RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


04 Mavic Ksyrium SL or hand built set?(10 posts)

04 Mavic Ksyrium SL or hand built set?K-Man
Oct 22, 2003 11:47 AM
I am purchasing a 2004 Cannondale R2000 that comes with a Mavic Ksyrium SL wheelset. I am using the bike for MTB training mostly, and hopefully a few centuries and maybe a road race or two. I'm not much of a fan on pre built factory wheelsets......should I stick with the Mavic Ksyrium SL's or just sell them new and have a custom wheelset built? I could most likely have a Chris King/Sapim CX-Ray wheelset built up for just under $600. I have no idea on what rime to use.

Any thoughts or sugestions

By the way my weight is usually between 180-190 lbs.

Thanks
KMan
re: 04 Mavic Ksyrium SL or hand built set?filtersweep
Oct 22, 2003 11:54 AM
Ksyrium are decent $500-600 wheels, and that is about all you could hope to sell them for, so I would just keep them if they come with the bike. They are bullet-proof. I don't think they are worth full retail, since they are neither that light or that aero- but you really aren't paying full retail.
Ksyriums NOT bullet proof!Emspilot
Oct 22, 2003 1:32 PM
I used to think they were bullet proof too.
After a recent inspection of my '03 pair,
I noticed a 1" crack in the rear around a spoke.
They are only 1 yr old with 5000 smooth miles on them.
Kings are overkill for road. and annoying noiseekdave
Oct 22, 2003 12:29 PM
Seriously, for road use, Id go Dura-ace over King simply because with road use, they will both last forever. Kings are too noisy while coasting on road, and cost a damn fortune. Sell the Ksyriums, get some hand built Dura-ace with CX-rays if you like those ($$$) spokes.

My ideal set for you would be Dura-ace 28 hole Hubs, CX-rays, and Sun Venus Rims or Mavic CXP-33's....Ideally CXP-30's but they are tough to find. Price on that would be 400 max. Profit 350 on the SL's
Check Excel sports.the matador
Oct 22, 2003 4:03 PM
They have King hubs laced to CXP-33 for under 500 bucks.
http://www.excelsports.com/new.asp?page=8&description=Threat+Wheelset&vendorCode=EXCEL&major=1&minor=24
Nothing wrong with the Kysriums though, they are a good wheels.
I have not had any problems with mine.
I never really had problems with any of my wheels, unless I wreck.
Check Excel sports.Franchise
Oct 23, 2003 5:37 AM
I would have to second that. The wheelbuilders at Excel built a pair of training wheels for me in 1999. I've only had to true them once. I plan on ordering a racing set of tubulars from them this spring. Their prices are much cheaper than my LBS as well.
My $.02shawndoggy
Oct 22, 2003 4:19 PM
Get a set of training wheels if you don't already have 'em, like 32 hole ultegra hubs laced 3x to some open pros. Go for the cheapie machine built wheels with brass nips and just detension/retension them yourself before you ride 'em. Voila, bulletproof training wheels with easily replaceable parts for under $200. Not the lightest, not the most aero, but bulletproof and for training that's really what you want.

With the remaining $400 (assuming you can get $600 for brand new K SLs on ebay), look for some chi chi AERO wheels. As noted here of late, aero beats light except where speeds are really low and except where you have heavy cross winds. Of course at that price point you can't afford Zipps, but maybe some used amclassic 350s or better yet 420s. They'd be mucho faster (and heck a little lighter too) for racing. [NOTE: in road racing, strategy beats both aero and light, so it's definitely possible to do well without chi chi wheels]

And as you know from the mtb board, I find road racing to be quite the kick in the pants. Definitely give it a try, no matter what you do about the wheels!
This must be wheel week!GeoCyclist
Oct 22, 2003 4:39 PM
Shawndoggy has the best idea, buy a good set of training wheels and then look for a light set of racers. I blew up my Shimano 7701's (16 spoke boutique wheels) this week; 3000 km of moderately rough roads). I'm having my LBS build up a set of trainers with Mavic OP rims and DA hubs. I really like the DA hubs (quiet). Two of my riding buddies have Zip wheels, and you can always hear when they are coasting.

Ride on!
If you are going to hand build...russw19
Oct 22, 2003 8:23 PM
I love the King hubs... all but the noise. But the new Hugi hubs are really nice and very light. Sapim CX Ray spokes are by far the best spokes on the market... nothing else is even close. They are strong enough for downhill bikes, but nearly as light as Ti spokes and test 4 times stronger than the next non-Sapim spoke. On top of all that, they are aero shaped, but you don't have to slot your hubs to use them. So your spoke choice is very solid.

As for rims, I would use a Velocity Aerohead with the offset rim for the rear. Or the IRD Cadence (same as the super light American Classic, but with eyelets to make it stronger.) I am not a big fan of Open Pros as the last 3 sets I have had all had the infamous click to them (but at 220 lbs, I may be the reason for the click and not the rim)

Another nice choice for quality hubs is the DT 240. It's light and very well reviewed. Their rims look nice too. I think I am going to build up a pair of wheels with those rims this year.

Russ
re: 04 Mavic Ksyrium SL or hand built set?divve
Oct 22, 2003 9:18 PM
Personally, I don't like the looks of those wheels very much. I'd prefer a set with DA or Record hubs, laced 3x with CX Ray spokes, 28H black OP rims, very durable, lighter, smoother riding, and slightly more aero too.