RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Conti GP3000(18 posts)

Conti GP3000soulsurfer104
Oct 23, 2003 7:22 PM
what do we all think of Continental GP3000 tires? (any and all info is greatly appreciated.......thanks!)
re: Conti GP3000insmanblue
Oct 23, 2003 7:47 PM
You can check the reviews of the GP3K and come up with your own conclusions. For me I had a sidewall blowout on the front tire only after 800 miles about a month ago. That was enough for me to switch to the Pro Race. The GP3K has a history of weak sidewalls. If I was decending at 35 or 40 mph and a blowout happended, I would certainly have my hands full.
Check reviews and/or do search. Plenty of info nmFez
Oct 23, 2003 8:59 PM
re: Conti GP3000GeoCyclist
Oct 23, 2003 10:33 PM
I've got 3000 km on my GP3000 tires and haven't had a problem. I just bought a new set at Biketiresdirect.com for $35.00 each.

As mentioned before, lots of posts on the reviews.
I love em, try a pairNASA Noddler
Oct 24, 2003 3:31 AM
I'm on my third set of Conti GP3000 and just bought a extra set for the toolkit for $55.00 on Ebay this week. I weigh 205 pounds and have never a problem, blowout, anything. That inclueds many hardcorners and fast descents.

Only one flat with a nail the size of a toothpick so any tire would have flatted.

That said, I been seeing alot of good commmets about the Vredestein Tricomps, I may have to give them a try. That's the nice thing about cycling 800 miles a month.
great tire...C-40
Oct 24, 2003 4:25 AM
The only tire I've used for several years. Don't agree at all about the weak sidewalls. Never had any problems. The new black sidewalls are an improvement over the old brown sidewalls. The extra layer of thin rubber pretty much eliminates the old problem of an occasional loose thread at the junction of the tread and sidewall. I always buy in threes, two for the rear, one for the front. Expect 2500-3000 miles from the rear tire.
Nice- but I like the Attack/Force betterCoolhand
Oct 24, 2003 6:24 AM
The new set of matched front and rear specific tires from Conti ride better, and sertainly corner better then any other tire I have ridden- including the GP3000's and the Michi Pro Races.

Coolhand
Worst tire I've ever used.................Len J
Oct 24, 2003 6:40 AM
when I bought my Serotta, the LBS asked me what tires I wanted. I had been using Michelin Axiel Pros & their sucessor Pro Race but really hadn't tried anything else in the last couple of years, so I asked what he recommended. He recommended the GP 3000, so I said What the heck.

Let me tell you what happened.

In less than 2,000 miles the rear tire was worn square down to the belts.

In less than 2,000 miles the front had many cuts in the rubber that had me worrying about durability.

Just for a frame of referance, prior to these tires, in the last 2 years I put over 14,000 miles on Michelins. Looking at my repair log, over that time frame I required 3 rear and 2 front tires. Not only that, but the set that was on my previous bike (When I had the accident that required the new bike purchase) I used to replace the Conti's and have put 1,500 miles on these sinse then. They are being replaced this weekend with a new set of Michelins.

I wouldn't put these tires on my bike with your money.

Len
Really Len, don't hold back, tell us how your really feel...Fez
Oct 24, 2003 7:47 AM
about them.

Agree with the cuts in the rubber. Never had a flat with GP3000 yet, but seeing the cuts kind of makes me nervous and I would replace it more proactively as a result.

The thin layer of rubber on the sidewall is a joke. The threads still poke thru on the side pretty soon after new.

Conti GP 3000 does give a nice ride, but the rapid rubber wear, threads poking out the sides, and cuts in the tread and sidewall do not impress me. I don't think I will buy them again.
'Cuts?'OldEdScott
Oct 24, 2003 8:15 AM
Mine had a million of them too, but I was never sure if they were really cuts or some weird thing happening with the rubber. They were a little too regular to be accidental cuts, and I'm not a 'cutter' anyway. I ride in the country, on unglassy roads, and never before or since have I had a tire with all those ... cuts.

