25 AM
Frogs are very easy in and out. They are so simple to use. You never have a problem getting out, no matter where you are in the pedal stroke (up or down).

Frogs are great for road bikes, but I would not recommend them for all out racing. For racing, I probably stick with a true road pedal and cleat.
Why not for racing?pedalAZ
Oct 27, 2003 6:33 AM
I use them for MTB, but use X-1's for road. Also, don't you get hot spots with the Frogs on the road after a few hours?
A couple of reasonshudsonite
Oct 27, 2003 4:59 PM
With respect to hot spots: Never. I installed a pair of custom orthotics that came out of my ski boots. It supports the foot really well. Hot spots are caused by the foot not being well supported, not the cleat per se. I go 12 hours sometimes and have never had any discomfort. My shoes are Sidi Dominator Mega.

As to why I do not like the frogs for road racing:

If you are racing/sprinting, you can easily unclip. I have had a couple of times when I was sprinting up a hill where I inadvertently unclipped. This never happens when just riding, even fast, but under a heavy load, at least for me, they can unclip.

The frogs need less rotation to unclip than the x2 or the zeros. I doubt you would unclip on these pedals/cleats.

The second reason, is I find that if you pull up as much as push down when sprinting or climbing, the cleat and shoe combination does not give me the support I need to pulll up hard. Again, this does not effect fast group rides, just when really hammering for speed or on a tough climb.

I might be wrong, but the X2 cleat looks like it would engage more of the shoe and provide better support when pulling up through the pedal stroke.

But even with these issues, you would not get me to give up my frogs. I love them and the shoes. They work so well.
Put some lube on the cleats, this may help (nm)PeterRider
Oct 27, 2003 12:05 PM
re: Problems using Speedplay pedalsBikeRider
Oct 27, 2003 5:48 PM
I'm going to go back to the LBS sometime and give the X2's & Zeros another try-out. I read somewhere that the X2's have problems if any dirt gets into the cleats, even very small amounts of dirt. Have you found this to be a problem with them?
yeswolfereeno
Oct 29, 2003 2:33 PM
dirt clogs them up but they're easy to clean. I never found that to be much of a headache. And of course they could never be usable on trails.

Some wd40 or similar cheap lube on the cleat spring ever once in a while really helps ease of clipping in (don't use that stuff on the pedals though - like in the grease port!)

And get the coffee shop caps to protect them when you're walking around on them. will also save you from slipping on slick surfaces.

Or switch to the Frogs like I did. Same feel. Easier in and out. No mud probs. Just bought my second set so I don't have to switch them back and forth btwn my mountain bike and my road bike all the time.