RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Fork choice for Trek 5900?(8 posts)

Fork choice for Trek 5900?harcourt
Oct 22, 2003 6:59 PM
Considering Easton EC90 SLX and Alpha Q Sub3. Both are 300 gram carbon forks. I weigh 160, trying to build a light bike. Anybody have any thoughts or experience with either? Thanks for any help.
re: Fork choice for Trek 5900?gray8110
Oct 22, 2003 7:27 PM
What year Trek 5900? Until this year (2004 issue bikes) you can NOT replace the fork on the 5900. The 5900 from 2001 thru 2003 used a proprietary fork designed by Gary Klein with a tapered steer tube. The steerer is 1 1/4" at the bottom cup of the headset and a 1 1/8" at the top cup.

If you are getting a 2004, well use you own judgement. You'll be spending a lot of money to save at MOST 45-50 grams. Trek's standard fork is a good fork. It's the Bontrager Triple X Lite. It's light at 370 grams uncut with an alloy steerer. Keep in mind that alloy steerers can use a star fangled nut instead of the compression nut that carbon steerers use. That saves about 50 grams. When you get down to it, the functional difference between a superlight fork like the two you mentioned and Trek fork is maybe 30 grams. Not worth it if you ask me. The Easton fork is brand new so I have no opinion on it. The Sub 3 is a nice fork and people give it good reviews but it's weight is a bit false because you have to add an aluminum piece to protect the steerer at the lower cup - this isn't included in the weight.
re: Fork choice for Trek 5900?russw19
Oct 22, 2003 7:39 PM
And following up on what gray8110 said, with the newer Bonty XXX fork, the steerer is stronger for bigger guys and you don't have to worry about how you clamp it as it's alloy. Some stems (a few of TTT's come to mind right away) don't work very well with carbon steerers and they tend to slip causing the headset to come loose more often than it should.

I don't quite know if the new XXX fork will fit the older OCLV frames as a retrofit, but I can ask about it to my rep. If so, it's one of the best choices on the market. (And just to set the record straight, I am not normally a big fan of Bontrager stuff, but this fork looks nice if it what all Trek says it will be.)

If you want a carbon steerer, look into the Stella Azzurra as well. They make super nice stuff. Their Belagio fork is about 330 grams and very well built. Retails around the $400 range if I am right.

Russ
don't foget fork length...C-40
Oct 23, 2003 4:51 AM
All forks are not the same length. If you happen to choose a fork with a significant difference in length, the head tube angle could change enough to produce an unpleasant surprise.

Anyone know the length of the Bontrager fork?
re: Fork choice for Trek 5900?harcourt
Oct 23, 2003 9:06 AM
Sorry I was not more clear. 2004 Trek 5900, frame only. So I'll need a fork. Thanks.
re: Fork choice for Trek 5900?saltytri
Oct 23, 2003 2:39 PM
How are you going to get just a frame without fork? My understanding is that you can only get frame+fork+headset as a unit.

Trek's website currently lists the fork on the 2004 5900 at 339g. Go to the AlphaQ site and look up the weight for a Sub3 fork with a 1 1/8" carbon steerer. I don't recall the exact weight, but it's about the same as the Trek fork. Only the 1" steerers are under 300g, if I recall correctly.

I'm not going to talk down the impulse toward "weight weenie-ism" since I also intend to build up a light 5900 but, in this instance, it seems that there are cheaper ways to lighten the bike than using an aftermarket fork.
re: Fork choice for Trek 5900?gray8110
Oct 23, 2003 6:31 PM
Funny that Trek lists the fork at 339g and Bontrager lists it at 370 - It is the same fork - maybe Trek uses less paint for the fork on the 5900 relative to the off the shelf fork from Bontrager :)
re: Fork choice for Trek 5900?Ian
Oct 26, 2003 3:47 PM
I have weighed the EC-90 SLX, 2 of them. Uncut, 1 1/8" steerer tube came in at 305 and 308 grams.

Ian