Like you, I probably replaced the tires before it was really necessary just because the damn things were making me nervous.
Whatever you call them...Fez
Oct 24, 2003 8:27 AM
Yeah, I notice a lot of them, esp on the rear. Most are not much bigger than a pinhead. They are not regular or uniform at all, but they are pretty much all over the tread surface.

The tires are new and not dry rotted, so my guess is the rubber is soft enough to get these small tears as we ride and put power to the road. Not a problem for the first few hundred miles, but as the rubber wears thin, it makes you think about replacing it in a proactive manner.

I guess that's the price of soft rubber. Good ride and dry cornering, but not the most durable compound out there.
LOL, but for $45.00 + tires...............Len J
Oct 24, 2003 9:51 AM
you should get something that you don't worry about.

As to the ride, Ididn't notice any difference, of course I don't inflate my tires to max either.

Len
They work for me.RickC5
Oct 24, 2003 7:29 AM
I have used GP3Ks for the last two years and like their responsiveness and traction. Two flats due to goatheads, but no other "problems".

On the negative side, it looks like I'll only get about 1200 miles out of the rear tire. However, I weigh 225 lbs., which I'm sure is a contributing factor. The front looks fine after the same distance.
I came back to the GP3000'sDINOSAUR
Oct 24, 2003 8:33 AM
I've tried just about every tire you can think of-Victoria, Michelin, Ritchey, Vredestein, Panaracer, Performance Forte, Conti 4-Seasons and a couple of others and I came back to the GP3000's. They are good tires, but a lot of it depends on the types of roads you ride, your type of riding, body weight, psi and so on. I've had GP3000's wear out in 800 miles for the rear tire and others that last so long that I get tired looking at them. The downside is that they are expensive, but try BikeTiresDirect.com and you can get them for $35.00 a tire. Easy to mount and high quality are a plus. And they ride nice......another tire I want to try are the Conti Ultra 2000 folding, they go for around $30.00 a tire...I might use them for my winter bike...
Work for meDropped
Oct 24, 2003 2:42 PM
They work fine for me. I get them through sdeals.com for like $27-30 each, delivered (depends on exchange rate).
The most superstitious of purchasesmapei boy
Oct 27, 2003 4:51 PM
Tires are the most superstitious of purchases. Opinions on tire models invariably wander all over the map. Some people swear by a particular model. Others swear at them. There's no why or wherefore.

I had spectacular luck with my Conti 3000's. I had two flats in the 2500 miles I ran them. I always felt totally secure with them under me. Sure, a few random threads would occasionally free themselves from a sidewall. The rear tire does square off after a few hundred miles. And tire cuts do occur...though this has happened in every tire I've ever owned.

Lately, however, I was convinced to try the Michelin Pro Race. With about 500 miles on them, I have to say they've won me over. They're as secure and confidence-inspiring as the Contis, but they ride more softly, have less rolling resistance, and seem to stick better around corners. Now, just call me the Michelin Man.

Meantime, I regularly read in these posts about the excellence of Veloflexes. Yes, they ride superbly, but when I used them I could count on getting a flat about every other ride. One evening, while the bicycle was sitting on its elevated storage rack, a Veloflex just decided to blow apart on its own. Was I unlucky? Did I fail to observe some sort of obscure maintenance task that would have kept them whole? Or was it just karma.........
Great tiresmmaggi
Oct 28, 2003 10:38 AM
I have been riding them for 3 seasons on Campy Nucleon clinchers. I change the rear tire every 2500-3000 miles. I change the front tire every 6k miles.

I ride on smooth, asphalt roads and I weigh between 190-200lbs.

I went one full season w/o a flat. This season I flatted out 3 times all due to either carpentar nails or staples.
Great tiressoulsurfer104
Oct 29, 2003 9:13 PM
i just got mine in the mail today from biketiresdirect.com. i got the grey ones with black sidewalls, they look great on my silver frame and black rims. they were kinda a pain to mount. hope they ride nice. as far as biketiresdirect's mailing policy of 3 days, i ordered mine friday and didnt get them til today (wednesday) but hey, they were cheap. thanks for the posts everybody and happy riding!