RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


New computer - did I just buy a headache?(10 posts)

New computer - did I just buy a headache?dgangi
Oct 13, 2003 3:49 PM
I originally purchased a Planet Bike Protoge 9 computer for my new road bike, but it would fit my oversized handlebars.

So...I gave the Planet Bike computer to my brother-in-law and purchased a Sigma Sport 1600. It looked really cool on-line and has a flexible mounting system that will fit my bars.

However, I just read some of the reviews posted on this board and they are not very positive. Most of the reviews are pre-2003, and the computer I just bought is a new-2003 model. Are these computers really that bad? I hope I didn't just purchase a headache for myself...

Thx...Doug
re: New computer - did I just buy a headache?gybeho
Oct 13, 2003 4:33 PM
I have gone through a bunch of the Sigma 1200s. Usually because of stuck, goobered buttons. IMHO they suck BUT Sigma customer service ROCKS. They've sent me a couple of new ones, no questions asked. I'm going to try the 1600 this week. I'll post a review on it soon.
Like my Sigma 800fracisco
Oct 13, 2003 5:09 PM
I have a 2003 Sigma 800, and it's been working fine. Winter will be the real test, when I have to wear thicker gloves.
re: New computer - did I just buy a headache?Cat 3 boy
Oct 14, 2003 5:49 AM
I've got 1500 miles on my Sigma 1600 & no problems at all.
I like the neat stem fit, the big buttons & clear display, just take a few minutes to mount it carefully, don't pull on the wiring & you'll be fine.

MB.........just ride that bike ;-)
re: New computer - did I just buy a headache?Cat 3 boy
Oct 14, 2003 5:50 AM
I've got 1500 miles on my Sigma 1600 & no problems at all.
I like the neat stem fit, the big buttons & clear display, just take a few minutes to mount it carefully, don't pull on the wiring & you'll be fine.

.........just ride that bike ;-)
I've used the BC1200 for several yearspmf1
Oct 14, 2003 8:25 AM
and been completely happy with it. I have one on each of my three bikes. It works well even in wet conditions and the mount is sturdy. They're good computers IMO.
re: New computer - did I just buy a headache?Lone Gunman
Oct 14, 2003 3:25 PM
Recently got a 1200 for a good price; like the different mounting options and 2 different wheel sizes so it can be used on 2 bikes. Also has a wireless application so 1 bike gets wired and the other wireless. I rarely have probs with computers but my Flightdeck is starting to not operate properly so I may be using the Sigma on 3 bikes.
re: New computer - did I just buy a headache?maximum15
Oct 15, 2003 2:36 AM
I tried a Sigma 1400 and was never really happy with it. One reason was my own fault as I did not research the product well enough. But the others were not. Battery life was very poor and it just quit working a few times (and then magically started again). As an engineer, products that have these types of issues are troublesome.
re: New computer - did I just buy a headache?al0
Oct 15, 2003 11:30 AM
I have a 1400 (direct predecessor of your 1600) and is quite satisfied with it. It has 2 minor problems, but they are REALLY minor. 1st - adjusment of spoke magnet is slightly tricky - i have put it on the spoke in such a way that it almost all the way lower then the sensor on the fork (they intersect in few millimetrs only). If I put magnet on the same level as sensor it doesn't work. But as soon as I know how to adjust it this is not a problem. The second problem - clemps for wires are not very safe, it is easy to unintentionally detach wires (not while riding, but during bike maintaince). No other objections. And cadence feature is great.
re: New computer - did I just buy a headache?MShaw
Oct 17, 2003 9:39 AM
I have a pair of older BC800s on my road bikes.

The only problems I've ever had with them is that they tend to go through batteries in their wireless senders quickly.

Mike